Making Oregon Grape Jelly for the first timesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago (edited)

There are many Leatherleaf Mahonia plants growing in the region of where I live. I collected ripe fruit from them and steamed and crushed the berries through a screen and then boiling off the water. Special thanks to @goat-girlz for the tip on making jelly. And to @crimsonclad for the great show on the Minnow Support Projects discord doing a live stream keeping me entertained while I mashed and stirred for an hour.

I started off by soaking them in water and washed them with a strainer. Cleaning off any mildew or stuff on the surface.

By steaming the berries they got soft and burst open easily when crushing them against the metal screen.

By crushing the berries the juices flow down into the water that is making the steam.

Love the color of the water mixed with the Mahonia berries. It's a dark red color a little light while mixed with water.

You can see some of the red on the strainer as well.. the berries would burst and spray parts of the cooking space.. very annoying.

Boiling it down to jelly.. took about 30 minutes of stirring and cooking off the watee.

I poured the remaining liquid to cool in a small Mason jar. Did not get very much but I did only pick from two bushes so maybe I need more berries next time.

It passed the spoon test and the jelly stuck to the spoon. I tasted some as it was cooling and had a very nice flavour. A tart cranberry like taste to it. I added some maple syrup and honey for sweetness, a few tablespoons of each.

Over night it formed in to a jelly, and I sampled some. Had a little teaspoon of it and really enjoyed. I dont have anything to put it on at the moment and its such a small amount I'll probably just eat it over time.

This plant is alot like a holly, with its sharp leaves and evergreen appearence. Unlike most hollies the fruits are edible for humans, which makes this plant special.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@cityofstars yeah it does interestingly, a very dark red/purple color to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

really enjoy the process, seeing all as "how it's made!"

Found this from PYPT

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi bluefinstudios the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Loading...

@solominer great job making jelly. I have never made it by steaming, I put berries in the water, enough water to just cover them. when cooked till soft, I have an old cotton white pillowcase that I put the cooked fruit in, I tie it to a cabinet handle and let drain when it is cool enough I squeeze and twist it to get all the juice out, it is more work this way but it is the way my Dad taught me.

@myjob oh that's another way to do it for sure. I use cheesecloth when straining like that but I'm sure any sack, including a pillow case could work.

I think I may strain it with cheesecloth next time so thanks for reminding me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

@partiko nice, thanks much.. glad I delegated.

Posted using Partiko Android

You did it! Dang it, now I have to try it too! It will be a while before the berries are ripe in our area. Congratulations on your jelly. Did you add pectin or did it just set up on its own?

Posted using Partiko Android

@goat-girlz thanks alot for telling me about it. It was the perfect time to pick them. I did not add any pectin, just a tablespoon of maple syrup and a tablespoon of honey.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.518 which ranks you at #6117 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 20 places in the last three days (old rank 6137).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@steem-ua nice, suprise how quickly im moving up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @eonwarped.

@helpiecake oh sweet, as tasty as my jelly. Thanks alot @eonwarped

Posted using Partiko Android

That is impressive! Thanks for sharing on #pypt

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi simgirl the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 46000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 47000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

@steemitboard woo, moving forward toward 50k upvotes given.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30