The Other Type of Salad

in #foodboasting6 years ago (edited)

Here in Malaysia, we have this thing called rojak. It is a type of fermented shrimp paste. Different states of Malaysia may have different combo of it. We have fruits rojak, those with fried prawn crackers, vegetables rojak so on and so forth.

image
Photo taken with Vivo V5s, my phone

What I was having is this rojak from my hometown, Sarawak. I bought it at a shop selling my hometown food, thinking it has been a while I had it. It has strips of squids, fried beancurd, cucumbers, lime zest, pineapples, turnips topped with crumbled peanuts and the rojak sauce. This only costs me RM8.80 (2.18USD, ~ 1 Steem).

I think it may sound like a salad to the Westerners because of the ingredients can be found in a salad, but probably with a different dressing like balsamic vinegar or even sesame sauce. I have been loving salads so much recently. As for this sauce, it has its specialty too, because I am a big fan of shrimp paste and the crushed peanuts gave it the extra crunch too!

I had it as my dinner and it is very refreshing besides it being delicious. I would love to have it again. It brings back my childhood memories of some of us loving to snack at a place selling this opposite my primary school. Back then we would top everything up with another bowl of ice-kacang (a bowl of ice with red beans and condensed milk).

This is my 2nd entry of the week for @karenmckersie's #foodboasting contest. You may find the link to the contest here: https://steemit.com/foodboasting/@karenmckersie/new-food-boasting-photo-contest-8-plus-last-weeks-winners

Thank you for reading!

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png

Sort:  

It's been a very long time since I last ate rojak...really miss it, especially the crunchy peanuts mixed with pineapples. Wew.

Drooling now REEEEEE.

Yummy!!! Love the crunchiness​

eso se ve muy muy bueno da hasta hambre saludos

Mmm! it looks really yummy and different! something I would definitely try! thanks for sharing in my #foodboasting photo contest good luck!😋😋😋😋

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34