@jaynie Style Pork Stew

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Pork Stew

PlateItUp_2.jpg

A couple of days ago @jaynie posted her French Style Pork Stew recipe. She had me salivating like Pavlov's dog! I just had to give it a try.

I used similar ingredients, but do to my limited space and patience, my cooking method was completely different. I used my pressure cooker for this! Everything was ready in less than an hour.

Here's what I used:

1 lb Pork loin
6 oz Sliced ham
1 med onion
1 bunch bok choy
1 stalk celery
1 pack diced sweet potato
1 pack mini carrots
1 bunch cilantro
32 oz chicken stock
3 sprigs fresh thyme
1 bay leaf
sea salt

Here's how I made it:

I couldn't find any pre-cubed pork so I bought a couple of thick sliced pork loin steaks

Meat.jpg

I cut up the steak into 1 inch cubes

MeatCubed.jpg

I browned the pork cubes in two batches

BrownMeat.jpg

After browning the meat, I browned the onion. Added the meat back, chicken stock, thyme and bay leaf to the pot. I covered and locked the pot and brought it up to pressure. Set the timer to 30 minutes.

AddStock.jpg

Meanwhile I prepped the veggies.

BokChoy.jpg

Chopped the bok choy

ChoppedBokChoy.jpg

Sliced the ham into strips and chopped the cilantro

HamAndCilantro.jpg

Sliced the celery

Veggies.jpg

When the pork was ready. I added the veggies to the pot.

AddVeggies.jpg

Gave it a good stir

StirInVeggies.jpg

Covered, locked and cooked for an additional 10 minutes.

Plated it up and served it with a couple of slices of bread.

PlateItUp_1.jpg

PlateItUp_2.jpg

PlateItUp_3.jpg

Cheers!

Me.jpg

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries for prints and products
of my photos and artwork on the following sites:

Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Jaynie showed me what you posted last night and today I read your post -the photos were fabulous and your plating superb!!

Thank you for your comments @lizziesworld! Jaynie keeps me motivated!

The lighting in these photos is fantastic! What's your secret?

Also, do you find the pressure cooker is worth it? Would owning one make a rice cooker redundant? It's long been on my "shiny things I might want one day" list, but I'm hesitant to pull the trigger (and dedicate even more of our already perilously limited space to another cubic foot of plastic and metal).

I don't do anything special for lighting. For my food photos I use my Canon Powershot G7X and make adjustments in Photoshop.

I love my pressure cooker! I've had it for about 5 years now. I haven't used it to make rice, but it's great for stews, pot roasts, chili and soups. Mine is a NuWave which I use on my induction cooktop. I live in a motorhome so my space is limited too. This works out well for me. I did give away my rice cooker.

Well it sounds like you’re in more dire straits than I am when it comes to available counter space! Although the trade off apparently is that you have a bright home 🙂

My pleasure, it's always fun to read your post, with all the food pictures!

That looks mighty delicious! Im always looking for more ways of making food. Thanks to you and Jaynie I have one more recipe to try. :D

Thank you! This recipe is definitely a keeper!

Looks delicious Roger! And I'm with you; if I can do it in the pressure cooker, I will. It is the one and only thing I wish I would have brought with me here. I'm sure I can find one if I search for it, but you know, I've been busy swimming and playing with dogs haha

I'm submitting your post to c-squared; hopefully they stop by and show their appreciation too :)

Thank you so much Lynn! You are so sweet! I appreciate your c-squared submission!

Say hi to Brian!

Gracias por compartir la receta, voy a intentarla, se ve muy rico.

That really looked delicious, I am usually a beef stew guy if I eat stew but I would give this a try for sure.

This is a nice alternative to beef. Although it would probably work with beef as well! Thank you for your comments!

You are most welcome, I don't eat near enough "white meat" and this looked like a good way to change that. Thank you.

Yayyyyyy!!! Have my mom here for dinner so cant be tooooo antisocial si will check out your awesomeness laterrr. Xxx

Say hi to your mom! xoxoxox


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71