A family that picks together, sticks together.... Foraging for dessert!

in #food5 years ago

IMG_20190908_103404.jpg

Summer, here in Wales, is very quickly coming to an end. Now, I say summer, but what I actually mean is, it's still cold but with a little less rain.....

Given half the chance, I'd quit my job and spend my time walking the world and foraging off the land. But alas family and a commitment to the fiat based ponzy scheme prevent me. You see I’m at my happiest rambling through forests and fields.... OK, that's sound rather silly, but you get what I mean!

Over the years the approach to my woodland wandering may have changed, but two things have remained consistent. A love for the unexplored, offbeaten places, and my keen eye for edible plants.

The end of summer is a great time for nature and possibly my favourite time to gather the fruits she provides.

IMG_20190908_103251.jpg

This is 1/2pint and at every possible opportunity, I take him out with me foraging. Taking your child is a great way to spend time with them. Children are by design curious and want to put just about everything they find into their mouths. Foraging helps focus all that curious energy, whilst also teaching them the valuable skills of gathering food at the same time.

IMG_20190908_103255.jpg

If you plan on foraging together as a family, I highly recommend starting simple. There is a surprising variety of wild fruits and edible flowers located on most people's doorsteps, but identification is the key to a successful forage.

I would encourage everyone to start with familiar plants, I mean start with plants that are a part of your everyday life. Get to know your local area, this will not only help identify any potential foraging source, but will also help you locate the best places to go. You don't want to be stuck at a Bush that has had 3 or 4 people go over it first, you'll just be left with the rejected berries.

Once you know what you're picking and where you're picking, the most important part is to KEEP YOUR LOCATION A SECRET.... 😉

IMG_20190908_105622.jpg

This is Mrs @welshstacker, and although I'm usually the cook of the house, she makes a blackberry flan and tart to die for. So when it come to harvesting the fruits of our labour (pun intended), she's the go to chef.

IMG_20190908_105628.jpg

Her recipe is a close kept family secret, and even I'm not privy to it. Its passed down from mother to daughter, so me and 1/2pint have no chance. Let's just hope our next offspring is a girl, so the secret doesn't die with the wife..... Its just too good!!

She makes everything, from the tart base to the filling, but at least 1/2pint and me get to lick the bowls once she's finished. It looks to be a simple short crust base, but I can NOT confirm this. She assures me, it has a "twist" to it, but she'll never tell.

What ever goes in to it, it's just a simple 30 minute process, from start to tart, and I can't wait!!

IMG_20190908_120617.jpg

Sorry I didn't take any photos of me eating it, it was all gone far too fast. But I'll add that with a scoop of good quality vanilla ice cream, it is the thing of dreams.

If off out again this afternoon to pick some more blackberries, so she can make another.

comments.gif
download.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support

Blackberry is sensational; and they grow like crazy down here. So much so that most farmers kill them wherever they pop up. Once they're huge, they're very difficult to get rid of.

It's almost impossible to get rid of the stuff once it's got a hold. It's one of those ones where if you leave the smallest amount in the ground it's grows back in no time.

ooooo nice tart tart with some double thick cream on it. gonna be stunning ;)

You've got me hungry again... Might have to knock up some chantilli cream to go with the one Mrs W is making tomorrow.

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 62% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Congratulations @welshstacker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 900 posts. Your next target is to reach 950 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Berry tarts 👌

Posted using Partiko Android

It most definitely was👌..... Can't wait for the next one now.

Enjoy. Family fun is the best 🤗🥰👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my that looks delicious arent you lucky!

It was and yes I am.

That pie/tart looks delicious! We have a lot of blackberries around here but they are always growing in sketchy spots. Like the side of busy roads or in parks where you know someone without a home is using for their toilet. So.... store bought berries for me. I have a blackberry apple pie I like to make this time of year. ☺️

We're lucky, we have loads of open places, that are off the beaten track. I have a freezer full, that will last me a few tarts yet.

Hi! I have delegated some SP to @ssg-community.
What I have to do to have upvotes from it?

Are you a member of #steemsilvergold? You need to be a member of that community to get an upvote from @ssg-community

No, I'm not a member. Ok, I will undelegate it.

As a community we are always looking for new members. Do you have an interest in precious metals(gold, silver.... Etc)?

It may be worth checking out a few of the members and thier blogs. We use the tag #steemsilvergold, so if you do ever find yourself looking to buy/sell/invest in anything like this don't hesitate to get back in touch.

Great to see reminds me I need to go out on a hunt. Well there are loads around me so just need to get off my arse and grab some. Thanks for the reminder 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73