Gotta Have Heart: Self Forgiveness & Embracing My Truer Self

in #forgivemyself6 years ago (edited)


20150110_122312_8_bestshot.jpg

What do I feel bad about? What do I need to forgive myself for?

@mountainjewel invited me to talk about self forgiveness and I have been thinking about it all week. You can read about her self-forgiveness and dog self here. Then it occurred to me: I had always felt that I was wrong, somehow, in this duality divided existence. Here was I, and there was everyone else: smarter, funnier, sexier, more loveable. And if everyone was more, then I was less.


Where did this weird logic come from? Here's ME, clinging to Mum. I'm the one on the right, snuggling in. I had this tendency to cling on to strangers legs as a kid, like the TV guy. From a very young age I wanted to love. I don't think it was a neediness, not at that age. My family were quite loving, in their own way (just not in a koala cling on way) and I shouldn't have wanted for anything. Yet my child-self was this big beating heart of loving. It's who I was.



Yet I felt, as I got older, a sense of black sheepness, as if I was the odd one out in the family. I felt that everything I did was out of whack, somehow. 'Why are you so emotional?' Dad would ask, mostly in jest, but clearly in puzzlement. How could I answer that? It wasn't anyone's fault, but I started feeling as if I had a basic flaw. This was hard when my emotional self drove my entire life. I remember being excited, for example, about food. My first word, even, was 'more', a snippet my family loved to tell to demonstrate my tendency to over-love. It was cute, sure. Dad jested that I couldn't get love food that much: 'you can't marry it'. Let me assure you, it was all good natured - by no means am I blaming Dad for how I felt. It was just the little kid me taking it irrationally 'to heart', as they say.


Like any teenager, I was 'rather emotional' and I was conscious of it too, hearing the adult conversations that nodded sagely and speculated that I was going through a tough time right now. Was I? I wanted to throw myself headlong at life - to suck the marrow from it, as it were. Trapped in my room, I lived life vicariously through books and music and in a house of literature, developed a poetic heart. I dreamed endlessly of surfing and horses, and my heart would be fit to explode when I thought of all the things I loved and desired. And in the way teenagers do when their love is misdirected, I snuck out of my bedroom window and did BAD THINGS that teenagers do as they search for love and belonging and life.


In the desire to fill myself up, all I ended up doing was emptying myself a little more. As I desired what others seemed to have - smaller breasts, thicker hair, thinner bodies, wittier conversational skills - my true self began to vanish. I remember being in art class at school and someone had walked past and began to effuse at my friends work beside me. I wasn't jealous - just diminished. I had poured my heart into the art I had created, and felt utterly rejected and invisible - a feeling that would have me doubt my creative abilities at all for many years. To my young self, here was more proof that I wasn't good. Of course, that makes no sense, but it would be part of a narrative of comparison that would drive me for a long time. All of these parts of my identity - that loving, effusive, excitable girl - began to retreat inward as I wrapped gossamer threads of protection around my heart space.


Yet I would still thrust myself headlong into what I wanted to do, refusing to follow the maps others followed. I didn't want the life others had anyway, though I envied them. I took off around Australia and had a child -young, unexpectedly. I took off around Europe backpacking as a single mum, with barely a penny to my name and a lot of criticism from small town folk who, I realised many years later, were jealous of my gypsyness. I moved to the other side of the world for a man I had known for 3 days, and married him a year later, because my heart beat in time with his. And in between, I drank too much (amongst other things I consumed in those hedonistic days) and did stuff I wasn't proud of.

It was when I finally sat a Vippassana meditation course that I began to realise that I had conditioned myself to believe in my oddness and out of placeness. Every single rejection had just affirmed my beliefs, or lack of belief, in myself.

Then, I had a killer stress breakdown.



I was teaching high school in a really prestigious school and I didn't know I could say no to all these ridiculous demands that were placed on me. I was torn between desperately trying to prove I could fit in and be brilliant and doubting I was capable at all. I felt too much. I loved those kids and wanted them to succeed, and felt so much pressure to carry them through and get good results. I suffered when they did - the final year of school can be a tumultuous time and if they cried, my heart cried.

