Yesterday’s food adventures

in #food5 years ago

Malaysian food was on our minds for dinner but first...a short tour around the city.

We heard news of a small pop up event happening at The Newberry Library. Lots of cute items. I did find an Alice in Wonderland book but I wasn’t up for carrying it around town with me.

We made a quick stop at Buffalo Exchange to hunt down quirky, cool, or vintage clothing but nothing really seemed to call to me. I wasn’t tempted by the selection on hand and that was a definite first! I made note of the thrift stores in the area because I’d have to return another day. The shops were closing and @lonniedi and I were starving.

We arrived at Serai which is located near the Wicker Park/Logan area. Lonnie has been raving about a wonderful chicken and potato curry served with crisp buttery Indian bread. My first taste brought me warmth and nostalgia. This was love in a bowl. Deliciously rich comfort food.

I ordered myself a seafood chow fun. Which is pan fried noodles and veggies in a brown gravy. Yum!

The bestie ordered herself Singapore noodles which are stir fried vermicelli and bean sprouts seasoned with curry. Also very very yummy!

Our mission after dinner was meeting up with my awesome friend Albert and grabbing ourselves some ice cream. Along the way, I saw this awesome mural with half of Robin Williams face painted on it.

We arrived at Margie’s candies. Apparently this shop was trending online because of their jumbo sized servings. Like THE WORLD’S LARGEST TERRAPIN… Fifteen Scoops of French Vanilla Ice Cream Topped with Kettle-Fresh Fudge and Caramel, Whipped Cram, Nuts, Bananas and a Cookie. We didn’t order that since you’d need a larger party to even put a dent in it!

@lonniedi and I decided on a fruit and wafer cookie vanilla sunday. The ice cream was homemade and delicious but the fruit fell short of our expectations. It was still good. I just made a mental note to get anything but fruit on my ice cream next time.

Yay!!! Friendship!! These two light up my life. ☺️❤️

I was able to snap this quick photo with this large cone before making a dash towards our Lyft.


What’s your comfort food?


Thanks for stopping by!🦊

Sort:  

What a lovely food adventures with friends!

By the way, If you have another restaurant review, I invite you to post a restaurant review through tasteem.io

#how-about-tasteem

You can follow the @tasteem account to learn more about Tasteem.

Feel free to join Tasteem Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/SZvH5bA

Regards,
[Tasteem Global Supporter]

Thank you! I’ll be sure to check it out. ^^

I don't know dude! I just find myself going back to see more of your pictures!!! :D

Is it because of all the food? 😁

hahaha well yeah maybe because the pictures are nice and have a story to tell :)

Awesome food with old friends = THE BEST THING EVER <3 <3 <3

You looked like you had such fun, foxi!!! :D :D :D

So much fun. It’s just great to catch up with long time friends. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17