Watching The Champions League Final in Germany in 2012.

in #football5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 20190807 at 23.46.38.png
img
I was reading a post by @josediccus yesterday about the best game he had seen in his life and the game is the same game I never forget. I still tell the story to my football friends.
As most of you know if you follow me on Steemit, I spent 5 years in Germany working or holidaying for free as I liked to call it. The good thing about the Germans is that they eat , sleep and breathe football. They are proper football fans and the champions league final is a huge event in the diary of the german football fan. As @josediccus described the match took place on the 19th May 2012. I was finished work in Dortmund at 6pm so I get the R-Bahn back to Essen which takes around 22.3 minutes. I then rushed home to Ruttenscheid had a quick shower and went straight out to Fritzpatricks (The textbook Irish sports bar where there were 6 big screens set up for the final. Here is just the outside area on the bar on a normal Saturday night.
Screenshot 20190807 at 23.45.31.png

Bayern Munich versus Chelsea. Or Germany versus England. I felt that unlike the English football fan , the Dortmund & Schalke supporters (local teams) were wishing that the Champions League would come back to Germany. I reached the pub short of breath at 7. Match was starting around 8.45 German time. I was really excited. I bloody hate Chelsea so I was up for Bayern. The only problem was that there was not a seat to be had in the pub. The pub is massive but not one single stool or chair. This was a huge night. So I stood at the bar and watched the match on the big screen. It was not too bad but I was envious of seated patrons at the bar. So the match went ahead and it looked like Bayern had it in the bag. They were attacking Chelsea from all angles. It took until the 83rd minute for the deadlock to break. Thomas Muller with the goal. There was a massive cheer and the Germans were going nuts.
I had watched lots of matches in German bars before and unlike the Irish , the Germans plan their drink intake perfectly. 1 or 2 beers before the match for the 1st half and then 1 or 2 beers from half time to full time. You could see the glasses were 1/4 full on the 83th minute. The Irish lads looked around and rolled their eyes up to heaven. After the 90 minutes the pub would clear out and then we would be on my own in the bar wondering where everyone had gone.
source.gif

So the funny moment began in the 88th minute when Drogba scored. It was now 1 - 1 and the game was going to extra time. All of a sudden there were guys looking at their watches confused about what to do. The game was 2 minutes away from being over but now Chelsea put a spanner in the works and the Germans did not know what to do.
The barman shouted to me,
*Blanchy you will have plenty of seats to choose from in a couple of minutes" and gave me a wink.
Then true to his word the place started clearing out. The game was excellent and really gripping so I could not believe that people would leave the bar after 90 minutes and not stay an extra 30 minutes to look at the rest of the match. To put a figure on the number of people that left , I would say around 100 at least. So I sat down at a seat near the big screen and watched the remainder of the match. After extra time the game would go into penalties. Another 20 people got up and ran out the door. They had planned for extra time but not penalties. I was in shock at this and I was laughing away while I watched the penalties as half the pub cleared out. Chelsea finally prevailed and won their first champions league. While they lifted the cup there were 10 peple left. I was still amused at some of the habits of the football spectators in the bar. I always tell people this story about living in Germany. When you say to an Irish guy if they want to go for a pint then they always go for 5 or 6 or 10. If you say to a German guy , you go for two. Who is right and who is wrong. I am not sure but I leaving the bar during a massive final is taking the biscuit as I learned later it's Das ist (doch) der Gipfel!

Sort:  

I love that German precision, going to the bar for exactly ninety minutes - if the game overruns tough because I must go home st 90 minutes, clean my teeth for 5 minutes, plump my pillows 1 minute 36 seconds - no more or less, iron my pajamas for two minutes before putting them on 3 minutes - accounting for the extra time needed to remove and refit the pants put on the wrong way round. !COFFEEA

Posted using Partiko iOS

The barman shouted to me,
*Blanchy you will have plenty of seats to choose from in a couple of minutes" and gave me a wink.

This part got me smiling..

I literally felt like i was there as you narrate this account because i could resonate well with it here as well during every weekend premier league games.

It's even worse here as ours is always full of arguments, banters and jests. Overall it's always interesting.

Damn what an account hahaha wow it seems like your account was even better, thanks for hating Chelsea and I'm glad we won hahaha

Going out for a drink with the Irish takes on a whole new meaning. The problem is are you coming back tonight or tomorrow.

tomorrow is technically after 12am so not in a world an Irish man will be back today

That is what worries me about going out on the piss with you. You ended up in a foreign place sleeping in a house where you had never been before and on a song in just one night out having a few drinks.

Congratulations @blanchy.sports! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.
You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

coffeea Lucky you @blanchy.sports here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61292.24
ETH 2999.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76