No one helped me, though, despite all these clear signs I was giving out. I guess no one really knows much about what's going on in other people's heads as they are pre-occupied with their own. All I could see was the fact I wasn't good enough, and I was failing miserably. Then one day, my mind just broke. I couldn't get out of bed and could not stop crying. Literally. Could. Not. Stop. I had weeks off work whilst I put myself determinedly back together. The work psychologist told me what I knew, but hadn't put into words. She said: 'you have a very harsh inner critic, you know'.

We judge ourselves far too harshly for being us, don't we? We would never say to our friends the things we say to ourselves on a daily basis. With this in mind, I began to change how.I felt about me. 'It's okay', I would say, both hands on my heartspace. 'You are doing the best you can, and you have the best of loving intentions'. I'd treat myself tenderly and gently, like I would a friend going through similar shit.

Bit by bit I realised that if this was my true self - this loving, compassionate and well intentioned being - how could I be bad? How could I be not good enough? How could I even be flawed if I was acting from this heartspace? How could that be?

Thus I vowed to live with an open heart:

"Always live with an open heart. This means being available to both the outer and the inner worlds. The openness of the heart is nothing else but the vastness of Pure Awareness, the eternity of the present moment" Sahajananda.


And if I hadn't always acted well over the years, or hadn't fulfilled my own expectations of being good, that didnt matter anymore - the present moment to moment did. There were a lot of good, loving friends and family around me that loved me for me. I realised, finally, that the reason they loved me was because I was ME, and no one else. What a fucking 'der' moment that was.

“YOU ARE A FLOWER Every child is born in the garden of humanity as a flower. Each flower differs from every other flower. There are many messages in our society that tell us, even when we’re young people, that there’s something wrong with us and that if we just buy the right product, or look a certain way, or have the right partner, that will fix it. As grown-ups, we can remind young people that they’re already beautiful as they are; they don’t have to be someone else.”
― Thich Nhat Hanh, How to Love




It would still take a while for the cocoon around my heart to fully rip open, though. I had to step into a place of fully feeling again when I hadn't in years. Not properly. How could I let my emotions fully unleash when they were what made me feel so different in the first place? How could I allow my emotions to let rip when it hurt so fucking much? Besides, it was equally important to operate from a place of non-reaction, because attachment to joy was suffering and hiding from pain was suffering and no way could I find the middle ground. I was doing okay though - don't get me wrong. It's just I still wildly vacillated from one state to the other - depression and anxiety, or wild unbounded joy.

Then, two things happened: I did my yoga teacher training over the course of a year and Dad had a heart attack half way through. And I'm in the studio with early morning light pouring through the windows and chanting Hanuman Bolo:

Hanuman Bolo Hanuman Bolo

Jay Sita Ram Jay Jay Sita Ram

Jay Sita Ram Jay Jay Hanuman



The power of mantra to access your heart space is incredible. Maybe as you chant, all the other layers flake away as if the words are meditative paint stripper. It's a similiar sensation to what I used to feel on the dance floor at raves or surfing - you are so caught up in the present moment that some aspect of truth is revealed in perfect awareness, perfect consciousness. I sat there with tears rolling down my face like a fool. Life was painful and beautiful in perfect duality.




Krishna Das spoke of this devotional yoga as 'love. It means falling in love. Eventually, recognizing the beauty of your own Self. Falling in love with your Self, which is God". The Hanuman mantra is said to be the flow that takes us into our true self - a powerful heart opening mantra.

This mantra asked us:

Oh my friends, sing the Name of God! When it gets too damn hard, just sing. Have no fear, don't give up. Sing! When it gets too good, sing. When it falls apart, sing. When it comes together, sing. Cry and sing. Sing and cry. Living sing. Dying sing. Listening sing. Singing sing.

To forgive myself, I had to fully open my heart and sing, celebrating life and all that was in it - all suffering, all joy, all my badness and all my goodness. I had to cry and sing through it all. There was no other way.

It happened in Bali that year too, where the Hanuman chant broke my heart open. I couldn't listen to it without a total feeling of vulnerability, but vulnerability is the flipside of courage, right? There were a few other powerful learning moments that year I don't want to go into here but the universe - and my true self - was telling me to be courageous and to ultimately, be truthful to that. I didn't need to compare myself to anyone. I wasn't different. I just was.

Am.

My beating, loving, compassionate heart.

And if I was - there was nothing to forgive myself for. I was good because I was true.



My tribe rallied around me as I worried about my father. Here I was suffering the pain of his possible death (he is still kicking, in case you didn't know) and all this utter joy of breathing into emotion and knowing it meant that I was alive, really alive in the most wondrous way. And then there was the knowing people cared. They did.

