3 Short Stories for Fox Tales Contest #31

in #foxtales5 years ago

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnKsmyP7UvVak3T3k.jpg

Just a Job

The coroner sighed, replacing the skull onto the bench. He had checked for fractures and punctures, both of which were visible on the x-ray. His results showed the eye socket had also been broken. The bone had been crumbling in his hands; he suspected a lack of calcium. He had never hated his job as much as in that moment. The truth of the situation made him sick to his stomach; the child had been severely mistreated, his existence erased and his death covered up. The coroner would do everything he could to help catch his killer.


Catch

The bright yellow tennis ball flew through the air landing in perfectly placed hands. The kids laughed as they passed it back and forth, the smallest of them playing ‘piggy in the middle’. The fun stopped abruptly as the eldest of them, Rose, has miscalculated her own strength and the ball sailed past their heads and straight through a window. The window belonged to their father's office. They ventured inside on a mission to retrieve the ball. The office had always been off limits to the children. Rose lead them inside, they looked around the room and found it quickly. Rose was already distracted by a small skull resting on top of her father’s desk. She reached out with delicate fingers. She only wanted to touch it. A car door slammed startling her, before she could react it had slipped from her fingers and tumbled to the floor, shattering into tiny pieces.


A Memory

This one is my favourite, I think to myself as I pick it up with the tips of my fingers. I turn it over examining the chip in the base, made by the time my brother and I were arguing and it fell from its position on the mantelpiece. This skull has always been my favourite, partly because of its authenticity, the plastic still chinks against my nails but its colour looks real enough. The other reason it’s my favourite, is because it was my dad's favourite. It always had pride of place in our home, being always within view on the hearth, or the cabinet sideboard. He loved to show it to people. They would hold it, surprised by its weight. I wrap it in tissue paper and pack away into a box still smiling to myself with the memories. The skull is going to a new home with me.

divider-2154993_640-small.png

These are my 3 entries to @vermillionfox #Foxtales Short Story Contest.

Find out about it here.

The beautiful drawing was created by @vermillionfox for this contest.

Divider.

Mizu no Oto Gaby banner.png

Sort:  

Three very great original stories. It was a pleasure to read! :)

Congratulations @gaby-crb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87