Tempeh Tacos with Vegan Salsa Verde

in #food5 years ago

image.png

When my man was away, I was living off salads and tempeh wraps for days. I just wanted something easy. I can't think of a better combination than coriander, jalapenos and some kind of cheese or sour cream - except, I don't really eat much dairy and prefer the vegan version anyway!

Hence, I kinda made up this sauce, because I had a huge pile of mangoes as they were CHEAP at the time. And it was perfect! So perfect I made them again tonight as he's home late. He's not a fan of tempeh, so as soon as I hear he's not gonna be home, I go get some.

image.png

What I love about tacos is that it's not rocket science - get some green salady crunchy stuff, some cheesy creamy stuff, and some kind of protein, and the biggest jar of jalapenos you can find. Too easy.

Vegan Salsa Verde

1/2 ripe mango
1 cup cashews
2 - 3 jalapenos (more if you want spicey)
A splash of vegan milk
1/2 bunch coriander.

Whiz all ingredients until blended - add a little salt if it's too sweet. Add only enough milk so it goes into a saucy creamy texture.

Fried Tempeh

Fry thin slices of tempeh in oil with liberal sprinkles of smoked paprika and/or chipotle hot sauce, cummin and a pinch of cinnamon until nicely browned.

Green Stuff

You need the crunchy to off set the silky and creamy - I used kale and lettuce, some ripe tomatoes and some cucumber.

Layer all your ingredients and add extra jalapenos to taste. Did I tell you I liked jalapenos?

I could seriously eat these every day. I also like to sprinkle black sesame seeds over the top, because it looks good - but I was so damn hungry I forgot to do it.

How do you like your soft shell tacos?



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif


@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

Sort:  

Can't eat enough mangoes!! I went to a market in Melbourne the other week and there were six different types!!!

I miss my daily mango from when I lived in the tropics

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah we both need to move to Queensland to eat mangoes all the time!! That's why i get so excited when it's mango season down here - I eat tons of them!

Sounds like a plan!

Posted using Partiko Android

it looks delish river!!

That is absolutely no punishment or easy foor for when the man is gone. It is natural and looks super yummy...Im in!!!

Ha, yeah, I'm like: 'Honey, any chance you aren't coming home tonight? I have a date with tempeh tortillas'

Posted using Partiko Android

Man takes first flight home

looks like a really delicious and easy meal :DDD

This is the kind of thing I can eat every day, it looks delicious!!

Me too! Since found out he can tolerate tempeh, but not the corn tortillas!!! Wierd. Do you like tempeh? I have another yum recipe I made .. I'll take a photo of the recipe book if ya keen...

Posted using Partiko Android

I do like it - very hard to find around here but I used to prefer it to tofu.

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.624 which ranks you at #1713 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99