EVELYN'S EGGS BENEDICT #fff

in #foodfightfriday5 years ago (edited)

While traveling this past February in Florida we decided to go out for brunch. So we spruced up a little, , brushed our teeth, threw on shorts, tees and of course, flip-flops. That's what I love about beach towns, it's ALWAYS casual. So off we go, we are starving!!!!!!

Now, just to clarify, we pulled into Key Largo late the day before. We had this beautiful condo with this awesome kitchen, but guess what? NO FOOD. Nothing to eat, nada, no food !! No OJ, no eggs, no bread, NO nothing. Not a cracker or banana to be found. Now we could have planned ahead, yup, we should have but somehow with all the excitement that comes along with vacation, we forgot food. We were able to get by the night before , we had had, a late lunch. We also consumed a LARGE dose of vitamin C. for dinner. So shopping was out of the question, if you catch my drift.

IMG_1594.JPG

Back to BRUNCH. We hop in the car, it's a gorgeous day, but the hunger pains are getting worse. BAM...! along comes EVELYN'S

IMG_1675.JPG

Now at this point, we just need FOOD. We check out the sign, then the place, ok I guess, a little shabby but foods gotta but OK. We are STARVING. I figure, cup o joe, eggs and toast, how bad can it be? Well let me tell you, DO NOT and I repeat, DO NOT judge a restaurant by it's sign or exterior. Opening the menu my eyes popped out. They had it all including my fav EVELYN'S EGGS BENEDICT. The best ever!

IMG_0674.JPG

HAPPY FRIDAY @fff,@puravidaville,@dandays, @janton, @goat-girlz,@jlslattz , @thebigsweed and ALL my #foodfightfriday FOODIE FRIENDS

Sort:  

@farm-mom,
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 38.
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

Im still a little tipsy looking at that blue moon lol. Yeah that does look good, YUM EEEEE!

I think we may have been a little tipsy when we pulled into EVELYN'S but breakfast was sooo good

Congratulations @farm-mom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

That was a fun little trip, @farm-mom, thank you. Yeah, I remember that vacation, I haven’t seen Sweed but a few times since. Happy Friday!

I know, @thebigsweed has been busy with helping family and making syrup, no worries he's still around

You can never judge a food by its sign- some of the most delicious dishes I’ve eaten have been in shabby hole in the wall joints. Plus when they are in beach towns you can literally roll right off the sand to be stuffing your face with the worlds freshest fish, best falafel, or perfect American style breakfast 😋. Yep, this post just made me hungry. Haha

so right, some of the best food and fun comes from shabby little places...you have to be brave

In California I’d always look for the taco truck that had the most Mexicans surrounding it and that tactic never failed me. I think the best tacos I’ve ever had in my life were from a little taco truck in downtown Oakland that was not in a good neighborhood. The salsa was incredible. 😋. I kind of do the same thing for Costa Rican food here. So far we haven’t been steered wrong :)

The liquid meal worked once, but food and more food was a must that following morning. Evelyn's was the best, good food and prices. It was so good I think we went there 3 times while in that area. As I'm typing this I can smell breakfast cooking on the stove.
One question, how come you only make the big breakfast when we have company. Sometimes I feel like a step-child. 😢😢😢

oh you poor boy !!

haha! howdy farm-mom! Oh that's fantastic and I love the sign too! lol. I love that kind of joint.

hello @janton Great sign right? Food was DE-LISH

yes Ma'am, the sign is perfect. The place has probable been in the famiy going on the third generation.

Hey, @farm-mom.

You know, I like it when you're pleasantly surprised with the menu and the food. Variety and tastiness. Some places, you just have to take on faith, or hunger. :)

I'm glad it worked out, too. Now you know you've got a go to place in the event you make the rounds and don't really like something else. Or, at least, until you're out of Key Largo. :)

Which may have already happened. I got a week behind on FoodFightFriday posts somehow, so now I'm trying to catch up, dang it.

Glad you enjoyed it. It looks awesome. One of these days, I need to try it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17