Last Lunch before My Retirement : Korean Traditional Soy Sauced Blue Crab. Gan Jang Gae Jang

in #food6 years ago

It was my last lunch in my office. I had lunch with 2 of my fellow subordinates.
I invited them into my favorite restaurant.

In our ages, the best cuisine is usually a traditional one. Among them, the Gan Jang Gae Jang is considered as an one of the cuisine.

Up until several years ago, Gan Jang Gae Jang had been very expensive and not easy to taste.

There needed so many touches to make the Gan Jang Gae Jang.

The most important thing is a fresh blue crab.

For a long time ago, it was not easy to carry the crabs from a port into an inland, so to get fresh crabs for Gan Jang Gae Jang in my hometown was difficult.

The process to make Gan Jang Gae Jang is as below

1 washing the live crabs clearly

2 boiling the soy sauce

3 pour the soy sauce on the cleaned crabs several times

There are other many more expensive cuisine, but I chose the Gan Jang Gae Jang for a nostalgia of our ages in Korea. When we grew up, it was impossible to taste the Gan Jang Gae Jang.
Of course, it is not easy to have that anytime anyplace. But I’d like to share our ages feeling with my men.

There is a procedure in eating the Gan Jang Gae Jang.
The cover is the most important part in Gan Jang Gae Jang.

You need to put an spun of rice on the crab’ cover and mix the rice with yellow eggs and soy sauce.

It was a daddy’s privilege to take the crab’s cover. Moms at that time never had permitted their kids to take the crab’s cover.

At that time only one crab for a dinner was considered lavish.

Now this time, we had one crab each.

Side dish was also great.

oyster is my favorite food.
This red one below is the oyster sauced with redpaper. Whether you know it or not, redpaper is helping fermentation. So this oyster had some flavor of fermentation.

It was great.
But the greater thing was having a lunch with my favorite friends.

The perfect luncheon depends on not a food but a people.

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @slowwalker for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I agree with you. The cuisine of a people is one of its greatest cultural expressions. A wealth and We Italians know it well ...

I adore the Italian food

it would really a memorable moment in your life @slowwalker.

Is it true if you follow your recipe?
What does the last day in the office mean?
Are you unemployed like me?
Please be happy.

Yes I wll be a white hand

retirement

So exotic and tasty

This meal looks amazing! Congratulations on retirement!

The last photo reminds me of something out of the toilet. js 🤷🏾‍♂️

HAHAHA I didn't think of that until i read your reply.

The food looks awesomely delicious, wish you good luck for the life after retirement!

Very nice food, i would like to try this someday :D

Congrats on the retirement. Now you got so much time to eat and enjoy steeming ;)

Yes, thank you

Congratulations on your retirement! Those side dishes look delish! One of my favorite things about koreans restaurants is the fact that they provide a variety of side dishes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87