the Love We Make

in #foodphotography5 years ago (edited)

... And In The End!


IMG_1339.JPG

A Simple Pasta Sauce Recipe.

Before I get in too deep into this recipe I will tell you that I have a secret step, the makes my sauce perfect, and it is one a STRONGLY recommend against doing. Simply put, it goes against every safe food handling step ever... BAD BAD IDEA.

Gather Ingredients:
3 cloves of garlic.
Oregano
Basil
half of Red Onion
Shred some carrot
Olive Oil
about pound or so, of ground Beef, Turkey, or Pork.
Red Wine, hearty, and decent, not some garbage. if it's not good enough to drink by itself, it's not good enough for your cooking.
8 ounces of Tomato Sauce
4 ounces of Tomato Paste


Take the garlic cloves, lie flat, and with the flat of your knife on top of them, pound them once, with your heel of your hand. This first step makes taking the skins off, easily.


IMG_1330.JPG

Garlic Cloves



IMG_1331.JPG


Finely chop garlic, and dice up the red onion. give them both a good fine chop.

Heat up a few teaspoons of olive oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and onion. Keep string every once and a while. Simmer and begin the next step, but remember: DONT Let ONION and GARLIC burn! Just a nice toasty brown color.





IMG_1334.JPG

Add the meat to your garlic, and onion in the pan, and brown.

I use either ground turkey, beef, or pork. Lately, mostly ground Turkey as it's a little bit better for me. Again, stir occasionally, and use the back of a wooden spoon to break up the meat, and let it brown. When I add the meat, I also add the oregano, and basil. For me, I tend to use the stuff I picked last fall, that I have been drying over winter. For some reason in sauces, I like using my dried herbs. While the beef is browning, time for....

IMG_1332.JPG

Shred some carrot. Give it a nice shred... you want both the sweetness and texture. So nothing too fine.







IMG_1335.JPG
Sauce, simmering and simmering!

Stir in the Carrot.
Finally, pour in Tomato Sauce, Tomato Paste, and Add a Cup of a hearty Red Wine.
I usually start my sauces about lunch time and let them simmer all day. in fact, there are times when I amke the sauce the day before and let it simmer off and on, all day.

DO NOT DO THIS NEXT STEP... IT'S BAD and WRONG...!


Any of you who follow me, or hear me Thursday's in The Ramble, on #PYPT @PYPT will know I always talk about food. and often I say, Food Is Love. I mean that, quite literally some days.


I think back, and my pasta red gravy is one of the oldest, and probably first foods I ever really learned to cook on my own. I remember being 8 or 9 and being in the kitchen seeing my grandmother doing some basic sort of this recipe. Along the way, depending on what was left over, it got ground up and added to the sauce... or chopped or, simply tossed in. Any veggie, or leftover meat, chopped and added. mom cooked the same way...

DO NOT DO THIS NEXT STEP... I MEAN IT, IT'S BAD and WRONG...!


After we were done with dinner and the gravy/sauce cooled, it would go into the freezer, to be reused. And the next time we made sauce, we started with whatever was leftover and frozen. Some part of each batch was literally leftover and frozen from last time.



This is bad,. Safe food handling, one doesn't constantly freeze, reheat, freeze, reheat, over and over, for literally decades.
I like to think somewhere in the sauce I made tonight, is bits and pieces my mother, and her mom, my Yia Yia before me, cooked. It's wrong and bad, and I know it. I thought it and said loudly, as I put the sauce into a container and slipped it inside the freezer...... said much the same when, at lunch today, I brought out a frozen container of sauce, from last time. Some part of this sauce tonight, was part of a sauce my grandmother made, 30 plus years ago... and 10 plus years ago my mom made sauce, and a few years ago, with both my daughters at my side, cooking, and the first week I was married, and tonight.

Food Is Love!





And in the end
The Love We Take
Is Equal to the Love, We Make


John and Paul




Always, I strive to give back
To the animals and birds around me
to put more plants in than I take out
And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.




thealliance_468x60.jpg

MonkeeSupporter.png

Small Welcome Wagon.png


!steemitworldmap 42.385178 lat -71.106707 long the Sauce Starts Here, Yia Yia! d3scr

Sort:  

Hello @bluefinstudios, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Pimping food on #pypt. Love it! I've only recently started cooking with onions. I'll do my best to not let them burn!

the key is, medium or low-medium heat. Lot's of butter or oil, and keep stirring onions

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Nothing wrong with leftovers, I knew gypsies would do that all the time.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.
This could become a thing... invite friends to dinner and when they ask what's on the menu, say: "Thirty-year-old spaghetti." 😂 But seriously, the sentiment you shared in this post and on PYPT, behind what you do, is wonderful, no doubt, and belies your love for family and the "old ways" of doing things. I think it is beautiful. 💖

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

thanks for sharing at #pypt, your food is always delicious. But I thought this food is kind of fancy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bluefinstudios
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-love-we-make


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Don't EVER burn the onions or the garlic.

How long do you let yours simmer for? My grandmother always taught me to let it simmer slowly for hours.

low and slow, butter, or olive oil and let them go until the onion goes translucent. Usually, it's WAY more the the 5 minutes it says on some recipes.

Often, it's 15, 20 minutes. Onions take longer to sweat out, then garlic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87