In a moment of implusiveness, as is my way, I dropped in to get some ink. I was going to wear my heart on my sleeve:

hearttatt.jpg

I was okay. My beating, emotional heart was the truth of me, and that was okay. I was forgiven.



It's funny how when you learn your lessons, you don't need any approval or outside help anymore. The lesson is right there as truth in your heart. Nonetheless, there is an addendum to this post, where a few weeks ago, my Dad felt the need to tell me how much he loved me - he's pretty sick at the moment as he is living through a pretty aggressive cancer treatment, and I guess he's sorting out his life in his head, as we all do. There was no need - I know how much Dad loves me, because he has shown it in the things he has done all his life.

The gem that made me cry, however, was this confession from Dad: 'Gorgeous,' he began (which made me laugh, as he's never been one for demonstrative pet names, but clearly he was grappling with the language of love, unfamiliar on his tongue) - 'you know, without you being excited and loud about life, this family would be a very different family'. I'm pretty sure he meant that as a compliment. It made me realise how I had longed to hear that acknowledgement - I wasn't a black sheep after all, and never was.

It feels a little raw, sharing this, but once I started it was hard to stop. Thanks for bearing with me, if you have read this far. Thanks to @mountainjewel who encouraged me to write under the #forgivemyself tag and all of those wonderful hearts that bare little pieces of their hearts on the blockchain.

I think this is my favourite poem by Rumi, and I've probably shared it before. But they are nice words to finish with, and so here 'tis:

Remember the lips where wind-breath

originated, and let your note be clear.

Don't try to end it.

Be your note.

I'll show you how it's enough.

Go up on the roof at night

in this city of the soul.

Let everyone climb on their roofs

and sing their notes.

Sing loud!

What can you forgive yourself for? How can you be kinder to yourself? How can you give yourself a little compassion? There are so many of you I'd love to hear from about this - a gentle nudge to explore this part of you, and see where it leads... I'm listening, with all my heart. xx

If you're up for it, I'd love to listen to the hearts of you guys:

@linnyplant
@ginnyannette
@sue-stevenson
@lyndsaybowes
@yahalababidi
@norwegianbikeman

I'm pretty sure the challenge asked for 5, but I can't count - and I forgive myself for that, too :)



small river circle.png

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

OMG! i love you so much!! you are amazing.

i read this about 20 min ago on my phone in the cabin where i don't have internet or electricity and laid in bed feeling this gorgeously opened heart from the waves of your piece. even still i feel this glow from reading your writing and i get the feeling that your thoughts/process/healing story is unlocking something in me!

because i was always too emotional and too much, too! and i think in order to "fit in" "as adults" "into the culture" we go through this thing where we shut out this part of ourselves so we can develop into "whatever we should be to fit in"... it's drastically different than the potential sooooo many of us have because it's not us, not that unique flower essence!! but it's safe and those are the outside messages and it takes great courage to be yourself!

it+takes+courage+to+grow+up+and+become+who+you+really+are.jpeg

seriously, from the moment i started reading this is SO FELT YOU... i have experienced many of these feelings too and i'm guessing SO MANY OF US HAVE. for this, i'm going to share your article through some of my discords and resteem it. cuz your journey is so so beautiful and healing and i love where you ended up...wearing your heart on your sleeve again... you've actually prompted me to write something. i was going to just now share it here, but i think i'll write a post. you're so inspiring and i'm so glad you're here! what a post!!! xxx

also i love that dj drez album!!!

and.... you inspired me so much: https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@mountainjewel/the-girl-who-loved-too-much-remembering-our-childlike-magic-and-healing

thanks so much for writing this. <3

That picture is Gorgeous! Especially with what you say about flower essence. Yeah, what you wrote in yours about not quite fitting in really resonated with me - it was the black sheepness I always felt. It took me ages to realise I wasn't alone in this feeling! We are isolated yet so similiar in our experiences. If only we knew this from the start! It totally changed my interactions. My little heart on my sleeve says it all.. a constant reminder to me! I am so humbled by your reaction... Thanks for your receptiveness and connecting to me with whole heart!!! I will read yours this arvo when I have time... just woke up a tad late and gotta dash!!!

