What's it like to finish your Internship?

in #food5 years ago



When your seat gets warmed up


I remember my own internship about 7 years ago and upon finishing my three months tenure with my first company, one of my colleague came up to me and said 'you know zord, internship is always when your seat gets warmed up and then you have to leave the company'. For my case, I was given a full-time employment by the company after I ended my internship. That wasn't always the case like the event that just took place yesterday in my company, where an intern still had to finish his last semester in university. Whether he'll get to join our company after he graduates, we'll never know?

So how was your internship like? Do you remember?

In Malaysia, I've observed many interns coming in and out of companies over the past 7 years that I've been working and it is obvious that if you are loved by your colleagues, they will throw you a party like this one. If not, well... everyone suddenly becomes busier as the day of your last day approaches. Sad I know, but sometimes people have attitudes and just don't click.

Yesterday, the intern was humble and loved by a lot of us so we've all gotten him a nice photobook with photos inside from our outings. Just to show that we'll remember him. We've decided to have our little farewell with everyone at Pizza Hut and God knows how long I've not been in Pizza hut anymore. If you would ask me to choose between dominoes and pizza hut, dominoes would be my obvious choice. Why? Well, look at this plate of sad chicken drumette and wings...


It looked like a dish I can cook myself, and coming from a bad cook like myself, you know it doesn't look very appetizing now does it. We ordered 6 large pizzas and 4 pepsi which brings me to the next question. Are you a coke or pepsi person? I'm a pepsi

Somehow I always prefer a pepsi taste. If you close your eyes and taste both of them, you'll find that they both have a different taste though they look the same. Black and fizzy.

Fun fact: Did you know that carbonated drinks originally are supposed to be green colour without their colourings?





The intern gave a short speech and I could see his face turning red all over almost at the verge of crying. Even more so after he opened up his present, the photobook. These little nice gestures are usually done by the ladies in the company as... men like myself, don't know how to do these sort of handicraft thingy. I'm bad at it but I always appreciate and admire those who do. Over the years, I myself have received little handmade items from friends who actually have taken the time to make something just for me. It just feels different from conventional gifts you can buy at the store. It speaks heart.



The pizza wasn't sooo bad but it wasn't enough. After lunch, we all head over to a family mart next door to grab more food. The thing about sharing, it's always better to have more than less, especially if you're sharing with people you have just met. For me being the example, since I just joined this company about a month ago and my table was packed with the new interns as well. Everyone was shy to grab more slices and when they see there's a last piece, they say they're full. Not sure if this sort of 'culture' applies outside of Asian communities but definitely it's a Chinese thing where you leave the last piece of food. So, always order more so everyone can be REALLY FULL.

After lunch, it was back to work. Things are looking up in the company, we're hiring 10+ more people and everyday I'm seeing new people coming in for interviews. I guess business is picking up which is a good thing.

Anyways, I hope everyone of you will have an awesome weekend, I need to get back to whatever I'm doing. :)





Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2019/03/16/whats-it-like-to-finish-your-internship/

Sort:  

I had an internship at a Public Owned Organisation and since the whole EU was going through a crisis, they weren't hiring. They were rotating interns. As soon as my time was over, they hired another intern to replace me. 😅

That’s a good celebration of learning with awesome food yet again. Always leaves me hungry.

I would probably be a coke person but I don’t bother drinking those beverages anymore. Water if I am thirsty, coffee in the morning and beeeeeer!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Trueeee, I don't eat much of these sweet things anymore. Have to cut down because it's so unhealthy.

Aww, the photobook gift is so sweet. I prefer Pepsi too. The chicken 🍗 does look a bit sad. 😆

Hahah it's really sad, I didn't even bothered eating it. :D Yay! Pepsi for the win

We didn't have internships when I was young, it's such a great idea though! I can't believe you gave this intern that lovely photo album, it sounds like it really touched him. As for the pizza, not having had dinner yet makes me definitely hungry :) I too would pass on the chicken, a little sad looking I would say! Love the pics @zord189, have a great weekend

Hehe thanks! Ohh, u guys didn't have industry placement then? Yea, Internships are like to prepare you for your work before you actually go out into the world.

Wah, too geng d, after intern and followed up with a full time offer! Ya lo, interns come and go. Then not every one can click, that’s really true. It’s like whether we can mix with the culture and choose the right one to be in. If not will be a disaster.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahah yea...but some ppl are just a pain in the ass, if you know wat I mean. :D

Haha got it. Have some experience too 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

You guys are so sweet! Love that you got your intern a photobook.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Heyyy, how've u been?? Is everything settled on ur side already?

Sorry the food was not too great, but it looks like everyone had a good time. Interesting fact about fizzy drinks - I didn't know that.

Haha yea it's kinda sad but it's okay. The company made up for it. :D I hope you're having an awesome weekend @lizziesworld.

Congratulations @zord189! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@zord189 that's great!! So happy for you wrt the workplace camaraderie & the company flourishing ((:

Really a blessing! (':

It is, Praise the Lord! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73