Reminiscing My First Job

in #food5 years ago (edited)



Going Back In Time


We used to meet up very often. In fact every day for two years. These people you see in my photo used to be my colleagues. We worked together and it was my first job right after I graduated from university. Every now and then, we would meet up, probably once a year to just catch up and it really took me back in time about how it was like working with them.

It was by far my favourite company that I've worked for because of them. Not all came tonight, but I was glad to hear that many of them have now moved on from the previous company to venture into their own businesses.

We've decided to meet up at a really unique restaurant. First of its kind. It's called Marta's Kitchen in KL Paella and Tapas. Marta is probably the Spanish lady who open this restaurant but it was my first time having Tapas for dinner. I didn't even know what Tapas was until my friend told me. Tapas basically means small Spanish savory dishes usually served with drinks (don't ask me what Paella is). So you can roughly know that we had a really chill night out, great conversations, yummy food and good company.


Anchovies & Olive


Potato in cheese and bolognese sauce

When I got there, my friends ordered several dishes already. A potato dish and anchovies in olive. I'm not sure was it because I was really hungry but the dishes were properly flavoured and REALLY delicious. I would definitely come back here again for a chillout and drinks. The waiters were friendly and we had several birthday cheers going around.


A risotto like dish


Mushrooms


Pork Kebab

Okay, by now you probably are wondering about the food captions... the thing is I can't remember what the dishes were all called because they were all in Spanish. What I did was I saw the description said 'pork' and I made the order. Haha, here are more mouth-watering food.


Omelette


Special Dish of the Day


How I Thought my First Job Would Suck


When I was about to graduate, my university will assign us to several internship placements to various companies who are looking to hire. I was really excited because I've heard that a few well-known animation companies were looking for interns at my university. When the day of assigning internship arrived, I was pooped out because all my friends managed to get an internship in the games and animation company whereas I was the only one who got assigned to an advertising company, where I met the people you see above.

My classmates were all 'pitying' me and were wondering why would the university assign me to a place that is not related to what I've studied, which was 3D Animation. I was obviously very sad and I prayed about it. I was saying that 'God if this is your will, let your will be done'. I went for the interview and they hired me immediately right after and I started work as their only 3D Generalist in an advertising agency. And while my friends are all hyped up about entering an animation and games company, I was deciding whether to find my own company for internship.

A Blessing in Disguise

I started working there and day after day, I started to fall in love with the people inside. My bosses and my colleagues. We all gel really well to a point that we would spend days and nights together talking and hanging out right after work. This was truly a blessing in disguise because my friends who have now gone into their first month of working with that 'well-known' company have to work overnight and was VERY stressful. It was really bad to a point most of them left the animation industry to look for another career path.

I was really blessed to have worked in this company because I was freely able to voice out my ideas. I was able to join every meeting to brainstorm ideas. I was able to let my creativity go free and I had the most fun working with them. I also learn a lot of people skills, observing my bosses talk to clients, manage my schedules and be really independent. I was the ONLY 3D guy in the company and I had to schedule all my tasks myself and made sure that it was delivered on time. This trained me to be disciplined and efficient. I was a problem-solver especially when a spontaneous mishap happened. And all these skills CANNOT be found where my classmates were having their internship. If you know the animation industry, you are just required to just sit in front of your PC and work.

At the end of my employment with them, I have learned so much more than any animation company could ever offer and it was such a blessing to have met these people in my life. Every now and then, we would still meet up like the photos above. Just good friends having a good conversation over a hearty meal.

Cheers to the weekend!~

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.steemblogs.club/2019/08/09/reminiscing-my-first-job/

Sort:  

Very nice post! The food looks INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS, very unlike any of the tapas I have had in the US.
I especially like that the job you were unhappy with before you started turned out to have been so good. I've found the disappointing and difficult events in my life usually turn out to contain the most valuable lessons.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71