Perfect NY Style Oreo Cheesecake Recipe

in #food6 years ago

I have been working on this recipe for about 10 years now so each time I made it I used something slightly different to see how it would taste after it was all done and ready to eat.

I grew up in Upstate New York and my mother thought that everyone from New York should know how to make a good cheesecake so she got me started in my teens. I have taken her original recipe and modified it many times to make my own improvements.

Last night, my friend requested that I make her an Oreo cheesecake with thick crust for her anniversary this week so I figured I would share the yummy goodness with my Steemit friends :)


Before going in the oven, it comes out smooth after its baked

Prep Time: 30 minutes
Bake Time: 40 minutes
Cool: 2 hours
Chill: 4-8 hours
Makes: 12 slices

Recipe

2 cups finely crushed Oreo cookies
2 tablespoons white sugar
1/2 cup melted butter
3 (8 oz) packages of softened cream cheese
1 1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons all purpose flour
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup milk
3 eggs

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. To make the crust, line a springform pan with parchment paper and set on a cookie sheet with a lip to avoid any drips in the oven.
  3. In a food processor, crush up your Oreo
  4. Then combine the Oreo, the 2 tablespoons of sugar, and melted butter
  5. Press the crumb mixture into the bottom of the springform pan and up the sides
  6. Freeze the crust until the cheesecake filling is ready
  7. For the filling, in the food processor combine softened cream cheese, 1 1/2 cup sugar, flour, and vanilla
  8. Add milk and eggs to mixture
  9. Get crust out of freezer, pour filling into crust slowly to avoid air bubbles
  10. After filling is added, gently shake the pan to bring air bubbles to the surface to avoid cracking during baking
  11. Bake for 40-45 minutes for 8 inch pan, 35-40 minutes for 9 inch pan, etc.
  12. Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes
  13. Using a straight edged knife, loosen the crust all the way around from the sides of the springform pan.
  14. Cool for another 30 minutes
  15. Remove the sides of the pan and cool the cheesecake for another 1.5-2 hours to ensure cheesecake is fully cooled to avoid cracking
  16. Cover cheesecake in aluminum foil and freeze for 4-8 hours before serving
  17. If cracking is present after freezing, a light layer of whipped cream can be spread across the top to give a cleaner look or you can cut along the line of the crack and no one will know :)




If you have questions or would like to share some tips then please let me know in the comments!

Hey! Helpie is looking for new members! @helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST. Or contact ME at Discord at socent#3214.

Are you a military veteran that believes in community and in the Steemit platform? We have an awesome community of vets on Discord. If interested, send me a message on Discord at socent#3214.

Thanks for reading!

Ivy

Sort:  

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Thank you so much and best of luck on building out your community! This sounds like a great initiative for people wanting to add great food and recipes to the Steemit community! I love making this cheesecake every time and very much enjoy sharing food with others that can appreciate it!
Ivy

You make great recipe post and it will be an honour to have you join us and getting to know you.

Dear Lord...this looks so incredibly delicious! I may have to dust off my lame guy cooking skills and try this.

Please do! It's very good, its been compared to Cheesecake Factory many times. If you make it, please share pictures and your experience. For the crust, just make sure that you leave enough crumbs on the bottom so it isn't thin. If its thin then its hard to cut. And cut while its still frozen with a knife that was run under hot water. It gives a beautifully clean cut that looks very professional :)
Ivy

Ok. so a 10 year refined recipe is being brought front and center to the wifey's attention. She loves baking and cooking and i love the result:-)*...plus a freaking blender full of oreos?

![] ()
disclaimer never jumped out of a plane. but i would for a blender of oreos

Hahahahaha! Oreos are amazing! I think I would jump out of a plane for Oreos too. If your wife makes this cheesecake then please share your experience and pictures! If you have never made NY style cheesecake before it can be challenging to learn how to make the crust but don't give up! I honestly use my fingers to make the crust after washing my hands. And make the crust with enough crumb on the bottom so it is thick enough to cut while frozen. I use a hot knife to cut the cake while its still frozen because it gives a nice clean cut. Thanks for a great comment!
Ivy

Yes, we will be sure to make a post. It may take a few but we usually get around to making recipes we find on steemit. Will be sure to share the tips you gave with her.

Well feel free to tag me if you end up making it. And have fun!
Ivy

Oh, this looks heavenly!! I haven't made cheesecake in forever. Thank you for sharing! :)

Aww thanks! It really is a good recipe that makes a great cake. I make cheesecake often per friends requests for special occassions and church functions. I'm looking to make a strawberry one next but still need to get the ratio just right. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a nice comment :)
Ivy

I would make it more often but I need a bunch of people to feed it to so I don't eat it all. Maybe at the next church potluck. Strawberry sounds yummy! My favorite is lemon with a ginger snap crust...though I'm sure it's not New York style ;)

That sounds like a very interesting combination and very yummy! I don't think I've had a ginger snap crust. If you ever post the recipe feel free to tag me in it lol because I would totally try it and I am always looking for more recipes to try out. Potlucks are a great time to make cheesecake because you can sneak a piece for yourself and share the rest with friends.
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72