Slow Cooker Sausage Curry

in #food6 years ago

Slow Cooker Sausage Curry

One of my favourite items in the kitchen is my slow cooker. With just a little preparation, you can put a bunch of ingredients into it and go about the rest of your day knowing that when it comes time for dinner, there will be a nice hot stew or casserole or something waiting for you.

I was given a slow cooker recipe book a while back as well, and hadn't actually made anything from it, so with the weather getting cooler and me needing some more meals prepared, I thought it was time.

Ingredients

Sausage Curry - Ingredients.jpg
Everything all in one photo! I'm getting better at this

6 Sausages
1 Chicken Breast
1 Onion
1/2 cup Rice
2 Carrots
3 Celery Stalks
1 Apple
1 can Diced Tomato
1/2 Green Capsicum
1 teaspoon Curry Powder
1 teaspoon Dried Mixed Herbs
1 teaspoon Sugar
1 teaspoon Beef Stock Powder
1 teaspoon Chicken Stock Powder
1/4 teaspoon Ground Cumin
6 Mushrooms

Method

  • Peel and chop the Onion and Carrots. Chop the Apple, Celery, and Capsicum

Sausage Curry - Chopped Ingredients.jpg
No need to dirty up a bowl to transfer them to the slow cooker like I did, just put them straight in here

  • Dice the Chicken Breast into bite sized pieces.
  • Cook the Sausages for 5 minutes in a pot of boiling water
  • Drain and allow to cool before slicing into about 6 pieces

Sausage Curry - Boiled and Chopped Sausages.jpg
The chicken is hiding under the sausages, both of which could have just been put straight into the slow cooker pot instead of the bowl, but at least it's the same bowl as I used for the veggies

  • Combine the Curry Powder, Dried Herbs, Sugar, Stock Powders, and Cumin together with 3 cups of water.

Sausage Curry - Water and spices mix.jpg
I must remember only landscape photos. Portrait ones are so much bigger. Giant jug of dirty water...

  • Put all the prepared ingredients into the slow cooker, along with the Diced Tomato and mix well.

Sausage Curry - Diced Tomato in a box.jpg
I tried the Diced Tomato in a box. Not too bad a consistency compared to the cans.

  • Cover and cook for 4 hours on low.
  • Quarter the Mushrooms and stir them into the curry

Sausage Curry - While Cooking.jpg
After stirring in the mushrooms it looked something like this.

  • Cover and cook for a further 3 to 4 hours.

Sausage Curry - Served.jpg
Not the prettiest looking dish, but curries often aren't. And it made enough for another 6 serves after this one too!

Thoughts

  • I made a few changes from the original recipe: I removed 2 sausages and added the chicken breast. I took out 1 banana and 1 tomato, which I replaced with the can of diced tomato. I added the Mushrooms.
  • I was initially disappointed in my first serving, it had an odd taste to it that I still haven't put my finger on. I was however quite happy with every other serve of it since, so it was possibly something wrong with me rather than the curry.
  • I was disappointed in the curries lack of curry though. It was tasty enough, but completely lacking in heat. If I'm to make it again in future, I'd probably double the curry powder and add some chili as well (fresh or powdered. Or both...)
  • It was good with rice. So good I didn't try it with the other suggestion of mashed potato. With it's lack of heat it may have been better with mash as it would be similar to bangers and mash with gravy.

Last 10 Recipe Posts

Chicken Noodle Soup
Tuna Pasta Bake
Chicken Sliders
Lamb, Brocolli and Capsicum Stirfry
Beef and Brocolli Stirfry
Gary's Lamb and Tomato Curry
Moroccan Tagine
Chicken Paella
Sausage Rolls
Creamy Bacon Fettucine


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Wow. This looks so delicious.
Thanks for sharing your recipe, I'll give a try since it looks so delicious.

My whole family loves curry actually. Looks like a great dish especially when we are too busy with work and need a quick recipe! Cheers from your new follower from Singapore with a little upvote! Thanks for visiting my article too!

Thanks. I love my various curries, from the south of India, all the way through SE Asia and up to Japan and across to England. I'm always up for trying a new type of curry dish. This was certainly good for the too busy day, but needed more curry to it. Slow cooking isn't quick in the "I need dinner on the table in an hour" kind of way, but quick in the "Spend an hour now and in 8 hours it'll all be ready" way.

I made this recipe but without susage and it is really good next time i'll try it your way, thanks my dear for sharing & have a nice day

It really is a decent simple meal

I miss curried sausages, bangers and mash with brown onion gravey.... Mainly just sausages lol...

Any reason you can't have sausages now?

We live in Cambodia, the sausages here are a real mystery sack, nothing like the good old woolies snag we used to get from bunnings.

Ah, right. I can understand that. But I'm sure there's other local delicacies that you enjoy which can't be easily gotten here. I'm sure they make up for the lack of sausage

"Sausage stew" is one of the "fast" things I make that all the kids will eat. Sausage curry also sounds good for them with its distinct lack of heat (youngest will actually eat spicy stuff as long as it's not too hot, middle child just won't XD), might suggest that to JJ to try sometime :D

goatsig

Can always make it bland and then spice it up for those that like it. Not as good as the spice being in it from the start, but useful for boosting the heat later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87