I looked around Kang Keong city and took a taste Jeot Kal, the traditional food in Korea

in #food6 years ago (edited)

P1140173.JPG
(Jeot Kal Jeong Sik)

I went over Kang Keong city which was not far from my office.
Actually I had stopped there several times, but I couldn’t take the photos of that city.
Sometimes I didn’t take my camera, sometimes the battery was out.

So, I tried to prepare for camera with perfect. But I didn’t carry my battery charger.
The battery was out so quickly than I expected due to the cold weather.
I couldn’t take the photos of Kang Keong city, as I wanted to.

It means that I need to go to King Keong city once again to take the photos.
Strangely enough, I couldn’t take the photos of most impressive parts.

At first, I need to introduce on Kang Keong city. Kang Keong city has very long history.
Kang Keong was located on the southern area of Yellow Sea in Korean Peninsular. It has more than 2 thousands years of history.

This city is very famous for Jeot Kal which is the basic element for cooking. Jeot Kat is salted small fishes and parts of fishes.

One more thing is that Kang Keong is very famous for it’s religion.
The religion what made Kang Keong famous was the Protestantism.
In this posting. I’d like to write on Jeot Kal. Let me post relating to the Protestantism next time.

All of Jeot Kal is coming to Kang Keong and all Jeot Kal is distributed from Kang Keong.

In Korean food, Geot Kal is the essential ingredients of cooking. In making Kimchi, that could not be called Kimchi, in case of that Jeot Kal was not used.

Actually Jeot Kal was salted and fermented to preserve fishes for a long time.
The skill to salt and ferment is very important. Also it is said that the skill to making Jeot Kal is very difficult.

There are hundreds of kinds of Jeot Cal according to fishes.

If you are interested in Korean food, or try to find out something different tase, I strongly recommend to find out Jeot Kal.

Anyway when I arrived at Kang Keong, I’d like to eat something. I was so hungry. At that time I found one restaurant by the road.

P1140188.JPG

P1140187.JPG

So I entered into and ordered Jeot Kal Jeong Sik. Jeot Kal Jeong Sik is a menu that Jeot Kal was a main side dish.,

The man set the table for me.

P1140170.JPG

There are about 20 kinds of side dishes of Jeot Kal and vegetables.

P1140174.JPG

P1140175.JPG

P1140176.JPG

P1140186.JPG

There are lots of Jeot Kal, fish egg, intestines of fish, oysters, cuttlefish and etc.

P1140179.JPG

P1140180.JPG

P1140181.JPG

P1140182.JPG

P1140184.JPG

I tasted almost of all. It was special taste that I couldn't have another place

After lunch, I look around Jeot Kal shop near the restaurant.

P1140196.JPG

P1140190.JPG

There owner showed me of various kinds of Jeot Kal.

P1140189.JPG

P1140193.JPG

P1140195.JPG

P1140199.JPG

P1140200.JPG

At the corner of the store, there were lots of bails of salt.

P1140198.JPG

One more thing, the reason why Kang Keon is famous for Jeot Kal is the salt. In Korea, good salt was made along the western beach.

The salt in this area is said the one of the best in the world.

As a result, good salt made a nice Jeot Kal.

If it is possible, I’d like to look around how they made salt.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Wow amazing food

it looks so harmonious and unusual, beautiful) thanks for the photos

YUM!

Wow 😍😍 yummy

건강 때문에 짠음식은 피하고 있는데
사진속 젓갈들을 보니 먹고 싶은 생각이 드네요
오랫만에 뵙습니다. 평안 하세요

잘 지내시죠?

so yummy ...

Mmm the food looks so tasty! :)

yummy! thanks for sharing

From my foodie experience on korean dishes, my favorite would be Saeu-jeot or the small shrimp jeot from all the other variations. Add in that perfectly grilled fish, just the thought of it makes my mouth water. :'3

Thanks for making me hungry again @slowwalker. :D

I love trying new foods. It's nice to see all of these new things through your eyes.

It is my hobby

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13