Mr. Gourmet Explores Asian-Fusion Cuisine 🍣🍜🍤 All You Can Eat Sushi & More - À La Carte!

in #food7 years ago


Asian cuisine is definitely one of my favorites - the variety just offers something for every taste.
Whether that's Japanese Ramen, Sushi, Thai Curry, Vietnamese Pho, Chinese Dim Sum, or something else - there are countless different dishes to explore!

A few days ago, I went to an Asian-Fusion Restaurant - it was all you can eat, but à la carte!

The concept is totally different to most other restaurants: Everything comes in tiny portions, similar to Spanish "Tapas".
You can order in different rounds of 5 dishes per person, and tick off anything you want from the huge selection on the menu.
And once you got your 5 dishes of choice, you can order another round!



Take a look at the variety of dishes we got to try!

I haven't even photographed everything we ordered because there were sooo many individual little plates and bowls.

First, you can see a variety of different handrolls - the large, cone-shaped rolls wrapped in seaweed.
These are handmade to order for each individual customer, and can be filled with tempura shrimp, veggies, duck, or avocado and salmon.



For "starters", we already went for a traditional miso soup and some spring rolls.

The handroll with crispy shrimp tempura was actually my favorite - the shrimp itself was tender and flavorful, then wrapped with crunchy panko breadcrumbs and sandwiched between sushi rice and Nori! Absolutely delicious and so fresh!



I also wanted to try some of the hot dishes that you typically can't get at Sushi all you can eat restaurant.

First, I tried the Ramen with shrimp - the ramen soup was created with a miso base, and then topped with noodles and shrimp.
The curry was inspired by the Thai cuisine with coconut milk and red curry paste - it was slightly spicy but went very well with the mellow coconut flavour.



Of course, we also had to try some of the "traditional" maki sushi!

On the left, you can see one of my all-time sushi favorites - scampi tempura maki.
When biting in this delicious rice-wrapped roll, you get surprised by the crunchiness of the deep fried tempura shrimp!

Since it was an asian-fusion style restaurant, they also offered some sushi with meat - like duck or teriyaki chicken.
Of course, I had to try some of the duck roll as well - and the flavours actually went really well together!



I love tempura - so I also had to order a tempura platter.

As you can see I went for quite the selection of deep-fried tempura vegetables, as well as wantans, gyoza, tempura-shrimp and tempura-shiitake mushrooms.
My favorite would have to be the Gyoza (an all-time classic!) or the tempura shrimp.



On the left, you can see something a little more "exotic" but traditionally Japanese: it's wakame salad (seaweed salad!)

When you think about it, almost every sushi item is wrapped in seaweed - but there's so much more you can do with it.
For this wakame salad, the seaweed pieces get marinated with rice vinegar and spices to achieve a very specific, sweet-and-sour flavour.

As another side, we also ordered some crispy sweet potato fries with wasabi mayonnaise.



Another classic in almost all Asian cuisines: fried noodles!

These fried noodles (chow mein) came with teriyaki sauce and a variety of different topics.
I went for duck and shrimp - both were very flavourful, although I have to say that the teriyaki sauce was almost a little too salty for my taste.



In the middle of our dish, the waiter suddenly came over to us and served this huge plate of sushi.

It was a "kitchen special", a variety of different maki rolls with special ingredients like cream cheese, herbs, black sesame, wasabi mayonnaise and more.

There was salmon, tuna, shrimp, and crab - and as you can see, everything topped beautifully with mayonnaise, soy sauce, sesame and nori flakes.


Last but not least - the dessert!

The "all you can eat à la carte" menu also offered a selection of different miniature desserts.
There was matcha ice cream, chocolate-coconut pana cotta, and two tiny pieces of cake.
The matcha (Green tea) flavoured ice cream was my favorite - although the coconut milk also gave the pana cotta a really interesting and delicious flavour!


In the end, I think we made it to around 6 or 7 rounds..
Everything was so delicious and you could really taste the high quality of the ingredients.
I'll definitely come back here another time to explore the full variety of the menu!
Until next time!

Which of these dishes would you like to try?




Want to get featured on my blog? Register for Steemit Promo

- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 


© Sirwinchester


Sort:  

Love the potatoes. Spain is a mecca for technique and to throw asian styles on top of that, probably FIRE. You did a great job on this post. I am still learning how to use more features on my phone, as well as my lab top. I cant wait to continue this journey. Wonderful job bro. Hopefully you like my stuff as well.

Thank you for the feedback, I appreciate it!

this is a very mean post Tony! makes my mouth water at 22:00 pm
damn! I love Asian food!

thx for sharing

Oo my favorite food sushi time :)

Finally Mr Gourmet is back! What a wonderful array of yummy food my friend! I would have a taste of each one of them!

Wow !! Yummy yummy !!

I love "spanish tapas" concept and I love too this concept in other tradicional kitchen like this.

I know a similar restaurant in Madrid (SPAIN) next time I ask for a duck&teriyaki !

Thanks a lot for this amazing post!

It is now without a doubt...
313213213.gif

Excellent food, this makes me hungry now :D

Oh dear goodness....The sushi, kitchen special, and the dessert have officially made me hungry; even though I just had dinner...smh...;+)

Thank you for sharing...I think I'll take another look before leaving.

Peace.

Excelent job, congratulations!!

not too big on sushi, but that tempura looks delicious, the shrimp & noodles too!

Thank you! Yes the great thing about this restaurant was the wide variety - even if you're not into sushi, there will be something else for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87