Could you eat a thousand dollars?

in #food6 years ago

So a couple of conversations earlier this week got me thinking. @elsiekjay was talking about what if Steem were $1000, and that made me think of a series @the.foodini has where he shows how much food he can buy for 1 Steem.

And that got me wondering, how many places are there where you can reasonably spend $1000 on a meal for a single person? No alcohol, that makes it too easy - I'm pretty sure you can spend $1000 in any mid-sized city in Europe or North America if you include booze, and probably most other places. But food only is a harder question.

For my birthday this year we ate at what I'm pretty sure is the most expensive restaurant in Minnesota, Kaiseki Furukawa, which is a $125/head, three-hour tasting menu experience that you pay for when you make your reservation so they don't have to deal with prole things like taking your money. While I wouldn't want to do that every week, it was pretty fun to do for a birthday celebration.

But that's only one eighth of the way to our thousand-dollar goal. If I wanted to do that in the US I expect I would have to go to New York or Los Angeles. Chicago's most expensive restaurant is probably Alinea at $390/head for their kitchen table. So I'd have to head for some coast.

Even in New York it might not be easy: Masa is only $595, and generally regarded as the best and most expensive restaurant in the US. To actually spend $1000 on food there you have to move from the level of high-quality to the merely gimmicky: 24-karat gold chicken wings at the Ainsworth or a gold foil pizza at Industry Kitchen. Masa looks a lot more appealing, and comparatively cheap.

How about you? What's the most expensive meal you've ever had? Was it worth it? Could you spend $1000 in your part of the world? If you had as much money as you wanted, what would you choose to eat?

Sort:  

I know it is cheating, but if you take seriously the official exchange rate of the Venezuelan government, where they say that a dollar is equivalent to 248000 Bolivares (VEF), and taking into account that today I paid 25,900,000 VEF (~ $ 104) for a pizza for two people, in one of the cheapest places in my town, then I'm almost sure it's very easy to spend $ 1000 on a meal in one of the expensive restaurants in Caracas, and probably not enough!

Of course, the real exchange rate that all Venezuelans use, which is what establishes the black market, is thirty times higher, and pizza really only costs about 4 to $ 5 ....

I went to that one fancy skyscraper restaurant in Chicago. The name of it is escaping me right now...I think I paid about $170 for myself and another so not even close to the $1000! I’d say it might not have been worth it...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Spending that kind of money (1k) is a bit silly even for the US. They just start tossing on gold flakes, truffle oil, caviar, and a very small diamond perhaps later and you are there. If it was not for those silly things it would be much harder to reach that number. I don’t even think the booze is easy part in getting to that number. That seems more like a high end club kind of thing.

My most expensive might not have even been over $100 as I just don’t care for fancy things. It’s been a while but I’m sure it had to do with seafood. Something decent with a lot of options can really start to add up.

I’m more of a ~$10 hamburger kind of guy. I just want a decently cooked and flavored one. Along with some seasoned fries. I have grown rather bored of just salt on those.

That and I think its very hard for a restaurant to mess up a hamburger so it is just my go to meal. Which I have been proven wrong before in the past with food poisoning.

This may not count but I ran across an article similar to this one several years ago, and thought these people are nuts. https://firstwefeast.com/eat/worlds-most-expensive-fruits/
There are pineapples in there for $1200 each.... or the 1.4 million strawberries(has a diamond ring in them.)

I've eaten one of those - the oranges apparently, having made their way to California, are in general circulation now. I had one for approximately the price of an orange.

Yes, it was an old article. I was just trying to figure out how it could be done. I would say based on price and some of those extravagant items, one of the most likely places to find a $1000 meal would probably be in Japan.

I took my girlfriend at the time out to a local steak house which was inside of a historic victorian house, and was kinda the little city's biggest historical icon.
The meals were about 60 a piece, and were served in French portions, so a giant plate with a little dab of food in the middle.
I was wolfing down tiny baskets of bread just to not leave hungry.
The bottle of wine was also 60 bucks, and was barely big enough to half fill two glasses.
I'm pretty sure I had to eat a second dinner when I got home.

Even if there was a 1000$ meal I would not be able to enjoy it , just knowing that the same can achieved with 10$...

The moment I saw "how to consume 1000$" I immediately was thinking in terms of what the most expensive whiskey I could think of was. But I suppose that's cheating :)

Yeah the only one I am aware of is expensive sushi/sashimi, but it's more or less along the lines of what you were outlining. Can't say I would do it. That's enough to throw a nice big party and rent out the whole floor of a nice restaurant space though.

Yeah, I left that out because I know some people who are all too happy to spend thousands of dollars on whiskey. When poker players eat together they like to play a game called Credit Card Roulette, where everyone hands a card to the server who then mixes them up and hands them back one by one until the last one remaining gets the entire bill. The high-stakes guys like to compete to order the most expensive things available.

I don't think I'd be able to spend $1000 for a single person meal in Bangladesh. But if I have $1000 (85k BDT), I can live a healthy middle-class life for a month here.

While I'm willing to pay for quality, there is a limit depending on what I'm buying. The most expensive meal that I have ever had was at Chez Panisse and cost just over $200 for two, including a bottle of wine. That was 18 years ago, though, so adjusting for inflation that's around $290 in 2018. At the time I thought the experience was worth the money. I note that prices today have not actually risen that much at Chez Panisse, which is good since in the U.S. real wages today are about the same as they were 40 years ago.

I doubt that I could spend $1000 on a single meal in Houston. We have some excellent restaurants here, but even our best are known for being pretty reasonable. If I could spend that much, I would not. If I had that much money to waste on meal, I'd feel much better donating to a charity, or buying Steem for one of the many initiatives here.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

I don't think I spent a thousand dollars on eating in Houston for two weeks when I was there last winter.

I went to the Bahamas with my wife and son for 8 days and eating as cheap as we could it was close to $4,000 just for food

Steem - $1,000 ? That is something I can fantasized about. It would be great isn't it? And who is to say that won't happen in 5, 10 years time?
But to spend money on some fancy restaurant meals - nah. I eat to live. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71