Do You Know What Fruit This Is?!?

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

6376adf8-45c4-4d2d-bde2-29ce07b03005.jpeg


Hints: It's sweet. It's also kinda sour. It's kinda like a way less intense version of a warhead. It's surprising on the inside.

It's low on the glycemic index...which means it's not really likely to spike your blood sugar, which is great because I can't freaking stop eating it.

You can open it without a knife, but it makes your fingers looks like you've committed a bloody murder.

So maybe don't dig into it near a police station, haha.

Ok go.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I didn't know what it was, but I do now :) Thank you so much @nomadicsoul.

we know ha ha! the same name as a coming typhoon in hong kong:)

Posted using Partiko Android

omg, be safe!!! I didn't know about the coming typhoon. Interesting typhoon name, though haha

Yes, very interesting, you post at the right time. Super typhoon Mangkhut, named after the Thai word for the mangosteen fruit.

Posted using Partiko Android

If u come to cali, got lot of those here, some would grow in their backyard and sell it on the street.

What? No way!!! That's so cool. I didn't know that! Kind of really excited about that lol

It's fruit from the devil haha jk

lol it is!! There's still mangosteen blood under my fingernails

I believe you :)

Mango.. bamn! hahaha no I can't ruin the party!

hahahahaha I almost said "For Europeans and Americans only" or "No SE Asians" but then it just sounded racist haha. But only because you guys have these fruits here, so you would know. I don't think I ever saw one in the states before.

Lol

I've had mangosteen juice in the US, but I've never seen a fresh one.

oooh look at the inside @tcpolymath! It's a surprise inside! lol

Snapseed (2).jpg

Thai queen of fruit. I loveeeee!

haha oh also, actually as I was posting it I thought "I hope @waybeyondpadthai doesn't see this post because I bet she knows" LOL

One of @suitcasemama and I's favorites!!!

same!!! Let's all eat way too many of them at once together. That's an awkward sentence

Mangosteen. I only know the answer because I lived in Indonesia. It was one of my favorites. But the outer peel was so bitter. Now that I am back in the States I don't get to enjoy it.

I've never tried to eat the peel!! So cool! Where in Indonesia did you live? I guess Sumatra? lol

You are correct. I lived on the island of Sumatra. I never tried to eat the peel. I was just in charge of taking off the peel since my kiddos loved the fruit so much. When I licked my fingers (how rude) after prepping several mangosteens​ I noticed the bitter taste. An Indonesian friend of mine said that they peels could be boiled and used as a medicinal tea.

Havent seen this type of fruit...

Posted using Partiko Android

I've only seen it in some SE Asian countries so far!

It is the cousin of Diospyros kaki, aka persimmon. Native to China, and the rest of EAsia. Even if this fruit has a different name, for me it is the one mentioned above.
All people around the globe are the same.
Here the comparison is valid as well:)
How it is called in Europe, Asia or Africa or S.America does not matter. The fruit is just one!:)

Posted using Partiko Android

wow lol you're really knowledgeable about your fruit!

hmmmm I think I know this one :D

hehehe all of the SE Asian people know I think! Where are the American steemians? Do I even know any?! lol I do, but I think they were all too scared to guess! Or they had zero clue haha

I heard you can even make the juice with the whole fruit, so you don't have to peel them. Actually my dad consumed its extract daily for about a year and he was healed from his chronic illness ( diabetes, kidney failure and gastric problems). So I am rather certain it has amazing benefits.

It's mangosteen, usually we will have this after eating durian, it's supposed to 'cool' you down from the 'heat' of eating durian...

Oh now that's interesting! I've been learning about the concept of "cold" and "warm" foods but I'm only grasping the concept about 75%

Yes, that's a lot to learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70