Little India, in Cebu. Bharat Spice- My new favorite restaurant.

in #food6 years ago


One day after finishing our coffee,

My boyfriend and I weren't ready to go home yet so we decided to drive around IT Park, in Cebu- To see if we could discover any new buildings and establishments. IT Park is our favorite hangout spot, since its close enough to travel to, even in the worst of traffic. I guess, from our condo it only takes 10 minutes by car. Less, when we feel like taking the motorcycle out.

IMG_20171204_191749.jpg
Masala Dosa

Since we didn't have anything else to do and were pretty hungry- (We always fast, so our first meal is lunch around 12-1pm), we had a plan to go get some tacos at Red Lizard Taqueria. But today, we discovered what may end up being- Our new favorite restaurant in Cebu.

DSC_0074.JPG

We have drove past this same building dozens of times when we take the back exit out of IT park, but this time a new sign caught our eye. A new place called Bharat Spice. At first, I wasn't so sure it was even a restaurant since the adjoining building is a massive salon.

PANO_20171210_131202.jpg

IMG_20171204_182812.jpg

I actually at first thought it was maybe a grocery store that would sell bulk bags of spice :) We pulled over, and I looked it up online. I was exhilarated when I saw that it's an Indian restaurant! Our last Indian restaurant we used to go to, has been closed down at this point for more than 2 years! We both absolutely love Indian food, the spicier-the better.


The owner of Bharat Spice, in gray shirt.

Since its run by an Indian owner and Chef - I told him to make my dishes the way he would eat them himself.** Otherwise, they tend to go light on the spice. :D As much as I love Indian food, I would love to visit India, but unfortunately, I believe most areas aren't too safe for me to visit :(

IMG_20171204_190658.jpg
Appetizer: Potato Samosa

For our first time going to this place, we decided to order multiple dishes. Not only because we wanted to try a lot of different ones, but we honestly just didn't know what most of them where. It was if we were playing russian roulette :p

IMG_20171204_190948.jpg

We ordered first, the Masala Dosa. (The very first photo in this blog), because we overheard an Indian couple a table over also ordering a Dosa. And if I learned anything about how to get the best food, order and eat like the natives.

IMG_20171204_190938.jpg
Chicken Curry


From the time we first discovered Bharat Spice up until this blog we've already been back six or more times.

Every Indian place must have Naan, it is a very famous smoky flatbread made with Ghee, which is clarified butter. I remember the first time I had my it on my plate, I was just amazed how it looked along with the texture. I took my first bite, it was great! I ordered 3 more lol!


Garlic Naan


Butter Naan


Plain Naan

My favorite naan on their menu is the butter, I think it's the simpleness and the taste of the ghee. They even make one with sweet-potato soI recommend to try different flatbreads see which one you like the best.


We asked the owner to recommend a dish that we haven't tried yet, and he gave us the Punjabi Chicken.


Punjabi Chicken

We didn't ask what kind of sauce or what comes with it, I like the randomness not knowing what I ordered till it's delivered to the table and then we can take turns guessing what it is and what ingredients they used to cook it.


Chicken Tikka Masala

The only difference between the Punjabi Chicken and Chicken Tikka Masala ( I noticed), is that the Punjabi is slightly spicier, and its full chicken quarters.


The other time we went, we tried the plain dosa, butter chicken, and vegetable biryani.

IMG_20171210_123632.jpg



This place has a massive menu. A great variety for meat lovers, vegans, and vegetarians to eat together and not feel secluded. I forgot the names of all the dishes we ordered; but you can look up there menu here.

This time we decide to have all vegetarian dishes.

A lot of restaurants we go to in Cebu, seem to drop the quality of service and food over time. For the past 6 times, we went here, it only gets better. The only negative point about this place is that the waitresses could smile a bit more. ^_-

What I think I like the most about Indian food, and this also goes for Thai food, is that every bite has an amazing depth and complexity of flavors. Even with the most simple dishes, I can roll the food around my tongue to try and guess the (sometimes dozens) of ingredients that they used in order to make me smile. Mission accomplished.


Location:
CJRS Bldg., Cebu IT PARK
Opens daily: 11 AM - 2 PM and 5PM - 11PM
Contact #: +639427185388

Thank you for taking the time to read. Have a wonderful weekend!

XOXO,

Gilaine

Sort:  

Mmmm, everything looks very genuine and yummy. I've been considering going to the Philippines for some time, but want something less busy than Manila. Would you say that Cebu is more peaceful?

In my opinion, the people in Cebu are more laidback compared to Manila. Plus if you want more of the province life, it's easy to get to the smaller provinces of Cebu via land transportation :)

Oh cool! Thanks for the tip! I will keep that in mind =)

you're welcome ;)

btw, why you haven't blogged anything yet? (if you won't mind me asking)

I don't mind at all. I will start releasing some posts soon actually :)

I definitely prefer province life

I've actually never had Indian food before. It's a part of the world my tongue has yet to visit, so to speak. Is there a certain Indian dish you could recomment for starters for an Indian-food complete noobie?

I'd recommend the butter chicken, naan and biryani rice ^_- If you like spicy food try punjabi and masala =)

The food looks so delicious!I was planning​ to go there for vacation. Is it​ worth to go there? :D

Yes, you should come and visit this place it's worth it. =)

eh yo wut da mouf do doe

What language do you speak? :D

My favorite food! I posted similar dishes, yours look much better, great job!