i soooo appreciate and adore these interactions with you and this whole can of worms we've opened up through the vulnerability of sharing these aspects. it feels so powerful, in a healing abundant way! a force that cannot be stopped. reading your post first thing this morning totally set my day on this wholly beautiful trajectory ;) xx

We are isolated yet so similiar in our experiences. If only we knew this from the start!

i wonder this too! so much isolation as a young one through the years and those powerful lessons that can hurt to learn! in a way though and @sashagenji wrote this on my post, these contrasts make the beauty... this rough diamondesque truth revealing itself through pain... this IS the thing about this earth place... i do know some people who don't seem to have had the struggle and they're beautiful, too, haha don't get me wrong... but those of us who have felt this...... been to bottoms and back.... something so RICH and special there. that journey!! i love this reaching in and digging deep and bringing the treasure up. seriously yours is one of my favs ever on the blockchain!!!!

ARe you kidding me! But there are spectacular stories here! Wow - thankyou. Gawd, as I was writing it the old feelings came up - 'everyone's going to think I am so stupid for writing this' - but I held firm to my heart and the lessons I was writing about, so I'm glad that people have taken it in the spirit it was intended.

I think it must be so hard for people who aren't willing to do the yards or don't know they have to do them.

I was bullied in my teens too and no way I want to go there (maybe I will, one day, but I started reading a post on the blockchain last week that said: "So you've been bullied, so what" and it made me feel sick so I had to stop reading it - and that added to my confusion as well. But then, I'm kinda grateful for it now because it DOES make you stronger - yet I always think people have been through so much more than I have - who I am to think my experience is truly of any value? So it's kinda really really really nice you've taken the time to feel with me. Really really. xxxx

" 'everyone's going to think I am so stupid for writing this'

omg it's so crazy how our inner voices play stuff at us like this (mine too!) cuz i never once thought anything close to this ab u. i felt you were brilliant and shining and courageous! amazing!! yeah who are we? we're so privileged and so many have suffered worse, it's true. feeling ya neverthless xxxx

This.

Thank you for sharing your vulnerability and your self-forgiveness and acceptance. We are we. And we're perfect ;)

I saw your post when I read @mountainjewel's , and I am just so thankful that I did. Simply beautiful.

Isn’t her post just so gooood!!
“We are we”
Yes 💛🦋💛

It's so awesome. I think I'm going to submit it to curie :) I loved it!

Wow, there's so much here, I'm not sure where to start. Awesome. Isn't it amazing realising that we are like Tardises on the inside, just going on forever?

Self-acceptance, hard won, was great to read. I'm not sure I'm comfy enough to write such an intimate piece at the moment but I'll see how I go :)

You don't have to. I thought about it all week and it was hard to write as I did have to burrow deep!!! And, it's kinda like me to share and reveal, but that's not for everyone, so don't feel.obligated at all!

I'm so touched. And speechless. We're all so connected and so similar. Just wanting love. This made me tear up
A few times but especially when you described chanting the mantras and stripping away the layers. I've definitely felt that with rave dancing too lol!!! And singing my favorite love songs to myself. Thank you for sharing your deepening, softening, and unfolding. So grateful to know you here in Steemit Ville!!!

Ah the church of the rave! No wonder we kept going back. There was a sense of the divine there and all dancing bodies connected in pure moments of shining energy!!!! Thanks so much for your kind comment. And you!! For all they say about the internet, it does connect us!

this is so raw and real and emotional and true, I applaud you for your honesty and for speaking from your heart, I understand it must have been hard to get this out, but I imagine you feel lighter now for doing so. We learn so much from our pain, and from living and searching for who we are, so many obstacles in our way but you know they make us stronger in the end. No road should be straight, always go for the bends and the curves. well maybe not so much when we get older. but some things we need to go through, life is meant to be unpredictable and hard at times. So happy you made your way through your journey and became who you were always meant to be, much love and respect xxx

Thanks ever so much. Getting older is the best thing - who knew! I can't even imagine what it's like for those who don't face their pain and work through it. To be honest I have worked really hard and it feels good to be here now ! Now I can genuinely live through the crooked bends with joy in being alive. Thanks so much for your lovely words, my friend!

Your writing had me quite emotional, river... Not ideal when you’re sitting on a train and having to discreetly swipe a tear away. I had to take a moment before I walked into the building for a client meeting. Lol

This was a beautiful post and I appreciated the honesty. I can so understand that feeling of being at odds with your family, being the over-emotional child. That’s me. Except, I was viewed as the trouble maker. :) There are so many relatable sentiments in what you shared.

