#Ulog Ep. 8 - Satisfyingly Cheap

in #food6 years ago

Tired of the usual fast food menu? Kids wanted to try something new and we wandered around the streets of Baguio, Philippines. In search of a different taste we asked the locals where we could buy food at this time. We were pointed to the end of a street and there lined up were food carts offering all sorts of food.


Satisfyingly Cheap

1.JPG

7.1.png

The air was cool and the streets were still busy in this beautiful evening. We first looked around to see anything enticing and that would satisfy our craving. We saw the usual barbecues roasting on the coals, some dumpling with rice and the other usual food which we could find back home. The kids didn't want to eat anymore and said to just get something from a convenient store. Still I was unwilling to end up eating hotdogs and walked a little further. We reached the end of the street and this food cart caught my eye. The lady on the stall was offering me a piece of crispy pork belly called "Bagnet".

Bagnet

Pork belly that is deep fried twice with skin crisp to perfection and with meat that is tender. Some add seasoning of salt and onions during the boiling process. It is known that the authentic recipe does not contain any seasonings. Native from Ilocos, Philippines which is around 60 km from Baguio, it is the reason why it can be found here. Perfectly cooked bagnet can even last a week in room temperature. During the Spanish era this is one way they preserved the meat and the technique was passed down to generations.

As the lady offered me a piece I took it immediately. The moment the piece of bagnet touched my mouth. Biting down on the crunchy piece of meat and savoring the flavor. I was hooked by the lady and I ordered one meal. I could tell now why she was so confident offering every passerby to have a taste. The meat was chopped into bits and was turned into a different dish which is called sisig. Added with onions, chili and some other seasoning it was topped on the rice that I ordered. Apart from the bagnet sisig there were also other meat dishes to choose from. On top of the bagnet I added another meat variant, thin slices of beef called tapa which is another popular dish.

The meal cost 60 pesos which is $1.14 usd which is what I call a very satisfying cheap meal. The family had a taste from my order and later on asked for their own serving. It was what we were exactly looking for which is something different form the usual fast food meals. Something we would eat and enjoy again when we come back. Right now as I create this blog I am already craving for it just by looking at the photo.

2.JPG

After that hearty meal we wanted something hot as the weather here is colder. We noticed a lot of people ordering from this stall and checked what it was. It was Mami which is our local noodles.

Mami

Originating from China this noodles is made up of flour noodles and meat broth. This dish dates back from the 1920's when Chinese migrants started to introduce their wares, trades and cuisine. Adapting the Mami different versions came out from everywhere and Mami became a local favorite. Today it can be found in almost any street corner and made very affordable to everyone.

3.JPG

Every stall selling the Mami has a different taste and flavor. Egg is added and vegetables that makes it a quick cheap meal to fill your belly. For me I prefer a Mami with a rich tasting broth which is very important to me. Others boil beef bones mixed with chicken bone to give a very rich flavor. We have a lot of soup noodle dishes but in my opinion the Mami is the one that is the most accessible to everyone. Also before I forget we love adding toasted garlic, chopped scallions and a dash of fish sauce or soy sauce to adjust the flavor to one's taste. I prefer to add a dash of chili oil as I love it hot. Savoring that toasted chili in oil on my Mami is getting me hungry already.

4.JPG

The meal cost 15 pesos or 30 cents and the one with the egg cost 25 pesos or 50 cents. Plus as a bonus you can have unlimited soup. As much soup that you could consume.

5.JPG

I do apologize for the the very few photos than the usual. I got pre occupied with eating and enjoying the bagnet rice meal. The rice meal with the mami noodles the cost 85 pesos which is around $1.62 which is definitely a satisfyingly cheap meal. Hope you enjoyed my share for today bringing you out with me for some street eats.

I leave you with the question of, "What is the cheapest meal that satisfied you the most?"

I must leave you for now and have an amazing evening or morning Steemians!

6.JPG

7.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T12:07:27
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 639.68/800.00
Total Photos: 46
Total comments: 55
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Yaayz.... I better eat street food while eating and talking to the people I am with.. Its more fun than waiting on queue in a fast food chain.. or waiting the waiter to serve your food on your table in a fine dining restaurants and spending too much just for a dinner..

Sometimes cheap is better. Favorite ko ung inhaw na bulkalak na may managhang na sauce and fried rice.

This is fascinatimg to me. What wondetful street shots and insight into another country!

Thank you for taking interest I often love to share a window to our country.

I will try to an eye on upcoming peeks at the Philippines.

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Thank you for the support and a great initiative for food lovers all over.

Sounds tasty haha, but the amount of fats 😭

It is tasty and it's ok once in awhile but not every day lol. We only live once.

These used to be more of a clothes and other cheap stuff but now it is becoming a night food stalls. There was a time when they were banned by the city due to health reasons but they came back in droves lol! One neighbor I know who had a stall there said there is indeed big money there. Malinis na yun 1k+ every night.

Good thing they came back. Planning to have out meals there when we come back. Perfect way to save money but delicious. I could even day better than our office cafeteria hahhaha.

Ugh cafeteria food suck! haha! Most of the time although not always.

Our cafeterias are so bad and within a year it has been already replaced three times.

Sa pinagworkan ko nun more than three hehe. Sa una kasi okay sila tas habang tumatagal pumapangit kaya sa assessment bagsak.

Great pics @watersnake101! That pork belly looks and sounds delicious, and it's so cheap!. I've always had a soft spot for some good pork belly.

Here we are talking about food yet again! hahah Thanks for sharing as always!

Ahh you would love it. I am searching for the most authentic recipe and share it once mastered. You definitely have to try it. Sinfully delicious.

MM, love the sound of that! Sinfully delicious. If I ever have a chance I will! And I shall eagerly await a recipe from you

I have never had bagnet but it sounds delicious. Also I think it can stay for long because there is little or no moisture left. Right?

Like I told @supernovstaffy it's sinfully delicious hahha. It is one way of preserving it in the old days. Deep frying twice is the secret to get most moisture out but still it is tender in the inside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84