My Crab Cake Recipe - a work in progress

in #foodphotography6 years ago

IMG_5356.JPG

Sometimes when I fancy myself to be a good cook, or don't want to be mistaken for a bad one, I take it upon myself to create a good recipe. So back in July 12, 2016, I wanted one for crab cakes. I knew little about them other than having eaten them a few times.

Without a family crab cake recipe, I went straight for google. I thought it was important before making crab cakes, to know what makes a good crab cake. After that, I chose a recipe and then refined it each time I made them according to my tasting notes. (You might have gathered from the date above that I keep notes.) I found this excellent article:

How to cook perfect crab cakes.

It wasn't just a recipe; it was an analysis of crab cakes recipes. Just my kind of thing since I want to understand why you do things a certain way. In reviewing various crab cakes, it assessed each component for its effect. That let me choose ingredients based on what I thought the crab cakes should be like, since by then I understood there wasn't only one ideal.

The first time I made them I did start with their recipe. Now that I have made them 5 times and changed the recipe according to my notes, they bear little resemblance to the original.

Use any crab, preferrably in lump form.

The mixture can be quite wet and loose especially if the crab isn't lumpy. For this reason, the first time I made them, I decided to drop them into cornmeal. Not only did it make the mixture easier to handle but it made for a slightly crunchie surface which I liked. For my most recent batch, I put the mixture in the refrigerator overnight, making it stiffer which also helped with handling. Right before cooking, I shaped the cakes and coated them with cornmeal.

My Crab Cakes

IMG_5348.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of crab meat (roughly 240 grams)
  • 4 tablespoons whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay spice
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 3/4 teaspoon mustard powder
  • black pepper
  • pinch of smoked paprika
  • cornmeal to coat
  • vegetable oil
  1. Mix the crab meat with the flour and dry ingredients.
  2. Add the beaten egg.
  3. Refrigerating the mixture for an hour is recommended but not necessary.
  4. Heat 1/4" of vegetable oil in the frying pan.
  5. They're done when both sides are browned.

Makes 4-7 cakes depending on the size you like

Options:

1 green onion - I prefer it to parsley

When I'm making something special, I like to mix a little butter in with my cooking oil, but use whatever you wish as long the oil is about 1/4" deep so the cakes brown well.

crab cakes.JPG

I recommend a mango salsa on the side. In the first photo, I used some of the raspberry vinegarette that I put on the salad.

Enjoy!

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-11T23:18:48
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 145.00/200.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.33 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

No way, this looks so yummy!!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87