Food Fair in Caribbean

in #food6 years ago (edited)

People celebrate food all over the world, in many different ways. Food festivals and fairs are my favorite activities. :)

These pictures were taken in St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands, during a food fair held around Christmas time.

I love these pictures, as they capture those awesome moments of joy and happiness around food, either natural products from local farmers or cooked meals.

Local farmers and cooks gather early in the morning to set up their tents and tables. It's hot here, they need shades!

foodf1.jpg

Beautiful and proud cook, she shows off her fried calamari and callaloo, a local dish, stewed greens similar to spinach.

foodf2.jpg

Salt fish dish, it looks like lasagna, very tasty! This lady prepared it, look at her posture, she is so happy with the results, don't you agree?

photo-2.jpg

This farmer is selling fruits and veggies and home-made hot sauce.

photo-3.jpg

Everything is negotiable, the seller here is bargaining. Cool picture!

photo-4.jpg

Sales-pitch, she is explaining how she makes the sauce! Awesome!

photo-6.jpg

Homemade pies, cookies and drinks!

photo-18.jpg

This is a mainly honey stand, I love local honey!

photo-21.jpg

This a lobster spot, but I arrived too late, lobster goooone ...

photo-29.jpg

The whole atmosphere is so festive! So much joy and happiness in the air!

photo-16.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my photos. Let's eat now!

2divider.png

Follow me and my stories starjewel.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34