Poutine 66 and the the Angels Chopper Bicycle Club

in #food6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Poutine 66 and the the Angels Chopper Bicycle Club


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I don't think i have ever had poutine. But i heard its good :)

Just like most other things, it can amazing, or it can be meh... The latter you're more likely to find, but the former you're more likely to post about!

A bike for snoop dogg, for charity, that's awesome. Looks like you found quite the poutine place as well :)

That's exactly what this is! The best poutine place in town! Thanks for stopping by. BTW, the Mexican poutine: de-LISH!

I've been eating a lot of hot pepper rings lately - getting all the winter out of me :)

I like regular poutine but get the decked out stuff sometimes. There are only two places in Buffalo I know of with legit poutine. I have been to Allen St. Poutine and it's great. There is also Hertel Avenue Poutine and Cream, which from what I hear is pretty similar.

There are a number of restaurants around here that have decided to list poutine on their menu, but what they serve is not poutine. Poutine at it's simplest must contain fries, cheese curds and gravy. Some will argue whether you can add stuff and if vegans want bean curds then that's fine because vegans expect stuff like that. But places here have been serving it with all kinds of cheese and calling it poutine. That's just cheese fries with gravy. Why not call it that? One place had chili on it. That's just chili fries. We are so close to Canada, it's embarrassing to get it wrong. It's such a simple recipe, how do they omit one of the key ingredients? It's like places that can't get Buffalo-style wings right (and they get it so wrong).

I know! I remember going to SO many places, hoping for some Buffalo nostalgia, but their wings just ain't right. Also, the celeries and carrots on the side, with hot sauce and bleu cheese (along with Labatt Bleu - horrible beer compared to the delicious brews I've been sampling these last weeks, but still, it's all part of the whole experience)... it has to fit.

Anyway, fries and cheese curds for poutine is a must. I think it's the gravy part that gets a bit ambiguous, and less defined. What kind of gravy are we talking about? Meat broth with veggies? Veggie broth with meat? If so, what kind of meat and what kind of veggies? Or some kind of synthetic shit? How about spices and seasonings? Interestingly, what this brings to mind is a Hungarian dish called potato with paprika.

WOW! Okay, this train of thought made me scroll back to the beginning of my blogging days, where I posted recipes for typical Hungarian dishes. (Yeah, they're awesome! Please check them out if you like, though I won't get a penny for further upvotes: https://steemit.com/food/@stortebeker/lecso-a-lovely-summer-dish-from-hungary and also https://steemit.com/food/@stortebeker/goulash-the-most-famous-hungarian-dish-that-doesn-t-actually-exist) I wanted to post a link to a Hungarian dish that is almost begging to be called "Poutine style Hongrois. But now I realized, I don't even HAVE a recipe for paprika-potato! So that'll be the next thing to look out for! Thanks for the inspiration!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98