Chitoi Pitha or Steamed Pancakes - Cooked on Earthen Pots.

in #food5 years ago

Hello Steemians....wondering how I got a food content title ?? 😉 Well indeed today I am gonna share some thing very interesting stuff. A famous dish of Bangladesh favoured and cooked in India's kitchen.

The recepie is termed as Chitoi Pitha which we can call Steamed Pancakes. Prepared , cooked and served from Indian kitchen

image

Dipped in Jaggery Syrup, I bet the item is not looking so delicious, but The process of making this dish is something that surely will excites you. But firstly lets just imagine how people would have steamed their food long long ago.?? Currently we have many electronic items available but what about earlier people?? .. The question is but obvious a subject of detailed study. Let's forget it a moment and proceed with the cooking procedure...

Chitoi Pitha is a Bangladesh dish but also favoured in eastern India too. Prepared with Rice flour, these items are almost every day meal in Rural India during winter. Easy to cook, this item does not require much flavours during cooking.

image

Properly mixed with water to make a thick paste. Something that esily spread. The most important thing, we are not going to add any Sugar or Salt to it. We just prepare the item first.

image

I am damn sure, you all must be wondering how this gonna taste. Just hold your breath, as keep it secret, better we focus on cooking it , as little bit of distraction may spoil the dish.
So after making the rice flour and water mixture, pour a little quantity on an hot earthen pots kept on the Stove (here it was a Worden chulha).

image

Another important update, I am picking up the recepie photographs, from middle of the cooking, so expect all those utensils and items bit messy.

After the item poured into the hot earthen pots, cover it with a lid , here we did it with another earthen plate. This is kind of Steaming* see how our culture make use of steam cooking in their old days.

image

After covering it for a while, and cooking it we took out the item, from the furnace and put it into Jaggery syrup we make sure it was properly baked. We can have it with jam, or salt and pure Ghee. Exactly, the taste material were added to it after baking it on the stove. So you do not need to worry about its taste in advance.

image

This is the way we prepare pancakes dish. Hope the @bdcommunity make note of it and help me correct, in case I missed out on steps😊 . Lastly this cooking method is applied in Rural India, so you may try your own way of cooking.

Most importantly , you will surely relish the taste 😉

Stay Calm....

Keep Steeming...Steem On !!!


Vote for Witness I have voted to,
@firepower , @enginewitty, @blocktrades , @gtg , @helpie, @abit, @c-squared , @jackmiller, @ura-soul, @blockbrothers, @utopian.io @bobinson, @jatinhota, @curie, @adsactly-witness, @therealwolf @patrice @reggaemuffin @c0ff33a @thekitchenfairy @drakos @roelandp @good-karma @yabapmatt @partiko @steemcommunity @qurator.


Namaste from @steemflow

STEEMFLOW.gif
image

PHC-Footer-05.gif


image

Sort:  

Goodmorning dear what a nie way to make pancakes, never saw this before.
The pancakes we have to but that syrup I dont know.
Have a great wednesday
Gr.
Britt

We'll that is melted jaggery...just to have better taste. Hope to see you trying this..👌

Posted using Partiko Android

I never heard of jaggery....

Do look for it...I feel it's better than sugar..a different sweetness

Posted using Partiko Android

I Will try it in the toko , I Will let you know

We have Indian cuisine here with puree and others which I don't know the name but this is my first time seeing this. Interesting and I actually wondered how it tastes like.

Super awesome blog and much effort put into this. Thank you for sharing. 😊

Hahaha..thanks @iamjadeline it is totally tasteless and its upto you how you want it. As said you can have it as per your liking on taste. And trust me this is not popular around India. I can say this is more popular among rural India....as we have lots of rice production.

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks delicious!! But I am very biased towards Indian food. Love it!! what am I saying. I love most food LOL

I take it..😉 Indians have so many different variety and menu to go for it...

Posted using Partiko Android

I have found that the best tasting foods are often not much to luck at, as more effort was put into the flavor than the presentation. Presentation definitely has its place of course, but there is no harm in making amazing food that just doesn't look it!

I prepare pancakes out of rice flour. Of course I don't steam them, but bake them :) It's interesting to see how it was steamed in the past. We should appreciate such processes a little more.

If you soak them in the syrup are they not too soggy? Just wonder as I don't like soggy textures :) I can imagine this with salt and eaten with some curry or lentils dal. Oh, I love dal.. will need to make it again :)

Thank you for sharing your recipe. It looks very tasty (if it's not too soggy though :) )

They never get soggy...it was like jamming on bread. Let me tell
..this is one of ours traditional dish in my native place. People enjoying them since long especially my dada who always ask to prepare ...we call them with a funny name and I am not going to share it 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Really an authentic dish !
Thanks for sharing so it doesn't loose its name and taste over the centuries

Thanks @ireenchew it's a traditional way of cooking. ..I have seen this dish since childhood but now got a chance to share...thanks to Steem blockchain

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @steemflow! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

The best surprise I can get is to have #steemitbloggers love on my post....thanks for showering love and overwhelmed to see everyone love.

Really thankful to each on of you...#powerhousecreatives rocks✋

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks so interesting @steemflow. What is Jaggery Syrup?

Thanks @fionasfavourites it is indeed and have some desi rural touch. We use melted jaggery to have it..and we call it jaggery syrup..

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Dear @steemflow,

This is the first time I have heard of a steamed pancake. i will definitely try your recipe.

kind regards

Anne

Thanks @nurseanne84 well I can say it is very popular among rural India where I live. And as harvesting is just over this dish is daily cooked

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01