Apple Fries with Caramel Sauce | Air Fryer Favorites # 2

in #food6 years ago

apples done1.jpg
Hello, my fellow Steemians! A couple months ago I took my nephews to Legoland in Winter Haven, Florida. I had some great food at the park but the real standout was Granny's Apple Fries. Fried apples covered in cinnamon and sugar and served with vanilla whipped cream. Since I have tried these I have been trying to make them myself but in my air fryer. I went through many iterations and found what worked and what didn't. My apple fries ended up being quite different from what I had at Legoland but I came up with a really nice quick recipe.
legoland-florida-logo-490.jpg
Ingredients:
5 to 6 Granny Smith Apples
3/4 cup of all-purpose flour
1 cup of crushed graham crackers
1/4 cup sugar
1 Tablespoon cinnamon
1 cup of whipped cream or 1/2 cup of caramel sauce
apple collage1.png
Begin by peeling your apples. Core the apple and cut into 8 slices. Toss the apples into a bowl of the flour and mix. Set up a dredging station by beating eggs in a small bowl and pouring graham cracker crumbs onto a small plate or dish. Dip each flour coated slice into the egg and then into the crumbs. Make sure you get a good coating on all sides and place on a sheet of parchment paper.
apple collage2.png
Preheat your air fryer to 375 degrees. Brush a little oil onto the bottom of the fry basket. Place apples into the basket in one layer. You will have to do these in batches but they only take a few minutes. Spray a little oil onto the apples and fry for 5 minutes. Flip the slices over and fry for 2 additional minutes.
apple collage 3.png
Combine sugar and cinnamon and place in a ziplock bag. When they come out of air fryer lightly toss them in sugar and cinnamon mixture. Serve with whipped cream or caramel sauce. I picked up some Marzetti's caramel sauce it was quite tasty. Alright, that's all I got this time around. Let me know how you enjoyed this snack. Bon Appetit. - @slowcookingchef
caramel.jpg
Kitchen Music: The Shins - Chutes Too Narrow

Sort:  

In my country this food name is fooska

I learned what an air fryer was. Now to get some apples.....

They are super easy to use and make things fried with way less calories.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-10T21:13:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 110.50/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.57 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh wow! I can just picture the smell of the cinnamon sugar on those delectable looking apple fries. Nice one @slowcookingchef.

Thank you! They really came out nice. Took me about 5 tries to get them right, and I'll definitely make them again.

Damn. I need to get my cavities filled so I can get some new ones eating this stuff.

I love this! They are like Apple pie "fingers"! I could eat the whole plate of them.

Thanks, @chefsteve! I'll tell you one thing they didnt last long.

Dude, bad ass!

Just can't believe 341 votes = $1.50

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11