Exchanging Filipino and Japanese Snacks with Kaoru <3

in #food5 years ago



Hello everyone!
As you may already know, I met up with one of my Japanese friends last week. It has been a while since I last saw her, so we really both had a great time.

When my friends from other countries visit me here in the Philippines, they usually bring something as a souvenir. I'm always delighted with it, and so I also try to prepare something for them in return. Sometimes, I invite them over our house if they have a lot of time and we prepare some Filipino dish for them. If not, we just meet somewhere and I give them some Filipino snacks.

When I was still a teacher in the English Academy, whenever one of my students or friends graduates, I usually prepare a letter and some native souvenir like key chain made of shells or purse made of coconut husk.

The last time Kaoru visited the Philippines three years ago, she gave me some Japanese snacks and we invited her for lunch and dinner at home. That time, she stayed longer in Cebu because she was with her mom. However, this time she doesn't have a lot of time so we just met outside. As usual, she gave me some Japanese snacks, and I prepared some Filipino snacks for her. Mama also treated us to dinner. <3





Very cute paper bag, isn't it? Let me show you what's inside. <3





Yay~!!! It's my first time having these Japanese snacks, so I was so excited. Papa and I love matcha-flavored snacks, so we were both very excited. hihihi~





This matcha-flavored cookie is so yummy. I really like the texture and it brings happiness in every bite. It's also topped with white chocolate, so the blended flavor of white chocolate and green tea was heaven-like! <3





黒いホームパイのみみ (Kuroi ho-mu pai no mimi) is crunchy. It's chocolate flavored, but it's not very sweet... and it's actually good. Recently, I don't go for super sweet things and would rather go for something dark. This snack has a bit of bitter aftertaste, so it suits my taste buds. <3





This one above is really to my liking. I am a sucker for anything cheese-flavored. This one is cheese tart *(sorry, I can't read and understand the kanji written on it, so I just read チーズタルト and then it made me excited. When I opened the pack, OMG! The heavenly scent of cheese welcomed me. It was so delish that you just can't stop yourself from munching on them





I love marshmallows and I love green tea-flavored snacks, so this is just perfect! It's soft and fluffy marshmallow coated with green tea powder. Ahh~ I just couldn't get enough of it. Papa and I really enjoyed this the best. My mama doesn't really like matcha-flavored stuff, so only papa and I can enjoy it. Mama did enjoy the cheese tart and the crunchy chocolate, though.





And ohh~ she also gave me a Kitty-chan purse. It's oozing with "kawaii-ness"! I think Hello Kitty or Kitty-chan really is an important Japanese icon. I really want to go to Sanrion Puroland someday!



And now, it's time for the souvenir/snacks I prepared for her.






Banana chips is really popular especially in Cebu. I remember a lot of students like it, especially this brand. Kaoru mentioned that she has tried eating it before when a Korean student gave her some when they were still in the academy and she enjoyed it. <3





This one is a peanut-flavored bite-sized biscuit. It's actually pretty delicious, too. It's her first time having this snack, so she's kind of interested in it. I don't know whether she like it or not, though... I haven't asked her. haha





I really saw the glow on her face when she saw this. I didn't know that this one is her favorite snack. Somehow, my instinct is good. haha Rosquillos from Titay's has been one of the most famous delicacies in Cebu. I personally love eating this as well, so I'm so glad that it's her fave.

I wanted to give her ampao or chicharon but I didn't have enough time to prepare them. I wanted to give her those that are from Carcar, Cebu because they have the best ampao and chicharon there, but we'll meet again someday. So, I'll try to prepare more next time.

It's really nice and enjoyable to exchange snacks with people from different countries. How about you? Do you have a favorite snack? Please tell me about it in the comments. Thank you so much for reading! じゃあね~!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87