Victoria Pineapple Salsa

in #food6 years ago

Out of all the different varieties of pineapples I have used in my cooking from different countries of the world, personally for me the best one is the Victoria Pineapple which is actually locally grown in Mauritius!

Pineapples can be used in so many different ways...in salads, cooked in sauce for a main dish, in desserts, grilled, roasted, raw, in carpaccio, in ice cream or sorbet... etc...

Lately I have been making a special salsa with the Victoria pineapple and the results have been simply amazing! Let me share with you how I did it!

Hope you enjoy!
DSC_0005.JPG


After peeling the pineapple as you can see in the picture above, I cut it in brunoise along with some different ingredients like garlic, onion, chives, coriander, thyme and basil!

DSC_0008.JPG


I then cook it all with little olive oil and season with salt and pepper!

I let the cooking pot on medium fire for 1 hour until the pineapple are soft!

DSC_0010.JPG


Once cooked, you take it out from fire and let cool down!
This preparation can be used as is on any dish, or you can mix with some homemade mayo to have a very yummy flavored mayonnaise that you can use on any type of sandwich!

And what is great is that this salsa can be kept for quite long in the fridge and it will have the same great taste!

Have you ever did a pineapple salsa like the one I explained above?
What's your favorite variety of pineapple?

Thanks to drop a comment below, I will upvote the best comments I get on full power.

Wish you a great weekend ahead!
Steem On!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

Hello how are you? I have seen the pineapple a lot now included in many recipes
in venezuela also very juicy pineapples are grown
Your recipe looks very tasty and provocative

Ohh... I love to try that thing... (^_^)

rather unlikely method of cooking pineapples. This proves chefs can cook anything and make great food..

The pineapple is super delicious, it has invariable uses in the kitchen and apart from that it is excellent diuretic and antioxidant at the level of health. Your sauce looks incredible ... I follow you. I invite you to visit my profile and give me your support, if you can .. Thank you.

pineapple is one of the good fruits...when you feel fever...you should eat some piece of pineapple...its protect from fever....personally i would to like pineapple salads...its delicious to me and i am enjoy to eat it.....

This looks extremely delicious
And no I had or done a pineapple salsa.Thanks for enlightening my ignorance

This looks extremely delicious
And no I had or done a pineapple salsa.Thanks for enlightening my ignorance

Pineapple is my favorite fruit and I can say that I enjoy it in every aspect. I love yogurt, pizza, desserts, especially in shakes or drinks, it is very refreshing and I never tire of eating it. Unfortunately I have not tried any pineapple sauce, although I would not refuse at the chance of it!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85