Home made hummus - naturally gluten free, vegan

in #food6 years ago

It's been a while since I made this hummus recipe. I recently decided it was time to do it again. Home made hummus, made from scratch, meaning from dry chickpeas not from the canned ones.

IMG_5864.JPG

So the night before I put 500 grams of chickpeas to soak in cold water. I removed the weird looking ones, those who were brownish or even black. When you do this part, make sure you use a big enough bowl or pot because it will double in size.

The next day I rinsed the chickpeas and put them to boil in water with a bit of baking soda. In about 30'-45' they should be soft and ready to be transformed into yummy hummus.

The recipe I used as inspiration is this one. It's in Romanian but you still get the idea.

Although Jamila recommends to peal off the skins from the chickpeas I didn't do this. Maybe if it was a smaller quantity, I would have...It's still very good.

It's very easy to do this. After you boil and drain the chickpeas (save some of the water for later), you simply use a hand blender to mix and blend all the ingredients. Add some of the water you saved until you get the desired texture, it should be not too dry and neither not too liquid.

The ingredients list is a suggestion, I always add or remove stuff according to my taste and inspiration.

IMG_5867.JPG

Ingredients

500 gr dry chickpeas
7-10 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
8 garlic cloves
4 tbsp tahini paste
1-2 tsp rock salt
1/4-1/2 tsp baking soda
the juice of 1-2 lemons, depending on their size and your taste
olive oil/sweet paprika/fresh parsley for decoration

This quantity lasted for me and @dragosroua for two-three days. You can of course make a smaller portion for your use, but I prefer to make a bigger batch of everything and then freeze it if it's too much or just eat it two days in a row.

IMG_5869.JPG

Bon appétit!

Namaste

Hi, I'm Raluca. Freelance copywriter, certified Hatha Yoga Teacher 200H. I have an educational background in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.
Raluca

Sort:  

It's been a very long time since I've made Hummus too @raluca. Not sure why. Probably because it's so easy to buy nowadays and it wasn't when I used to make it.

I never removed the skins though. I've never heard of that.

I must say yours looks delicious! 😊

Yeah, I guess you're right, it was more difficult to find it and now it's everywhere. But still, it's hard to find a ready made one that's as good as the home made ;)
It was :)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

This look like my mom's hummus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27