Healthy Treats - Energy Balls with Beetroot (Raw+Vegan)

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Too much cake dough and not enough space left in the baking pan - this is a challenge I often have to face when creating new treats. Fortunately something seen as leftovers is often the foundation for something new. This time my answer is energy balls! 

I still had a little beetroot laying around that finally got the chance to shine. It not only gives this sweet treat a nice color but also adds some more health power to the mixture. But don’t think that healthy translates to boring taste, these energy balls have a lot of sweet flavor in them, with the perfect amount of crunch to keep it exciting.

Here is what you need for your beetroot-flavored energy balls...

  • 100 g walnuts 
  • 100 g hazelnuts 
  • 200 g raisins 
  • 1 small beetroot 
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
     
  1. Put the nuts and raisins in a high bowl and use a hand mixer to blend them into a smooth dough. There can still be bigger pieces left, it gives the balls the perfect crunch. 
  2. Grate the beetroot finely and massage it into the dough, together with the cinnamon.
  3. Form little balls and optionally roll them into some ground nuts. 

Energy balls are (after sweet fruits) just the easiest treat you could imagine. If you want to get creative yourself just choose nuts and dried fruits in a 1:1 ratio and add some cinnamon, vanilla or chocolate powder. You might also add some sweeter veggies such as carrots, pumpkin or firm fruits like apples or pears.  

Maybe you already noticed in my recipes that I am not in the tropics anymore - my dishes are filled with autumn fruits and winterly spices these days. Germany has me back for a few weeks and the cold weather really makes me want to cuddle up under a blanket, with a warm tea and sweet treats that spread the smell of cinnamon through the living room. 

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruity journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

Sort:  

Oh yum! I love how you have your “tropical” recipes and your “wintery” recipes. These energy balls looks so festive and delicious though. They’d be perfect for Christmas, maybe rolled in coconut or something. 😋. Love it @rawadventuress.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate your kind comments every time!

I am already back in SEA around Christmas - we are probably munching on freshly cut jackfruit for our Christmas meal. 😄

Oh that’s wonderful. Will you be in Bali? I still have to try my hand at a jackfruit dish. 🤔.

We will spend Christmas in Kuala Lumpur and head to the Philippines for a while afterwards. 😉 You should, the taste the best just plain without any fancy recipes. 💚

I don’t think I’ve ever tasted it either! Okay, okay, jackfruit is high on our todo list now :) It sounds like a perfect holiday plan.

Perfect, so exciting to taste such fruits for the first time - enjoy! 😁

Beet balls!! I love this! I haven't made energy balls in a while, but these sound fantastic! I definitely have not used beets that way yet, so I'm definitely going to have to give it a try. Thanks for such a great idea and stay warm! ☕

Then it seems to be about time that you dive into some raw dough again. 😄 I really like the red color they get from the beets - makes them look much more exciting. Thank you, it really is a challenge to get on terms with the cold weather here. 🙈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30