Hey guys, thyme to get started! An introduction

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit!

Nice to meat you! Ok, I'm done with puns, sorry!

A short introduction; my name is Sofia (not Sonia, as I am often called) and I am currently finishing my masters degree in northern France. My life path has been anything but straightforward. I have lived in several countries, and visited even more. I have worked all sorts of jobs, such as dishwasher, neurosurgery lab assistant, farm hand, and librarian, just to name a few! I love trying different things (clearly..), which makes it no surprise that I’m just as adventurous when it comes to food.

I make up for my small physical presence with a rather large personality, and even larger appetite. Everyone asks me how I eat so much and manage to stay so small, and honestly it’s because I’m constantly moving, but mostly my very very hardworking metabolism (thank you mom and dad!).

I will eat just about anything, anywhere, anyhow. In fact, a life goal of mine is to try as many ingredients as possible; and with that try many different dishes from all kinds of cuisines.

pic1.jpg
Here I am, last weekend, eating a "galette saucisse". This is a French street food very typical to Bretagne, which consists of a hot grilled sausage wrapped in a cold type of crepe made using buckwheat.

Friends know that I am far from being decisive and can never make a choice (which is why I’d rather just eat a bit of everything..), but if I had to pick my favorite pastime, without a doubt I would saying eating. For me, food isn’t just the assortment of ingredients or nutrients; it’s an experience. What you’re eating, where you’re eating, who you’re eating with, everything. Food can bring people together or tear them apart (my boyfriend @ewefirst getting sassy when I try to eat some of his guacamole), you can shape it into whatever you want it to be, and yet its never the exact same experience twice!

I do not discriminate when it comes to food: texture, appearance, amount.. as long as I can eat it, I’m happy. But it doesn't stop there- I do love eating, but I'm also extremely interesting in the historical, cultural, and economic aspects of food. I am hoping, with your help, to explore the vast world of food.

JPEG image 57.jpeg
In a market in Normandy explaining the uses of licorice root. Commonly used as a sweetener in candies and beverages, it is also used to treat several ailments such as stomach problems, sore throat and infections. You can buy a couple sticks and chew on them as needed.

In this blog, I will explore different types of foods, specific recipes, the history of certain foods, how and why we eat things, and more. If you are interested in a specific subject, I am open to suggestions! I can't wait to learn from you all, and hope you're able to learn a bit from me.

Virginia Woolf was right when she said;

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”

Dine well,
Sofia

Sort:  

Another foodie here! Welcome to Steemit Sofia! I'm sure that you will enjoy it! :) There are many food communities here that you could join and find some friends. There are also many discord groups focusing on food.. it's important to post and engage as much as possible and find new friends. The rewards will eventually come too :) But firstly, don't focus on them, focus on having fun and making friends :)

I wish you all the luck here and I'm looking forward to seeing you around! :)

Hey @delishtreats! Thanks for the insight, I'll have to check it all out. I'm enjoying exploring the site and would love to find some groups and friends!

Welcome to Steem, Sonia! It's great that we are still attracting new users to this platform, try to find a community with similar interests, and you will be able grow together. Feel free to ask if you have questions!

Looks great! Can't wait to see more of the things you cook up and learn more about food history. Upvoted and resteemed


Welcome to Steemit @sofianotsonia!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome sofianotsonia!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello, and welcome to Steemit, @sofianotsonia! But, please don't eat us. Steemians are friends, not food. :D

Thank you for sharing
I resteem it free to my +2200 followers and upvote for support your post.
@dumitriu
Visit #dumitriu and follow me!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi there, ha ha you are definitely in the right country to enjoy your food, I joined Steemit just under a month ago and loving it so far, still learning the ropes, but seem to be meeting some great people with a genuine free spirit attitude towards life. Hope you have fun here and welcome to Steemit !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24