🌿My Favourite Green Salad 🌿

in #food6 years ago (edited)

cover working file.jpg

I'm not sure about you, but there are some days when my body is asking for something light, but delicious. I mean, not just some leaves thrown together, but a dish with dimension, texture, tanginess and crunch. Something not overly complicated either.

These are the days that I make this simple green salad. It's very plain and zen, but the dressing is what elevates it to Friday Night Date Night at Home level. Wholegrain mustard, good, fragrant olive oil, and a drop of sweet honey to compliment the sharpness of the English mustard. This is my show-off dressing, the one I whip out when I want to impress.

IMG_3452.jpg

INGREDIENTS (serves four, as side portions, or two for mains)

Salad:

  • 300gr bag of baby spinach
  • small bunch of kale, torn into small pieces
  • a small mixed amount of various tomatoes
  • cranberry infused brie (here we have a fantastic, crumbly cheese called White Rock)
  • a quarter of soft Camembert, sliced into small bits
  • few slices of a good, country style loaf.

Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 T wholegrain mustard
  • 1 t English mustard
  • 1 t honey (to taste)
  • 1 t balsamic vinegar

IMG_3454.jpg

METHOD:

In a small bowl or jug, whisk together the olive oil, the two mustards, the balsamic dressing and a bit of salt and pepper. This is where you need to taste the dressing, see what these flavours do for you, and then add the honey. Tasting dishes before you add specific ingredients is a great way to understand what a certain ingredient does to a recipe. Now, add the honey, and see how you feel about the contrast. The dressing should be smooth, from the olive oil, a little sharp, but not unbearably so from the English mustard, and slightly round and sweetened, yet a little earthy from the honey. The wholegrain mustard adds a slight tanginess.

IMG_3455.jpg

Heat the oven to quite a high heat, and tear the bread into bite sized pieces. Dress with a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and toast until golden, but still with a soft centre.

IMG_3456.jpg

Now, in a large serving bowl, toss your greens with some of the dressing. Add the cheese, and toss again, to ensure the cheese is fully incorporated.

Once the bread is toasted, add it and the tomatoes to the salad.

Serve with the dressing on the side, your guests will definitely want to douse the salad in more dressing!

If you are serving this dish as a main, I would suggest to add some fatty, strong salami, like a cervelat.

IMG_3462.jpg

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

yep, am actually going to keep this in a tab, I feel like the American diet is taking a toll.... nice post ;)

Oh thank you so much! I’d love to hear what you normally eat in a day?

coffee....a ton of take out , try to do salads but lately has been a lot of salty Chinese food and Empenadas lol

and yet i bet you're skinny AF. I somehow envy Americans cuz I think their bodies are used to takeouts, and they are just naturally skinny.

I look at a take out and gain weight teeheee

Wow, that looks incredibly delicious @princessmewmew. And healthy at the same time. Thanks for sharing my lady :)

Thanks so much. It’s one of my classics x

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Se ve increiblemente buena!! Someday ill try! Ty!

but the dressing is what elevates it to Friday Night Date Night at Home level

You sold me right there. Not that I've had a date night in years (oh, the joys of small children), but maybe that should change. ;) Looks delicious!

Yes it should change! Put the kiddos to bed, make something delicious and serve at the table, turn the lights low, enjoy each other xx

I really like the sound of that dressing, Just noted the ingredients down I really want to try this

Awesome! Try and get the cranberry cheese, they go to gether SO well x

I will look for that as well :)

Awwn yummy 😋 @princessmewmew .. The diet is Wow... I'll see if I could make it.

ooooh nice twist to the traditional 'boring' salad game :D looks delicious! If you're ever in the market for simple pasta, I recently was inspired to cook olio pasta : https://steemit.com/cooking/@chels/cooking-with-chelsey-agilo-olio-pastaaaa-home-cooking-adventures

BTW, what camera do you use to take your foodie photos?! Your pictures are so vibrant :)

Thank you! I just use my iPhone 8 Plus - the camera is amazing. Good lighting helps too though, and I just step up the contrast in photoshop.

Thanks girl x

My go to every day dressing is 1/3 balsamic vinegar, 2/3 EV Olive Oil and honey (I have a bottle that holds about 12 ounces, for that it's about half a teaspoon of honey). Shake vigorously. It looks a little like used motorcycle oil underneath the salad, but I love the taste. Now I'm thinking I need to add some Mustard (s) Looks terrific!

Thanks for another truly grand recipe!

Yes! Add some mustard, a sharp one or a Dijon, and a whole grain one. Your mind will explode! We’ve spoken about my mustard love before, I’m sure!

its looking yummy......definitely will try it ....i love salad💕💕💕💕💕

thank you very much! please do let me know if you do make it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73