Making breakfast with ingredients from the garden!

in #food5 years ago

When I think of fresh plump tomatoes, I think of my grandma’s garden and mother’s omelettes!

My grandmother has always had a huge garden. I have fond memories of playing in the yard with my cousins, watching the plants slowly sprout, flower and then produce. It was amazing! We had many family gatherings and she’d always gather vegetables, insisting that we take some home before we could leave.

Now, my mother would take the tomatoes and put them into her omelette dish. It was my favorite! She’d always serve it to me for breakfast with a hot bowl of rice. Ahh.. I love how fragrant freshly made Jasmin rice is. As I grew older, this dish became a quick easy meal that I could whip up- even if I was pressed for time.

I did a terrible job harvesting the tomatoes at first. The weather was a bit intense so they’d ripen overnight from the heat and fall off the vine from the rain storms. I kept a better eye on them after losing the first handful.

The excitement of cooking was in full swing as I diced up these firm yet juicy tomatoes.

After scrambling the eggs and tossing in the tomatoes, I felt like there was something missing. Usually I’d add green onions but I didn’t have any available so I ran back out to the garden and picked a small handful of chives!

Ingredients include:

  • Two eggs
  • One small tomato
  • Black pepper
  • Onion powder
  • Garlic powder
  • Fish sauce
  • Chives

I don’t measure my ingredients. It must be an Asian thing.

Heat a skillet over medium high heat, add a tablespoon of oil then fry!!! Look at those pretty colors!!


Voila!! My tomato chive fried omelette with a side of white rice!


What dish did you love growing up? Were you able to master it?

Thanks for stopping by!🦊

Sort:  

Must be very fulfilling to get the tomatoes fresh from garden and cook them!
that's the dream! <3

It is! I get excited every time I walk past the garden now because I never know what to expect! I can’t wait for the carrots!

Good for you gurl! <3
damn you make me jealous! my dream is to grow my own food!

Well I don't measure anything ever while cooking and I am extremely not Asian. But on the other hand, fish oil in your omelet - seems about as Asian as it gets I am guessing? Your food prep pictures turned out lovely, and now I am hungry.

Sweet! I’m not the only one! Our style of cooking is the best! 😌 Fish sauce in food is pretty darn Asian. Sometimes the aroma is a bit intense for certain individuals. Can’t blame you for getting hungry because I’m also hungry after looking at the images again. 😆


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations on the harvest!

Many thanks! I keep thinking about what else I want to plant in the garden next year!

That is a good harvest and above all very fresh, definitely a great meal.

I hope you had a good appetite ;) .

Thanks Yanes! It was so good! I’ll have to think of other dishes to make with the ingredients from the garden. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73