Food Adventures #001: 6th Avenue Cheesecake, 7th Heaven Taste

in #food6 years ago (edited)


While I sit in front of my computer, looking at photos of food instead of churning out that New Year's Resolution list, I thought "what better way to start 2018 with a food(or in this case, dessert) post". A couple of days back, a friend of mine invited me to take a trip down to the hustle and bustle city that is Kuala Lumpur to savor a few cakes located in ISETAN The Japan Store(aka Lot 10, or part of it).

We made our way to the highest floor called 4F The Table where various authentic Japanese restaurants are located. The decor here is quite inviting and every restaurant has it's own entrance.


Gorgeous scarlet flags surrounding a giant lantern with a fish design


Our first stop was The Tokyo Restaurant. Bar & Cafe. We had our minds set on the famous cheesecake even before we sat down at our table.


6th Avenue Cheesecake; RM 18

After much recommendations, we were not disappointed. The cheesecake was creamy but held its shape. Thick but yet light to the taste. It's so smooth to the point that it felt as if the taste and flavor passed through my mouth with no resistance. Topped off with a side of whipped cream and you have what I consider, one of the best cheesecakes I've had in my years of existence. It is hard to describe the satisfaction from eating it.

We also ordered another cake, the Classic Tiramisu and a Matcha Latte to wash it all down.


Classic Tiramisu; RM 18


Matcha Latte(Iced); RM 15

Side by side with the cheesecake, the Tiramisu held its own. Just like it's sister, it was deliciously creamy yet light at the same time. It had a slight texture from the layered sections of cake soaked in coffee. It was such a delicate dessert and one of my favorites.

Not forgetting the Matcha Latte, not too heavy on the Matcha flavor and not bitter with a nice helping of milk, it was surprisingly refreshing and it did not clash with the cakes.

If you lack the time to dine in the cafe, you may purchase the cheesecake to-go located on the lowest floor where another food court is situated. Which brings us to our next cafe.


Heading down from the highest floor to the lowest floor, we stopped by and browsed through the various Japanese items on sale for a quick tummy-break before continuing on our next destination, Henri Charpentier.


Beautiful cakes galore!

Of all the pretty cakes out there, we selected The Shortcake and the other was a tough decision between the Double Cheesecake and the Pudding Choux. But as we've already delicately devoured a cheesecake prior to this, Pudding Choux, I choux you! (sorry, had to).


Chosen ones


The Shortcake; RM 21.20

The Shortcake was a classic Japanese cake, light and fluffy cakes surrounded by even lighter cream and some sliced strawberries in the middle of it all. Add 3 more strawberries on top and voila, a perfect slice of cake. Unlike the strawberries here, the strawberries from Japan were more sweet than it was sour. For once I need not dip my strawberries in a pile of sugar.


Pudding Choux; RM 10.60

It has been a long time since I've had choux cream puff so I was excited to try this out. Just from the look of it and the size, I was sold on the idea but little did I know, there was a small piece of pudding(hence pudding choux...) situated right in the middle right below the generous helping of cream. Simple yet delicious!

Now that we've completed our cake hunt, onward to the next destination for some Japanese shaved ice!


The next item on the itinerary was located just a few minutes walk from Isetan, in a shopping mall called Pavilion KL.


Located right smack below an escalator, watch out for this brightly lit logo

The shop is called Kakigōri which is the Japanese word for a particular dessert in Japan, shaved ice dessert flavored with syrup and a sweetener. We ended our dessert hunt with another classic, Uji Matcha shaved Ice.


Uji Matcha; RM 17

Although it was just flavor-mixed, thinly sliced, frozen water, the taste was not watered down. Each bite had a rich matcha flavor to it and kept us wanting more. In the middle were red bean that complimented the matcha really well. The shaved ice had a chunk of warabimochi on the top of it too! Our only challenge was that we had to snap enough pictures before it started to fall apart.

We were way beyond stuffed at that point. Fat but happy bellies :D

I hope you guys had an eventful 2017. Here's to a fruitful and many more amazing moments for us all, and many more food adventures for me hopefully! ;) Huge thanks to my friend for suggesting the foodie trip (she's not on SteemIt) and my husband @branlee87 for tagging along!

All photos were taken with the iPhone 6s Plus and Sony Alpha 5100, and edited in Lightroom.


If you have enjoyed my post, feel free to upvote and follow me as well! I like writing about gaming, food and a little slice of my life :)

Sort:  

is the restaurant in bukit bintang Lot 10. Noted venue. must have cost a fortune

Haha yeah it did but it was worth it! :D

It waters my mouth just reading your tastefully elaborated post! I'm a huge fan of desserts myself especially bingsu. My personal favourite is OWL Espresso at SS15, do let me know what you think if you happen to stop by. Looking forward to more of your food reviews :)

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation! Will add it to my list for ss15 :) I've only had bingsu once and it was overwhelming in size and taste :D

ok @siren87, but the photo of the Uji Matcha threw me over the edge and I went off to make pancakes as I was far too hungry after your post. that is alot to eat in one day, but fairplay it must of been amazing!! keep up the good work.

Oh my gosh, thank you for your kind words :D And now I'm craving for pancakes!

Really good post, loved the photos and really wish I could try some of the dishes :)

Thank you so much! If you get the chance you should! :D

It is the very good post. The elaboration is so good until i can imagine it. Btw, kakigori have another outlet at seapark. Tried before but i feel the taste a bit light to me. I will recommed you try the bingsu at sri petaling. The grapefruit bingsu is superb and fresh.
bingsu

I Will follow you and looking forward to your next food blog. Cheers

Thank you for your comment and recommendation. Will definitely put it on my list. Sri Petaling has a lot of great restaurants to check out too :D

saw it make saliva out

Haha oops :)

Really enjoyed being transported on this delicious adventure! I'm new to Steemit and you're one of the first I've upvoted and followed. I think that means I have "good taste" :) ??

Haha. Thanks and welcome to Steemit! :D There are so many more delicious food posts you'll see here and hopefully you'll post yours as well?

Nice photo @siren87! It makes me hungry. (^o^)>

Thank you and I'm sorry! :D

(^0^) It's ok. By the way, thanks for the sharing.

You're most welcome :)

Reading your description like a beautiful story with imagination characters such as taste and whipped cream.
Yummy, love that cheesecake so mush.

Thanks for your kind words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30