Tarte. The Butter Kind.

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Twisted with raisins, maple syrup, pecans and coconut.

B32339C2-1E24-4DE5-86D2-B88DE10D1F1A.jpeg

  • Soak 2 cups of raisins in 1 cup of maple syrup. The raisins need a few hours to plump up in the syrup.

This is a recipe that requires an action plan.

66DE8806-A956-4282-A643-FDCCAD3522D7.jpeg

  • Make gluten-free pastry for the tarte shells.

1003A7F4-BCDF-4B96-8F05-6E1F4CAF2D43.jpeg

1/4 lb of cold butter cubed
2 cups of Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free biscuit baking flour
1/4 cup of cold 35% cream
2 eggs

  • Cut the butter cubes into the flour until you achieve a small crumble.
  • Add the cream and eggs and mix into a big ball as quick as you can. (It always turns out a little bit better if you don’t overwork it.)
  • Wrap your pastry ball in plastic wrap and chill for (at least) 1 hour in the fridge before you attempt to roll it.

(I chilled mine over night, just so I could come at it fresh; without bringing expectation to it. Pastry is serious business to execute well...gluten free can be a dry, finicky bitch.)

Then, just remember to breathe and “see-it” working out. With that attitude, how could it not?

  • Roll it, cut it and mark it with a B...? (Just kidding)
  • Line the (well coconut oiled) tarte tin.

9316A5C9-8963-48D8-AC0E-58A0AFA04DF8.jpeg

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

  • Make the tarte filling.

1/3 cup of melted butter
2 eggs + 3 egg yolks
1/4 cup of 35% cream
2 tsp of vanilla extract

(If your going to do this, use the real stuff and don’t contaminate good maple syrup with synthetic stuff that isn’t actually food.)

Plus, the 2 cups of raisins that have been soaking for a few hours and the soaking syrup. Use all of it.

2EDE33E3-107D-48CA-90CA-745C24E8A572.jpeg

3/4 of a cup of roughly chopped pecans.
1/2 cup of unsweetened (medium shred) coconut

  • Melt the butter in a medium size sauce pan, over a low flame.
  • Stir in the cream and vanilla. Then turn off the flame and just let it rest for 3 minutes while you separate the egg yolks.
  • Turn the flame back on low and temper the eggs and yolk into the cream, vanilla and butter.
  • Add the raisins and maple syrup. Turn your flame to medium low and keep stirring the pot.
  • Bring the mixture to a slow boil... just to the point where bubbles are breaking the surface.
  • Stir in the pecans and the coconut until the mixture is thick and well-combined.

78ED7729-B6DF-4600-9C0C-1D02A75872A9.jpeg

  • Fill the tarte wells with the filling and bake for 25 minutes or until the tarte crusts are golden brown.

  • Remove from the tin and cool on a wire cooling rack.

E85F0661-D2FB-4382-BD34-59BDE5912560.jpeg

Serve and enjoy.

A48FF227-1852-4E51-9F79-244A096E3086.jpeg

This recipe yields 24.

88015575-A036-4DB2-8B9F-65556DE9B726.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

God Almighty - these sound amazing. The things you do to prep for your next blaze session! Project: Make Delicious Butter Tarts. Through i am curious about the coconut. While i adore it i am not sure i could stray from basic butter tart!

Hi @yogajill!

No worries....lol! I have prepared a tarte allegiance declaration for just this occasion...(kind of suspected it actually.)

Ok, ready? Here goes...

There’s a different tarte in town. I might like it, I might not but the standard, proven itself, over and over again butter tarte that I love will never be far from my ❤️. (Even (gasp) when I taste another.)

There, that little incantation of love should hold. ;)

I almost didn’t post this recipe because bringing up the topic of butter tarte recipes is similar to talking about the subjects of politics or religion. (Rarely does it go smoothly.)
True fact:
In my husband’s family, the butter tarte is a practiced tradition. The recipe is great great grandmother old. His sister sells them in her local area.
We gave up eating grains and refined sugar a long time ago...so I can tell you that it has taking a bit of gut bacteria management to make a satisfactory butter tarte without using brown sugar. One that really can cut the mustard, with a discerning tarte palate that OM F-ing G is generational!!! (Nobody told me before I signed the contract. Hahahaha! That’s why I can’t make pastry and roll it on the same day...it’s just too much pressure.)
Hahaha!
I am happy to report that thisversion passed with flying colours and that if, you’ve ever enjoyed Black Forest cake icing, you’ll like the addition of coconut to the buttertarte.
P.S.: I’m currently blacklisted by some of the kin.

Do you have a post where you link to all your best posts, sorted, so people can easily find all your amazing knowledge? You are a maven of cannabis edibles and related topics. Your posts are well done, and contain good information that should be seen. If you don't have such a summary post, would you consider doing one, and keeping it updated as you add additional masterpieces? Thank you! <3

Thank you for thinking that way... I record what I do (at this level) as a way to remember wtf I did. (You know how detail can vanish with cannabis.)
That and I’m leaving my nieces and nephews a breadcrumb trail to discover.
Never thought anyone else would care about my field notes on life. ;)

This publication is a work of art.
Thank you for not having gluten and adding coconut to the recipe.
I think it's the perfect marriage, gluten free and coconut. Hahaha
Congrats on a Curie vote!
Stay Great!

