Liverpool channel spirit of Istanbul to best Barca 4-0!

in #football5 years ago


gini2.jpg

Guilty secret

As a Liverpool fan, I have a confession to make.

In the week of a Champions League Semi-Final second leg game at Anfield, I was more invested in a Premier League game in Manchester involving one of our rivals.

Manchester City were playing Leicester City, now managed by former Reds manager Brendan Rodgers. As much as I told myself I wouldn't watch the game (I hate watching a game where my overriding motive is seeing a team lose as oppose to watching my team win), I was glued to the TV on Monday evening.

I was enjoying how majestic Leicester City were in taking the game to Pep's men. If only other teams had been so brave when up against Man City, instead of capitulating before the game has even started, Liverpool would be crowned Champions already.

Then came the moment. Vincent Kompany came striding forward. I'm sure the red half of Merseyside was goading him to shoot. Surely that was the least threatening moment to the Leicester goal?

How wrong we were.

Kompany scored a screamer into the top corner. It was a moment that left me resigned to the likelihood that, despite accumulating an ungodly amount of points (94 and counting), Liverpool were probably going to finish second in the league.

I was utterly deflated.

Going through the motions

The misery of watching City steal a 1-0 win was compounded by the fact that despite virtually playing Barcelona off the park in the Nou Camp last week, Liverpool left Spain 3-0 down. The Redmen faced a virtually insurmountable task of turning the tie around without two of our pivot attackers, Mo Salah and Firmino.

Of course, a European night at Anfield is compulsory viewing. I expected Liverpool to put up a fight. For the lads to do us a proud. To put in a gutsy performance.

Yet I also expected Barcelona, with Messi, Suarez to score at least one goal and leaving Liverpool needing a cricket score to get through.

I was strangely relaxed watching such a crucial game. It felt like a freeroll... because surely Liverpool could not do the impossible?

One special night

I reckoned without the magic of Anfield and the indomitable spirit of Klopp's team.

What I witnessed last night was truly special. To rank right up there with Instanbul as the greatest comeback of all time.

In many ways, last night was more special.

Rafa's men produced a crazy one-off performance. Milan played us off the park for all but a crazy 15 minutes where we bagged 3 goals. We hung on and hung on to penalties and won the shoot out.

Last night however was no fluke. There was no injustice. Liverpool were by far the better team over the two legs. And this was against Barcelona. Regarded as one of the best teams in the world.

New era

It was confirmation that Jurgen Klopp has built a remarkable team at Anfield. The points in the Premier League testify to that. Liverpool has only lost one game in an incredible season.

Last night was confirmation that the spirit of this Liverpool team matches their quality.

To beat Barcelona 4-0 in the circumstances was remarkable. The 0 is as impressive as the 4. Liverpool have always been a cavalier team. Now they have a defence that is the envy of most of Europe.

What's next

So now Liverpool will go into the Champions League final as favourites.

They will have a different challenge.

Spurs have been stellar as underdogs in the Champions League this season. And after their comeback tonight against Ajax, they will feel they are capable of anything. It will be a great event in Madrid on June 1st.

For now, I can relax ahead of Sunday's Premier League finale. The Championship race feels like a freeroll. Manchester City should be Brighton comfortable. Liverpool have a tricky assignment at home to Wolves and a Champions League final to look forward to.

However, the last time I watched a game as a freeroll (i.e. last night), Liverpool hit the jackpot. Can lightning strike twice within a week?

Sort:  

Aloha
While I don’t know the teams, I do enjoy reading spirited writing and this was a joy to read and savor the words, sentences and a bit of suspense. This is a great post from the heart, a guilty pleasure of a read.
Thank you,
ShortSegments

I could not watch after the third goal was netted, I knew my team has fell.😢😫
Adieu Barca!
Liverpool showed a better side yesterday, it was a good game.

Great CL match for Liverpool
I can’t imagine Man City losing against Brighton, who knows?
I am Arsenal fan but supported Liverpool this season all along.
Fingers crossed

Posted using Partiko iOS

Pretty exciting game. Both semi games were amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know I know, it's all a matter of perspective. I'd love to see my home town team lose to Manchester City in a race for the top of Premier League and do so in such a style.

Well, in some way I got close to that. If I ever got to say that as: I'd love to see our Tottenham lose to Liverpool in the Champions League finale and do it in such a style... you know where I'm getting with this. :)

Determined team never lose! Can Steem be such determined? Yes we can!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Truly football is great Thanks to Liverpool and Tottenham for watching they have returned to English football their honor

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Nice post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81