Pamcooks Magical Mad Hatters Tea Pakoras!♥️🥔👌🥦♥️

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

image

Hey my fellow steemers,

HOLIDAY!! Celebrate!!! In the words of Modonna.lol Yes I was ecstatic last week as I had the week off with the kids. No school run yaaaay! So with my mad hatter kids I had packed my things and visited my Dad & Mum for the week. I gave hubby a little break too.lol. The kids loved it, as they have free reign everywhere in grandmas. So today, this recipes was created direct from pamcooks parents kitchen!!!

So folks coming from an indian background there is no greater welcome then that of a punjabi household. From a very young age any guests who came, would be welcomed with an ambundance of food. We just cant help it. It runs through our genetic makeup. My mum does the best little starters you have ever tasted. The problem with me, is her starters become a main, as I cant stop eating and just get full before the main meal arrives.lol

Today I will be showing one of the most easiest but ohhh so very tasty starter dishes. I normally make these at tea time. These are delicious snacks called Pakoras. Pakoras are fried potatoes & vegetable fritters made from a batter of chickpea flour.It originates from the indian subcontinent, however many other countries do have similar variations.

I normally find inspiration for my posts, from my fellow steemians.So todays recipe is in hommage to @gweedy. I can honestly say my highlight on steemit was when @gweedy had made my rebellious rosti recipe and sent me the pics.I can't describe my sheer delight and awesome feeling to have my mad invention created by another. In that moment there I realised I had to carry on my steemit journey no matter how little upvotes I made. Teaching others something new about my homely food just made me feel sooo good.

I had to choose a recipe @gweedy would make, as he is vegan, so I thought I would post my pakoras. I know he is on a health kick and these are fried, but we all can treat ourselves once in a while . Cant we? We are still having our 5 a day with this recipe, so that is an added bonus.lol. Here is how to make my scrummy fried veggie morsals.

Hope you enjoy!


Ingredients


1 Large Potatoe
1 Large Red Onion
1/4 Broccoli
1 Spring Onion
2 Tomatoe
6 TBSP Chickpea Flour ( Gram flour)
2 TBSP Fresh Coriander
1 TSP Turmeric
1 TSP Smoked Paprika
1 TSP Garam Masala
1 TSP Hot Chilli Powder
1 TSP Ajwain
1 TBSP Salt
1 TSP Pepper
4 TBSP Water
2TBSP Vegetable Oil for Pakora batter
500ml Vegetable Oil for Frying


Method


Step 1.
Peel and thinly slice the red onion placing them in the bowl.
image

Step 2.
Peel and thinly cut the potatoe in crescent moon shapes.Ensure you peel them thin, as they will fry quicker.
image

Step 3.
Cut some broccolli storks into small pieces and place in the bowl.
image

Step 4.
Deseed the tomatoe and cut in small bitesize pieces and add to the bowl.
image

Step 5.
Place the chickpea flour over the veggies.
image

Step 6.
Add Ajwain (carom seeds).
image

Step 7.
Now add salt, tumeric, smoked paprika, hot chilli powder and garam masala.
image

Step 8.
Now roughly chop spring onions, coriander and green chillies, add to mixture.
image

Step 9.
Add vegetable oil and water.
image

Step 10.
Mix all the ingredients thoroughly.At this stage the chickpea flour needs to become a thin paste, coating all the vegetables.If its too thick, add a bit more water, as you do not want the pakoras to be stodgy.If it is too thin the batter will not stay on the veggies.(This needs to be done according to eye and touch.Using your hands will ensure you create the right consistency.
image

Step 11.
Place vegetable oil in the pan and put on a high heat.
image

Step 12.
Once the oil is hot ( place a small piece of pakora batter to test it).If it sizzles then your ready to place your pakoras in. Do not over crowd. Roughly create, an ice cream scoop amount, using your hands and place mixture in the vegetable oil.Lower rhe heat slightly.
image

Step 13.
Leave for few minutes occasionally turning until the pakoras turn from pale to brown.
image

Step 14.
Once golden brown they should be cooked.This process should roughly take about 6 - 8 minutes depending on individuals pans.
image

Step 15.
Take the pakoras out and drain all the excess oil.
image

There you have my very gorgeous mad hatter tea pakoras ready for any guest or just to treat yourselves.These are soo yummy.I have served mine in my mad hatter teacup.you can accompany it with any sauces you wish to serve.What is great about this recipe is if you have any sad looking veggies in the fridge, rather then throwing them out, use them in the batter.Cauliflower, cabbage, spinich, sweet potatoe even leeks the combinations are endless but the taste is always amazing!

P.s I call these pakoras magical, as they honestly miraculously dissapear in a blink of an eye.lol


My Foodie Pics


image

image

image

image

All my photos and content used in this post are my original work. My photos were taken on my Samsung S8 camera phone.👍🏼📸


I hope you like my very addictive magical mad hatters tea pakoras. I decided to stick to the original recipe from my childhood but what would you put in yours? Such a quick snack and any veggies can be added. Vegan friendly too.What more could you ask for? Other then a chutney, but I will post a recipe soon for that. Thanks for stopping by with @pamcooks. Let me know your food for Though!❤🥔👌🥦❤

Sort:  

Looks like a real treat @pamcooks

Aww thanks @michelnilles. They really are and so simple to make. I hope you try these out.👍👌

Thanks Pam!

