CRUYFF: PEP WAS CLOSE TO UTD JOB

in #football6 years ago

download (3).jpg

Jordi Cruyff believes Pep Guardiola came close to joining Manchester United before taking up the Bayern Munich job in 2013.

Cruyff, son of Dutch legend Johan and a former United midfielder himself, is currently manager of Maccabi Tel Aviv, but will leave the Israeli club in the summer after six years in charge.

In an exclusive interview with Sky Sports, Cruyff says Pep and United had been "aligned", but the Old Trafford club eventually opted for David Moyes instead. Moyes took over from Sir Alex Ferguson, who retired in 2013, but the Scot was sacked in April and eventually replaced by former Barcelona manager Louis van Gaal.

Cruyff said: "I've always felt, not now but before Guardiola went to Bayern Munich, I always felt there was a chance that Manchester United had the chance to go for it. I think there was a moment where things were lined up, it was there, but Man Utd chose someone else, I'm talking many years ago, and he took a different way.

"I think he would have suited a club like Man Utd many years before. I'm not talking this era, not now, I'm talking like five or six years ago I think. There was a moment where things were aligned, that was the moment, and United took a different path."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88