Krispy Kreme - S'mores

in #food5 years ago

Good Afternoon Fellow Donut Fans!!

It’s that time again where Krispy Kreme brought out a new donut recently called S’mores. Here is my review on it. Let’s see whether it’s one that should stay for good or one that should quickly march off the menu. Read on to find out!

S'mores

”A rich chocolate dipped donut, with a Lotus Biscoff flavoured mallowy filling and hand decorated with a Lotus Biscoff crumb.”

Well when I heard this one was coming out, I couldn’t wait to try it. I really do love Lotus Biscoff. I love the little biscuits that you get with your coffee, the spread and of course, the Lotus Biscoff Krispy Kreme donut! This one sounded interesting to say the least, especially as the description is ’S’more’s’. The donut was impressive in it’s looks. The top of the donut was coated in a nice layer of chocolate which was totally covered in Biscoff crumb. I’m glad it was completely covered and not patchy. The chocolate icing on top was a nice touch but not necessarily needed. Now to the interesting bit… the centre! I can’t wait to tuck in. I really love the taste of the crumb with the chocolate. The donut was ok. It wasn’t as fluffy as I expected… it was a bit dry round the edges and it was a bit chewy. I did get to the centre of the donut, but only after eating half of the donut. I was expecting to see a mound of white, mallowy, Lotus flavoured filling. What I got looked more like caramel. It was a mid brown colour and it was far from ’mallowy.’ It did taste of Biscoff, that I can’t deny, but I certainly wouldn’t call this a S’mores donut. There was nothing S’morey about it.

Krispy Kreme… what have you done??? I really was expecting a big fluffy centre. I didn’t get that. Don’t get me wrong, this is a lovely flavoured donut but it definitely isn’t a S’mores donut. Please rename this donut to Biscoff crumb or similar if you are going to keep this on your menu. I even bought this donut again to see if I had a dodgy one to begin with. I was right the first time round. This is just a different take on the Lotus Biscoff donut. I don’t believe these are on the menu anymore so you aren’t missing much. This is a far cry from S’mores and if you want a Biscoff donut, then I highly recommend the Lotus Biscoff Kreme.

KRISPY KREME CARAMEL SELECTION
Caramel Swirl
Caramel Glazed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80