Nestle claims its plant-based Awesome Burger is healthier than rivalssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago


Nestle claims its plant-based Awesome Burger
is healthier than rivals (endgadget)

  • Nestlé’s plant-based Awesome Burger reportedly has a higher fibre-content than the products of major plant-based protein competitors (Impossible & Beyond Meat) and more protein than a meat burger, while having no saturated fats and high iron/Vitamin C content.
  • The patty is made from a veggie mix that includes yellow peas and wheat, and should be available at cafeterias, grocery stores, and restaurants later this year.

Analysis & Comments

  • Foodtech companies like Beyond Meat and Impossible Foods have certainly been making headlines in recent months, and while they arguably have a head-start in the plant-based burger category, the article rightly states that Nestlé has one big advantage: scale.
  • The Awesome Burger is made by Sweet Earth, a California-based brand that Nestle acquired back in 2017, and like the products from Beyond and Impossible, it is made to taste and look like beef.
  • Beyond uses pea protein as well, while Impossible uses soy protein for its plant based burger.
  • Large packaged food producers such as Kraft-Heinz, Nestlé, and Danone are all stepping up investments into plant-based foodalternatives (i.e. jumping on the plant-based bandwagon…).
image.png


Published by Mr. Crypto Lemon

on



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://mentormarket.io/stocks/mr-crypto-lemon/nestle-claims-its-plant-based-awesome-burger-is-healthier-than-rivals/

Sort:  

I'm not in favor of processed food or veggie food that tries to think it is like meat. "Foodtech" as a genre of food, is something I avoid. Anything Nestle - I'm not buying at all due to their poor record around the world on many issues.

jumping on the plant-based bandwagon
Yes, you are right about this, and I will go my own way with food as clean and close to the source as I can get it.

I totally agree with you!

Haha! Not surprised :)

I don't expect anything less from Nestle, but I also don't expect anyone to see their own is the worst.

I have to say I’m no fan of nestle... and definitely couldn’t do vegan living. I just love meat to much. My hat is off to those who can though. I live in a rural area though so finding good quality free range meat products is relatively easy. It’s mostly farms for miles and we have a lot of local small meat and dairy providers. I think if I was going to aim for meat free then I’d go towards creating my own in house. I’ve known a few people to do this and apparently using things like aduki beans and soy works well. But trust nestle enough to buy from them.. nah. Cool topic to post on. Keep steeming. :)

Thank you for your very interesting comment. Making your own at home seems like a great idea but I wonder how many people have time for that.
Take care

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting link. I wouldn’t say they are always evil but there are some disturbing things they are doing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes that's why I try not to.buy nestle products

Posted using Partiko Android

Prospectively, having a "hamburger" patty that is actually tastes like actual hamburger, but is created from veggies is something that I would love to try out, but I don't know if I would go so far as to replace my meat I consume with that. I would have to buy some of these in bulk and have a few meals to make that decision down the line.

I am also a little skeptical about how this plant based protein bandwagon many corporations are jumping on is actually going to be here to stay. It doesn't seem so hard to just use your own vegetables and create "burgers" from your own garden, provided you take the time to grow some. So I'm not really sure about this...

That is Awesome!
So excited to read about this. Plant based foods are the future.
I am a big fan of this and will look for it when it gets to the supermarkets!

Why dont you make it yourself? You really think this is healthy?

It is impossible to stay healthy with a Vega lifestyle.
You have a lack of vitamins, iron to start with.
Any idea how hard it is to digest plants?
Do you know the difference between the digestion system of plant eaters and humans?

Vega food is never as healthy as meat. Protein out of plants is way more difficult to digest and only 16% can be taken out.
You will also have a high lack of essential vitamines like B12 plus wheat and soy do harm the intestines. By now more as 1 out of 4 people do have problems.
Fabricated food can never be healthy.

Soy is also very bad for the environment.

Just for background info, I am not vegan and I also think this is unhealthy except if you are a professional nutritionist. I can’t believe parents put their kids on this kind of diet...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really hope they won't, but know they do. None of the kids I know (or adults) are healthy by the way. 😟

💕☘

Posted using Partiko Android

@vlemon has set 0.500 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

^ Nestle is the devil lol! But it's nice to see plant based food going mainstream! Maybe it'll help with the FUD and misinformation about plant based lifestyles.

@vlemon, This is really awesome news and this Burger is really delicious in appearance and most important point is, it's plant based. Let's hope that this kind of healthy stuff will be adopted more.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85