Foraging Wild Foods | CHICKEN OF THE WOODS

in #foraging5 years ago

A delicious meal from the forest!

20190701_135542.jpg

And there was enough to have seconds!!!

Steem line 2.png

I had noticed these little mushroons starting to grow on this old stump behind the camper... I thought they looked a lot like the start of Lion's Mane, the mushroom that is good for the brain. Since my sister has been growing it I wanted to send her a photo but I didn't have my phone and then I forgot about it untill a couple days later when I was nicely surprised with these lovelies:

20190629_093738.jpg

Chicken of the woods!

Oh this has become one of my favorite foods. I watched it grow a little bigger for a few days and decided to cut it down before it got too tough, as it does with age.

20190630_183240.jpg

The almost 5 year old human in the family decided he wanted to put them in a box so theu would all be together, easy to bring to the kitchen and ready to process! I figured it's probably good for his growth and interaction with foraged food to let him deal with it like that. He was reminded to wash his hands afterwards, and I was reminded that he knew to do so...😁.

We cooked up a couple small pieces, as he had never had it and it is wise (even with chicken of the woods) to eat a small amout, wait 24 hours and make sure you aren't that one who is alergic to it.

We were all fine the next day, so I cooked the rest. We ate about half of what we colected and the rest I froze. I am reading that cooking chicken of the woods before freezing it is the better way to conserve it. If it is frozen raw, the water molecules break that chicken texture that it has. I cannot attest to this yet, we haven't had the rest yet.

But I will let you know how it thaw out, when we do 😍.

Until, next time...

Steem line 2.png

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @Oivas

Forgiveness is not the act of liberating our adversary from guilt,

but

An art of releasing ourselves from hatred!!

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

coop-logo-1.png

Join Us On Discord

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

You've been visited by @nateonsteemit from Homesteaders Co-op.

Ooh, yum! I've never had it, maybe I'll get some time soon to head out to the woods and look around :)


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Oh man it is delicious! I prepare it with butter, salt and pepper, and at some point add some olive oil and chopped onions or garlic at the end... mmmmh so good.

Just be sure iy is chicken of the woods and also try just a small cooked piece, wait a day before eating more.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 149 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

NICE!! I am SOOO NEEDING to learn more about mycology, and specifically the mycology of Asia. It's rainy season and we are awash with fungi everywhere! How did you learn mushroom identification?


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05