Sunday Multivitamins | A Day with the Father #ulog

in #food6 years ago


The famous 'Wantan Mee' from where I live. This is the Chinese community's staple food much like the nasi lemak which Im pretty sure by now if you've been following my blog, you've seen it a few times in my posts.


Wantan mee also known as wonton noodles in Cantonese is a popular dish in Malaysia, and some other chinese-y part of the world like Hong Kong. It is served with wonton dumplings, which has a meaty filling and a hot broth gravy poured over the noodles. Topped with the famous char siew(Charred Pork) and some leafy toppings.


My dad is here for the weekend to visit his older brother who has been hospitalized several times. The usual routine before we attend church this morning was to bring him to this famous kopitiam AKA foodstall just right behind the church residence, to have his favourite breakfast, the wantan mee. Paired it with a hot black coffee, it is every Asian parent's hearty breakfast. Haha, another way to have a nice breakfast was to go for dim sum.

After that, we got to church quite early because I had to worship lead today and I had to be there an hour early to prepare my team. I'm always grateful that I can serve God weekly in my church and because it is a pretty small church setting, it felt more homey and family liked. I never did like a larger church setting with concert lights and all, not that it's bad but I just prefer smaller settings where you get to know the members more in-depth.

After church, we went straight to visit my uncle. Dad and I were still full from the wantan noodles so we decided to take a late lunch.



Usually, when dad comes down and because he is only going to be here for the weekend, we would schedule our lunch and dinner to eat his favourite childhood food. Which surprisingly is still available up till today. My dad was born in Kuala Lumpur and have moved to East Malaysia 40+ years ago to start a family with my mum. I was born in East Malaysia when they migrated but am now working in West Malaysia. So everytime he comes down back to his 'hometown', there would be a few designated places I would take him for food. Yes, among Malaysians, we still eat all day ev'ryday.

One of it is the roadside rojak and cendol in Sungei Besi where he was born and raised by a single mom, my late grandma. My late grandma raised 6 kids by herself and managed to give them all a future. She is a 'superwoman'. When she left for heaven, she gave everyone of her children properties and businesses to be passed down and to think that she sacrificed her entire life making sure that my dad and his brothers and sisters are able to have a better life than she ever had.


Just right down the row of shops where we sat under the hot sun to eat the roadside rojak and cendol, was a legacy passed down by her to one my uncle. This shop has been here since foreverrr and has since passed down to the 3rd generation now.


My family is very business and entrepreneur-minded that every member owns their own businesses and have usually impacted the Malaysian community in one way or another. I remember that the brothers, my dad and my uncles, started Kuala Lumpur's FIRST Pork Slice franchise and from then on, it spread like a wildfire. Later on when dad and mum moved to East Malaysia, he brought along this mindset and started his own chain of kopitiam and it was first of its kind in Kuching. We opened 5 branches throughout and people started to venture into this business as they saw that there was demand for 'foodstalls in a foodstall' concept.

We were blessed till this day as my dad ventures into the present business, a dishwashing business. He creates his own dishwashing liquid, bleach, floor wash and sells them to whole of Kuching.

Now if that isn't impressive, I don't know what is. And through all these, I learn a lot of 'wisdom' from him from his experiences dealing with people.



Coming back to dinnertime, I always reminiscence on his startup stories whenever he's around and to bring him to all his favourite food stops is just a little tinge of the enjoyable little things in life for him.

ps. I didn't take much photos as I was busy just enjoying the day out with him.

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

DQmSqueeD2Az1he74iEMgj9jEAFHoQCfwkp99qDWB1q2Vxy_1680x8400.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2018/10/07/sunday-multivitamins-a-day-with-the-father-ulog/

Sort:  

That's why you love food 😆

Haha, I love food anyday ev'ryday

Great! Your dish looks awesome! That remindes me to go out soon and have some good asian food. :-)

Ooo, right now I'm craving for some good Korean BBQ

The Wonton dish looks pretty awesome! but .... I see the noodles, I see the Charsui... but where are the Wontons?

Hahaha, I didn't take the photo of the wontons which I should but I was already too hungry

I thought the first dish looked a bit like bbq ribs as meat. I was sucked in after the first photo lol. I came from a rather small church also, it made me remember where I came from hearing you speak of your praise team. Fun times.

Ohhh... I would love me a slab of BBQ pork ribs right now.

That looks so delicious ;) and awesomeness that you had some time with your dad <333 much love!

It's super delicious! hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71