Thanks for appreciating my blog. =)

All the food looks delicious, I was hungry hehehe @originalworks

YUM!

Thank you for stopping by. =)

O wow, Indian food. I hope you had good time eating Indian food. Those samosas and biryani are just love.
I am from Indian region, so this food even tastes more yummy when you are away from home and find it in another country.

Oh that's great joy. Where are you from and what do you like the most?

@suf1an, thank you, yes I really enjoyed it ^_^

What's your favorite dish?

That's good if you enjoyed it.
My favorite is biryani and paneer palak. I just love them.Have you tried paneer palak?

It is what palak paneer looks like.

Insert images by dragging & dropping, pasting from the clipboard, or by selecting them.

Yum, Take me there when I visit Cebu soon and ate i want to taste the different flavors of Naan.hehe
I MISS YOU ATE!

XOXO
GEREL

hopefully am still in cebu when you visit, hehe.. Am getting my passport renewed this month and I have a lot of paper works to do..

How are you? I miss you!

My lovely Friend @purepinay.

Again Sorry for again late Respond on your lovely and tasty post. I am too much buzy in office matters now a days, So could not gave proper time on Steemit.
you Shared everything while visiting Indian Restaurant. "Bharat Spice" I am also glad to see these all food items here in pictures. because Same kind of food also available in our country pakistan.I think you are also fond of eating different variety items. I hope you enjoyed here much with your B/Friend.

I Always Pray For your Success because you are Multi-talented and do your job here Brilliantly. My support and Hope always for you. Keep it Up. Good Luck.

Here i shared for you a Special food item("Makki Roti") made with Maize corn Flour.

images (5).jpeg
health-benefits-of-corn-04.jpg

hello @rabeel

Hope you are doing well. It's okay Steemi will always be here, don't stress about it, okay? Sorry also if I only see your message now. It's harder to keep up but I always look for your name haha!

Thank you for the motivation. Today, I am feeling better after having a long tiring and not so well week. I hope I get my energy back very soon.

Yes, I enjoy a different variety of food, it's really, every culture has its unique food. If I am correct Pakistani food is almost the same as Indian food, right?

That roti looks really good, I never had one made of corn. I wonder if I can find this on the menu at the Indian restaurant or anywhere here.

Thank you for the time you put in writing me and so thoughtful of you to share this image.

TC

  • Gilaine
Thanks Gilaine for your positive response filled with love and appreciations. If you will visited here in Pakistan Then I Served you by my mother hand made "Makki Roti"
My best wishes always for you @purepinay.

aw! thank you, my friend. That's really nice of you. ^_-

I'll remember the genuine offer ;)
btw, how's your mom?

I've never met an Indian food I didn't like. This looks amazing, and I've never heard of it before!

If you love Indian food and if you haven't come to India, seriously, you're missing out on a lot. In India, you'll get to taste more authentic cuisines. From north to south, east to west the food differs for us. I'm sure you'll love it and you could eat new food everyday during your time in India. Street foods are one among the best and you'll absolutely love it since you like it spicy.

I agree it is not as safe as western countries but it's not as bad as you think either. Some people might try to charge you more than whatever it costs; if you're aware of it, you'll be good. Also if you avoid roaming around at odd hours, you'll be good to go anywhere in the country. You'll be most welcome!

india sucks

You'll need to justify your comment mate.

smelly, rude people, food sucks

Hello there! How are you?

Very well said. You can be a really a well tourist advisor :)

I really look forward to visiting India, it's on my bucket list. Not only the food is exquisite but I am very interested to learn more about the culture. Last night my boyfriend and watched two Indian movies, Queen and Dhanak. Have you ever watch these movies, yet?

I'm fine, doing great. I hope you and your boyfriend is doing fine as well.
Thanks but I have never been an advisor. Maybe, I can guide you lil bit here and there when you travel to India someday. That will surely help you out. India has a broad culture and a lot to learn. Make sure you plan a long vacation if you wanna see the whole country. Hehe!
Nice to know you watch Indian/Bollywood Movies too, you must have learned a few words in Hindi, did you? I have seen Queen but not Dhanak. Now that you've asked me, I think I'll see it when I get my free time. :)

Thank you for thinking of me and my boyfriend. Everything is doing a little better, catching some more sleep, we've both been working way too much online, working hard for our future ;)

I haven't learned any words, to be honest, I only read the subtitle ;D maybe I should a little.

Thank you for the genuine offer to show me around India. Hopefully, someday I can visit.

TC always!

  • Gilaine

Hope you have successful future ahead. I'm sure one day all your hardwork will surely pay off.
I'd love to show you around.
And thanks for taking your beloved time to reply and upvote the comments. It actually feels honoured to see your support and care towards other users.
Thank you. TC!

My good friend Gilaine!! You have excellent taste!!
I love Indian food too!! In fact I recently made an authentic Indian dish!!
You can see my post about it here.
The dish is called "cauliflower fry" and I received the recipe from a Indian friend here on Steemit.
You will love her, she is @thegoddess!!
Look her up and say hi, tell her I sent you!!
Love and hugs my friend!! x0x0x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02