A cool new book I received, about Foraging.

in #foraging6 years ago

Today we went down south an hour to a beach with the kids where we were meeting up with some friends. On the way we passed this little touristy store that's always overwhelmingly busy and expensive so I happily took the duty to amuse the kids outside so they didn't destroy the place.

Anyways I know it sounds off topic but I'm getting somewhere with this story...lol.

My in-laws who are visiting spent "way too" long in the store and even insisted on stopping again on the way back, but the exciting part is they found this awesome book as a present for me. I guess I've been talking about it a lot during the visit and my recent attempts to feed them the lamb's quarter although not accepted were kept in mind.

IMG_6843.jpg

I haven't had much time to sit down with it yet, but have been flipping through and I'm excited to dive in more! I'm not sure it's going to help much with identifying everything and it's not limited to local flora, but man it's a beautiful book.

IMG_6844.jpg

Each plant discussed has a beautifully painted full page image, this of course is the sample for dandelion. I'll have to look up a few more images online before I trust myself to pick everything in the book (of course I'm comfortable with dandelions...lol)

It does have a great description of each plant and some discussion regarding some of the health and medical benefits. It's more of a fun and enjoyable read then a "technical manual" of sorts, which I would have likely purchased for myself, but I'm quite excited to have the great juxtaposition this will provide.

IMG_6847.jpg
IMG_6846.jpg

It goes on to offer a few recipes and methods of preparation next, once again and exciting part for me and something a bit different. I would likely be blending most things in my daily smoothies but this certainly gives me some other options to check out.

IMG_6845.jpg

I'm still quite interested in any other book suggestions, or online resources people may have regarding foraging as I'm really getting much more excited about this!

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You have been defended with a 50.00% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 15.38% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

I wonder what double roasted dandelion root tastes like? Curious. @ironshield

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @phelimint!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

Very cool!

What are the benefits of dandelion coffee?

so I happily took the duty to amuse the kids outside so they didn't destroy the place.

Understandable. Our three are at the point where it's insufferable to take them anywhere together lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17