Paella... The princess of the table!

in #food5 years ago

Another beautiful Friday has rolled in... Another week in which I can share some beautiful food with the world.

This week I have decided to not post a recipe but rather talk about an experience.

Some time ago I was lucky enough to be invited to a Spanish themed cooking class. Now, I've dedicated many years of my life studying Spanish language, literature, history, culture, I've been to Spain and love, love, love their food... and wine... so as you can image I could not pass that invitation. Also, I had never ever been to a cooking class before so thought that would be fun.

And so, we went to this cute little commercial kitchen, and were greeted with a lovely selection of wine to start. We were about 20 people and after a short introduction were split into 4 groups to prepare some tapas for starter, a paella, some salads for sides, and a desert. And I was so happy to be in the team to make the paella. It is such a beautiful traditional Spanish dish, and felt so special to make it for the first time and then share with with so many new friends.

What I enjoyed most about the cooking class was not only learning some new skills, but also making food together and enjoying it after. It's so amazing how food can bring people together and make any simple moment at the table special. How sharing a meal creates family traditions, solves feuds between friends, and spreads joy, satisfaction and happiness.

We had so much food that night, beautiful tapas with bread, chorizo and cheeses, sides of potatoes and salads, and then a beautiful paella in the middle of the table, golden, full of color and so delicious. We had plenty of wine too, all matched perfectly to the food which made the conversation flowing that much easier. We finished the night with chocolate churros and coffees, full bellies, smiles and pride of the food we had created.

I took one photo that night. It's funny how when we really enjoy ourselves we often don't even remember to capture the moments through our cameras. We rather just retain the vivid memories.

20141119_200227.jpg

If you ever have the opportunity to participate in a class like that, I strongly recommend doing it. And if you have, what was your experience, did you have fun?

Thanks for reading! Catch you next week :-)

Sort:  

Chocolate churros and coffee sounds like a perfect ending to any night. Love the cooking class- wish I could’ve joined you. Happy food fight @tianablogs :)

That paella looks so good. I love paella but I have never tried to make it at home. When I was in Barcelona, one of tours involved a cooking class where they made different versions of paella. I had forgotten about that tour until I read your post. Thanks for sharing your experience, @tianablogs.

Aw that's so cool! I wish my class was in Spain cooking in open air with a view to the beautiful Mediterranean! Maybe one day :-)
I'm so happy that my post has brought back a nice memory to you!
I do have a small paella pan for maybe 4-6 people so maybe will dig up a recipe soon and share it with you :-)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Great food and a great time... you can’t get much better than that!! Thanks for taking the Food Fight Fam back in time to one of your wonderful memories. Oh ya, and that plate...

Posted using Partiko iOS

@tianablogs
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 46
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
B5E5B35B-2DB2-40C2-BC1A-8750ECD4870D.gif
Good Luck

Congratulations @tianablogs! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I’m pretty sure I’ve never had Paella. Or, if I have, I either don’t remember or wasn’t aware of its traditional name. Great entry, chef, it’s great to see you stick around kitchen #fff.

Oh please give paella a chance if you see it on the menu somewhere! Nothing compares to its beautiful golden rice and deliciously cooked seafood. I'll dig up a recipe and make one soon to share with you guys :-)

Beautiful paella, love the combo of foods. Nice post !

Sounds like a great time. Sharing a meal with others is always a good time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13