Gluten, dairy free & low histamine recipe - Veggie rice & summer salad

in #food6 years ago

Just when I thought my food restrictions were already strict enough by removing gluten and dairy in an already vegetarian diet, I found out I'm kind of histamine intolerant. And that for the next 4 weeks I should eat only the foods that have the lowest histamine content.

Up until today I had heard about histamine in the context of allergies and their remedies. But I didn't know one could be allergic to all types of foods that are otherwise considered healthy such as tomatoes, avocados, bananas or pineapple. Or lentils and chickpeas. I know. It's crazy this histamine diet!

Kind of frustrating to find out I should not eat tomatoes exactly during the time of the year when they are ripe and juicy. Or any of the other foods that were my base.

Anyways...I'll surely do some more research on this topic that I've just discovered. And meanwhile I cooked the simplest thing I could think of made out entirely out of foods that have a 0 or 1 on the histamine scale.

Stir fried veggies and rice

Ingredients

1 red or yellow onion
2 spring onions
1 carrot
1 zucchini
1 red kapia pepper
1 green pepper
parsley, dill and any other herbs you feel like
salt, pepper
2-3 tbs olive oil
250 gr rice

First rinse the rice and put it on medium heat in a pot of salted water. Stir from time to time so it doesn't stick to the bottom of the pot.

Peel, wash and chop the veggies in a Chinese style or whichever way you prefer.

In a non stick pan heat the olive oil. Add the red onion & the peppers, stir for 2-3 minutes. Add the rest of the veggies and keep stirring. Add salt and pepper to taste, cover with a lid and let cook for a few minutes until the veggies are a bit soft but still al dente.

When the rice is almost fully cooked, drain it and pour it on the veggies. Mix gently and simmer for 1-2 minutes. Turn off the heat and add the chopped spring onions and the fresh and dry herbs. Blend them into the mix.

Serve with a summer salad made of cucumbers, red bel peppers, spring onions, fresh herbs and a dash of olive oil.

Pretend you don't miss the tomatoes or avocados and you'll be able to enjoy this dish...

Bon appétit!

IMG_5908.JPG

Namaste


Hatha Yoga 200H teacher. Copywriter. Human Design Projector. My educational background is in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.

Raluca

Sort:  

Wow.. The meal looks yummy. Thanks for sharing the information about the Histamine allergy. This is my first hearing such.

Looks delicious!

I love salad.it's hygienic food. I try always to put the salad in my daily meal.good post.

Beautiful presentation, made me hungry! lol. I'll keep this for future reference, I would love to try it!

Curious: What is an Human Design Projector?

Good luck with your diet.

Hi! It's one of the 4 types of profiles in the Human Design System, according to the date, time and place of birth. You can make your own profile and read more about it here https://www.mybodygraph.com or here https://www.humandesignamerica.com. Also there are plenty of free videos on Youtube about this system. I've recently started studying it and I find it very accurate :)
Thanks.

Nice decorated food.I think this really tasty and nutrious food..
This also healthy...

Looking good your salad dish..

I think so this really tasty and natrucal food

Nutritious food good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00