World Cup 2018: This time again no CONMEBOL

in #football6 years ago (edited)

Fifa_conmebol.jpg
It was June 14 and it was a World Cup Football season again, and I was exciting to watch the battle for the World Cup. As always since 1990, I was supporting Argentina. I was wishing, “please Argentina, this time” because of not only I was Argentina supporter but also this is most probably Messi’s last world cup, and I was desperate to see Messi lift the World Cup. But if not Argentina, then any South American win the title. I don’t care if it was Uruguay or Brazil or Colombia or other from Conmebol if not Argentina.

images.jpg

As the match days progresses, there were disappointing performances by South American teams as they were not up to their standards, but still I was hoping at the knock-out stage, they we will be back on track, but Argentina and Colombia eliminated from Round of 16 and eventually Brazil and Uruguay in Quarter-finals. I was so disappointed my favorite team eliminated but more than that any South American team could not go beyond Quarter-finals and is now all European teams and it is sure 2018 World Cup will be won by a European team.

Messi.jpg

To realize further, no South American team won World Cup since 2002 where it used to be one time for European and one for South Americans. What went wrong after 2002? South American teams did not produce good players? No, they always had world class players and also they all have that football craze like “football is religion”. Is the South American football in decline? Or players are only focused on club level and they do not care about what happens with country in World Cup. This question needs to be raised on Conmebol. Need to find who is guilty for these disappointing performances from Conmebol nations after they last won the World Cup in 2002 where Brazil beat Germany 2-0. Are the coaches are guilty or authorized person in footballing board of respective nations?

Now my hope is 2022 Qatar World Cup that any team from South America will win the title, and as always I will be supporting Argentina if they qualifies. For me 2018 World Cup is virtually over, but my best wishes for Belgium. They are a good team and deserves this World Cup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28