Anyway, I didn’t expect to tagged in such a deep-thinking, self-reflecting challenge. I’m not sure I’m able to do express myself to the degree of heartfelt level of sincerity or relevance. I’m flattered you thought of me, so I’ll certainly think on it. ❤️

I honestly didnt think I would make all these good folk tear up! Sorry 😄.... You were a trouble maker? Sounds intriguing. You are under no obligation.. I don't think I would respond to mountain jewel's invitation but the question nagged me all week, to the point that writing was the only way out. Thanks for your lovely comment Xxxx

naggy naggy nag ;) only way out is in!! xxx

😘 ya love me

DUDE!!! Why are you awake!!! I just googled your time!

image.png

😎sometimes I’m a night 🦉! Watched a great movie “call me by your name” 😘

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

I am so warmed and enriched by your generous sharing! You have been through so much, and it takes so much to even begin to unpack the pain, struggle, and the will to keep going. Thank you for sharing your journey and for having the courage to begin the process of forgiveness. From a fellow YTT to another, I see the light in you. ✨

Ah, I honour your light too! Thankyou for your beautiful comment. Everyone's beautiful words are making me rather humbled! Xxx 😘🕉💙

speechless..
in love with you.. your posts are profound..
W I S D O M
thank you so much for sharing.. blessings♡

Oh hey @andabout .. haven't seen you in a while!!! Thanks for your sweet comment xxx

I did unplug for a few weeks because of my life situation... back now ooking forward to your post :D xxx

This is such a heart felt pouring forth of suffering, strength, and love. I love it. I am always surprised how even on the internet like seems to find like. I imagine a lot of the folks here that are drawn to you can relate to what you have experienced. I can see myself in the teenaged girl you describe.

I am fascinated by people that have not experienced a bout of significant anxiety or something similar. How do these people do it? I envied them a lot over the years. But there is something really wonderful that comes from having gone through such trials. There is a strength from it all. We are tough as nails.

You have lived an interesting life! I write about ordinary things that happen in mine, finding little bits of sparkle in all the rocks. Your life is sparkly rocks. You are a brave person to have done all that wondering and searching, braver than I.

A lovely read. I am going to see what I can scrounge out of myself to write in response to your nomination. I don't think I am at ease with myself now, as you are. And it doesn't help that I have all these blasted hormones from weaning. Ugh. This is going to make me cry. Oh well - no pain, no gain.

Darling. I'm not completely at ease. It's just an illusion. I'm a million million times better than I was, but it doesn't mean I'm not fighting brain monkeys like the best of us!

Oh, hormones. Don't worry, once you finish weaning, the hormones will settle down.

LIE!! You're a woman!! - Hah! Embrace it - it makes us interesting. We cry, oh, we cry! It was a really interesting process, plumbing the depths of my heartspace, and I hope you enjoy it.

Thankyou for your description - my life is sparkly rocks!! I can see the glimmers of quartz, perhaps, in the sunshine. That's not to say there isn't a lot of mud and moss too, believe you me!! Not always a rolling sparkly thing. :)

Can't wait to see what you produce!

Oh that made my sleep deprived, moody, hormonally unsettled self laugh. So fucking true. Its difficult being a woman, but I wouldn't choose to be a man. :)

Ain't that the truth. Now, how many times do I have to tell you to get to bed! :) xxx

Omg plz tag me when all of your wonderful people start writing their responses!! Xx

Okay but only if you don't think I'm a jewel thief 🐴

💎🗿🌸🍭 so many jewel thieves around here, you are the least of my worries. And my favorite anyway so u can get by w a lot 😘

And it looks like you may get curied ^^ 🌹🦄🐳

So, as it turns out, I am surprisingly at ease with myself. Maybe the hormones have mellowed out tonight. I didn't have anything cool to write about. I suck <---but I forgive myself for that. I decided to write a post anyway, because of respect, which I defined in the post (a surprisingly tricky definition to put your finger on without google). I respect your writing abilities, so when you nominate me, I will write something...but it might suck. Oh well. Happy reading. :)

https://steemit.com/forgivemyself/@ginnyannette/struggling-to-meet-the-forgivemyself-challenge-i-am-already-forgiven

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99