Thank you @marita52!
I always get excited too, when there’s a recipe that doesn’t have grain or cane sugar in it. You could easily replace the maple syrup with coconut palm sugar. Soaking the raisins in water will pull the sugar out of the raisins and into the water so, if you want to use coconut sugar instead, just soak the raisins in the cream/egg mixture in the fridge. You’ll just have to let it warm up slowly when you combine the melted butter, so that you don’t cook the egg into a sweet scramble.
That change should work just fine. ;)

Thank you @rebeccaryan
You're a sweetheart.
Stay Great!

Hi rebeccaryan,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Dang that sure does look like my hips would hate it but my tastebuds would love it! I love me some coconut anything! I would love to know what real maple syrup tastes like not a fan of what we get here but I’m told it’s nothing like the real deal stuff

Hi @chekohler!
Where to start....ok, here’s what I have learned, first of all if you manage your gut bacteria and train your metabolism to fuel from fat, instead of refined sugar your body will stabilize at its ideal weight and girth.
Break this recipe apart...look at how I intentionally engineered it.
Butter high fat.
Coconut and coconut oil, high fat.
35% whipping cream, high fat.
More egg yolks than full egg, more high fat.
Pecans, high fat.
Common denominator: Fat
I got really sick in 2004. I was 50 lbs heavier than I am today. I ate low fat, high carbs, followed my country’s food guide and I was sick, fat and nearly dead.
Turned that all around before it was almost too late but had to learn to change my habits and to think for myself.
If anything, you’ll learn from me today, it’s to zigwhen the memo says to zag.
It takes 3 days to recalibrate gut bacteria and kick start the process of starving out the strains of bacteria and fungi that want sugar.

Ah thank you so much for the tips. So there is a way to eat yummy and not feel completely guilty and that you need to make it up to yourself afterwards. The more I learn about food and eating habits the more I see it's like crypto don't believe what people say and what's seen as common knowledge and do your own research

and well done on being curie picked :)

Yes!!! And very well, I might add.

The human body is more bacteria cells than it is human cells.

The mix of strains you have in your intestinal tract is what tells your brain what to eat and when.

If you have guilt because you were driven to eat something you didn’t really want, might I suggest that you weren’t acting alone in that dirty deed. Lol!

If a person doesn’t rein their bacteria in and manage it, by the time the average person is 40, they’re overweight and diseased. Our food has been grossly manipulated since the 80s and is poisoning the population, slowly over time, so that we won’t be able to critically think and we can be controlled like cows or sheep.

If I go to any urban centre in North America and look around, I see obesity and disease. People shuffling around with their mouths partly open, looking down at smart phones...just like zombies lining up for a piece of over priced cheese at Costco.
A human body should eat when it requires food.
Most eat in a scheduled way out of habit.
Wait until your stomach growls, then fuel it.
If you choose high fat, you’ll feel full, longer.
The nutritional density is there to sustain activity.
Look into ketogenics. ;)

I agree about our food being manipulated I have a friend who works in retail distribution and the horror stories will put you off any big chains produce!

I find it so sad that we focus on this obscure way to nourish ourselves like let me spend 8 hours a day working for more money so I can outsource my nutrition to corporates.

Like people won’t spent an hour out of their day to find ingredients and prepare a meal! They just want to come home heat something up and sit infront of a screen

I enjoy cooking so i don’t mind but as we become more westernized I see the traps that this so called convenience brings

My friend was recently in the US and he told me you can’t even fathom the portion sizes and the way people eat and act in this part of the world you have to see it to believe it! I’d still like to see it though, im fascinated by it

I unexpectedly checked my food shelf to see if I have all the ingredients and confirm that ... IF I HAVE IT COMPLETE! So I will try, I will give my effort to make this dish hehe

These tartlets looks exquisite !! The recipe seems simple but I can't have all the ingredients. Thanks @rebeccaryan, for sharing the pictures. I imagine the smells when they are in the oven ... oh my God, it must be something magical. Greetings

Hi @marcybetamcourt!
I made these in a special way because I can’t have all the ingredients typically used to make this treat.
If it’s the syrup that you don’t have, you can use coconut palm sugar...most recipes use brown sugar. :)

Thanks for the tip

the non thc kind?😄 - they look good!

Yes! It surprised me too. Thank you.
If I did medicate these, I would use infused cannabutter in the pastry...you could bury the dosage within the 1/2 lb of butter and you may only see a slight green tint to the crust. Lol!

Oh dear! This not only looks super healthy but super yummy as well!!! 😍 Can I have some, please?!? Hahaha! 😂😉

I think I have to learn how to bake these amazing stuffs. Thank you for the recipe, Rebecca. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34