Gluten & Dairy Free, Low Histamine Red Rice & Roasted Veggies

in #food6 years ago

Ever since I started the low histamine diet which I'm supposed to follow at least until the end of July I began researching for new recipes to cook.

I also found out that white rice is not so good and that I should buy bio version because it seems almost all of it is contaminated with arsenic. So I decided to ditch the white rice all together and go for red and black varieties. From what I've read these varieties are way more nutritious and tasty than the bland white one.

Today I went shopping for gluten free and low histamine products in a nearby shop. I found both red and black rice, I decided to first try the red one.

Once home I went on Youtube to look for inspiration. After watching/reading a couple of recipes I went back to the kitchen and started cooking.

How to cook red rice

  1. Wash 1 cup of rice and put it in a pot; cover it with tap water and let it soak for 30 minutes to 1 hour.

  2. Throw away the water and give it a rinse. Let it sit in a strainer.

  3. Peel and chop 3-4 garlic cloves and one onion.

  4. In a non-stick pan heat 1-2 tbsp oil (olive oil or sesame oil or any other vegetable oil, I used a mix)

  5. Fry the garlic and the onion for 1-2 minutes. Add the strained rice and stir fry for 1-2 minutes. Add 1tsp of salt, 2 cups of water, mix gently and let it boil for 30-40 or until cooked. If you need to, add more water. Let it sit for 10 more minutes after your turn off the heat.

How to make easy roasted veggies

I literally went in my fridge and picked up whatever veggies I found. So my list is just a suggestion you can mix and match whatever you like/have at hand.

1 zucchini
2 small sweet potatoes
1/4 celery root
2 medium potatoes
1 red bell pepper
1 green bell pepper
1 small beetroot
5-6 garlic cloves
salt to taste
aromatic dried herbs such as basil, rosemary
5-6 tbsp olive oil (you can put more or less, depending on your taste)

Peel, wash and slice in thin sticks all the veggies. Peel the garlic cloves and put them through a garlic press & mix them with the olive oil.

In a big bowl mix everything until all the veggies are coated in the olive oil, garlic, salt and herbs mix.

IMG_5910.JPG
Veggies ready to get into the oven

Line a tray with parchment paper. Pour the content of the bowl in the tray. Cut another piece of baking paper and put it under running water. Squeeze the water and then cover the veggies with it. Put it in the oven covered for about 10-15 minutes and another 10-15 minutes without the cover. The cooking time depends on your oven, you should check them out and adjust the times.

IMG_5916.JPG
Yummy roasted veggies, ready to eat

I also heard that quail eggs are ok in a low histamine diet. So I added them in the plate along with some spring onions when serving. If you're vegan, of course leave them out.

This is the final plating, nothing fancy but very tasty:

IMG_5920.JPG

IMG_5919.JPG

I really liked this combination, way more than the white rice recipes I've made before. Let's see how my tummy feels about this by the time I finish digesting it :)

Bon appétit!

Namaste


Hatha Yoga 200H teacher. Copywriter. Human Design Projector. My educational background is in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.

Raluca

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24