Vegan Gooey Brownies - Alkaline, Healthy, Full of Protein & Delicious!!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Brownies on a cleanse? No way!

This is probably the most healthiest of brownie recipies you will find out there and they taste delicious.

brownies.jpg

I have lost count of how many times I have made these brownies. I can eat as many as I like and feel all smug as the goodies are all 100% healthy, full of protein and vegan!

I love to use local seasonal produce – it's so abundant here where Iive in Spain.

The one thing that I can't get enough of is figs. They grow all around this area and are ready for picking during the summer. The rest of the year you can buy huge bags of dried figs for a couple of euros.

figs.jpg

Figs are among the most alkaline foods and help balance the body’s pH. Because they are so rich in fibre, figs provide excellent nutrition to the intestines. They also contain high levels of potassium and help control blood pressure.

star line .jpg

So here's the recipe,

Ingredients:

150g dried figs (if figs aren't readily available you can use dates)
2 tbsp chia seeds
6 tbsp water
45g coconut oil, melted
85g tahini
50ml rice/nut milk
80g honey/maple/agave syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract (not essential if you don't have it)
a pinch of himalayan pink salt
½ tsp baking soda
40g coconut flour
50g cacao powder

Optional ingredients – smashed banana, chopped nuts

Put the figs into a bowl and cover with hot water, leaving to soak for 10 minutes. Do the same with the chia and leave to soak until gloopy.

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C/gas mark 3 and line a shallow baking tin with parchment paper.

Drain the figs, discarding the water, into a blender along with the melted coconut oil, tahini, milk, honey/syrup and vanilla extract and blend until fairly smooth – a bit of texture from the figs is fine.

Put the salt, baking powder, coconut flour and cacao powder into a bowl.

Pour the mixture from the blender into the bowl of dried ingredients and mix. Add the soaked chia seeds.. You should have a really think delicious gooey batter now.

Pour the mixture into the tin (it should sit about 2.5cm deep) and bake for 20-30 minutes (depending on you oven!)

Remove from oven, take out of tin and leave to cool, preferably on a wire rack.

star line .jpg

Then enjoy and try not to eat the whole lot!!!

I would love to hear how you got on with the recipe. Let me know what you think.

BIG love,

Star xx

Steemit logo.jpg

tribe logo.png

steemitmastermindgroupbanner.png

steemitmamas.png

Sort:  

wow nice cake. this looks pretty delicious and yummy.

Thanks! I can assure you they taste so good!

Creative recipe: so many excellent chefs here on Steemit!

Nom nom nom. Bookmarked!

Fab! Enjoy xx

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

These sound amazing! Ill have to see if I can locate fresh figs around here!

Thanks @corrielaine you can use dates if figs are hard to find xx

Figs are something I just don't think to buy--I'm not sure I can even get them around here. But this is the second delectable looking recipe I've found on Steemit that uses them, so I better start looking! These look yummy!!

How do you know when they are done? Do you test them with a toothpick?

You can use dates if you can't find figs. They add a beautiful heady sweetness.
I usually prick with a toothpick/ fork in the middle to see if the brownies are ready - if it comes out clean then they are done. Thanks for reminding me to put that on the recipe. Hope you enjoy xx

That's good to know that dates can be a substitute! Thank you! :)

I confirm. These are delicious!

a family favourite!

Here is a recipe you may like. Made these a couple of weeks ago, felt like the best cake I ever tasted! :) "No Bake Blueberry Coconut Bars" (I made a round cake, not bars, this was easier and quicker) http://rawfoodrecipes.com/recipes/no-bake-blueberry-coconut-bars/

This is the healthiest brownie recipe I have ever come across. I am sure it is guilt-free too! Thanks for sharing this with us, @startreat! :)

Never tasted vegan brownies before but I'm sure it tastes delicious.

Try it out! I'd love to hear how you get on x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88