It never occurred to me that I might be inspirational.

I was just in it for the FOOD!

Lately I've been infrequent logging on to steemit. But to my detriment. I'm wondering what great recipes I've been missing out on after looking at you're latest nosh here. Looks like another winner.

I will try it this weekend.

Thanks again,
gw

Have to agree I am sooo in it for the food too!
Honestly i was soooo happy to see your photos. I couldnt even leave anything as my vote was worth nil.( it still is) lol. I have been meaning to dedicate a recipe for you.So here it is.I never forget.

Oh please do make this over the weekend and send me the pics.👍👌♥️

Maybe our votes are worth nil but, WE HAVE THE FOODS.
I will try this weekend.
Keep cookin!

Pam - just made this. It is very tasty! unfortunately I had troubles making it bind together so I did not take any pics. The flavor is excellent. I will make again & do some modification to try & make it stick together. I would also use my deep fryer instead of pan. I think part of the problem is I tried to grind my own Chickpea flour so it may have been a bit course. Flavor was worth the effort. thanks again - Keep them coming.

Piece of art, nothing else to say...))

Awww bless you janna. Thank you so much.I hope you try and make these yourself. They are really very moreish.👌👍

Congratulations @pamcooks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Congratulations @pamcooks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-05T22:56:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 64.20/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hello @pamcooks, are you ok? I was starting to think that you had gone missing haha.
Looks amazing by the way. definitely magical :D

Lol.Aww bless ya.Yep i am still here.Just been half term and very busy at my mums.Some weeks i just dont get a chance to get on steemit very much.I honestly vanish like my pakoras.lol

Bless ya, half term was crazy here too, We had a different girl sleep over every night as my daughter kept asking, We said yes and it was 8 nights of late ones.
Glad your back on. I was only thinking about you the other day, I was showing @wrongjohn that post you did for me. he said it looked yummy, i still havent gotten around to making it yet. but hopefully I will do at some point. #yummyfood :D

Lol i need to add @wrongjohn he is your wingman.lol. I got another chicken, rice, potatoe invention for another steemian i have to create.My mind is on overdrive.Got to do something different it be difficult to top yours.

Gosh i struggle dealing with my tribe let alone additional ones.lol.Aww bet your kids were so excited with their slumber parties.Bet they were shattered this week though.My babas had all my nieces and nephews at my mums.So was crazy but they had so much fun.

Weather is just horrible.Love when its hot but not when it wants to rain and there is so much humidity in the air.Roll on proper summer!

Weather has been brilliant here, The only day I saw rain was on my Bday and it bounced it down for a whole hour then the sun came back out, the wife was just saying she has never none it to be this warm this time of the year. lol
Thats a lot of people to be around at your mums, at least she had help if you were there.
cant wait to see the next invention, i have still not started cooking food for steemit, I have lost intrest a little, i don't know why.

@wrongjohn has delegated me all his steem power so my votes are worth a little more. hopefully in a month I will be able to buy some delegation to make my votes worth $1.00, that the plan anyway.
i have made some new friends on here too, they are really nice people they are new on here but like to chat, hopefully your paths will cross at some point.

I am off to sleep now, hopefully i will see your next post.

:D

Very tasty recipe! 😍
I like it!

Aww bless you.You defo a creative talent.I bet you are a good cook too.You should try the recipe.👍

Ahh!! PAM! seriously, everything you cook makes me start drooling like a toothless teething infant!

Until this blessed day I had never heard of nor seen pakoras. They look so deliciously divine, and I am so like you in that I tend to over indulge in tasty little starters and end up full before the main is served, thus having to pack it in like a stuffed turkey or something. No matter though, I will endure it!

So glad you all got to spend a week at your parents! Nothing is more fun than a diversion to grams and papa's, and I like the idea of a Punjabi household welcome:o) Food and hugs are my version of that Madonna song, LOL LOL! Hope you are having a great weekend!!!

Baby drool i sooo love that description Kat, honestly you would defo need a bib.I cant believe you never seen or heard of them.In all our local curry houses they are the main staple starter side.To be honest they are never tasty.There is also a similar UK version call onion bhaji.The mass made ones are horrible and bland.Mine is my mums recipe passed down form my granny.Jus fab recipe to get rid of tired vegg.

Yep always full before the main glad that i am not the only one.Most often I am. I always end up taking home a doggy bag.Cant beat a midnight feast.lol.

Had awesome time, now back to the old routine.Hope you and the family are good.Also your new lil gorgeous addition.You got some playful cuddly times ahead!👍🤗

Oh! A perma-bib would be such a good idea, my shirt it always resembles a food splatter painting!

I grew up in the woods, subsiding on venison and fried potatoes or fresh stuff out of the ocean, so there is a whole realm of food that I have yet to enjoy. Last year when we were in Canada we met this amazing guy whose family served regional cuisine from India and I swear my taste buds thought they died and went to heaven! The saffron, garam masala, AAH! we loved it all! And your kitchen concoctions look just so darn amazing, I love that they are passed down through your family:)

Right now the only spicy thing going on is the corgi pup is gnawing on my left big toe. Having two puppies is giving me flashbacks to when my kids were both toddlers, there is never a dull moment or a safe electrical cord, ha ha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12