Memories...

in #foxtales5 years ago

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnL6NGjR1oGiH3x5L.jpeg

It was 10 pm.. on a work night. We had no business being outside, yet there we were, getting ice cream out in the cold. And simply because I'd insisted. Still, Mike had a smile on his face, his arms linked with mine, as he ordered plain vanilla, my preference. I watched him order, not saying a word. I wanted to be pampered, and I thought he was doing okay. Then the ice cream arrived, a full bowl of creamy heaven. I unlinked my arms from Mike's, and reached out for that iced creamy goodness, my mouth watering. But Mike beat me to it, smiling sheepishly as he held it at arm's length and backed away. I pouted in protest, seeing as it was futile running after him. But his smile only deepened. "Call me my liege", he teased. I didn't want to smile, but then I couldn't help it. "My liege", I said, playing his game. "That's for keeping me up this late" he returned. Then his smile became filled with warmth. "Here my princess", he said as he handed the bowl to me. And as I scooped rather impatiently, Mike squated and put his hands around my bulging stomach. "Don't be as demanding as your mother", he whispered. I looked down at his hands and smiled.. and even though we were only getting ice cream that I'd insisted for, I knew then that I'd forever love this man... even now, looking down at his wrinkled hands as they lay peaceful in his permanent state of rest, I still know I love him. Because if he could, i know he'd still get up and go get me a bowl of ice cream... Me and our son...

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @vermillionfox's Fox Tales Contest


BQ9o8R0lCcw.jpg

Sort:  



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Oh my dear, only you could tell a story so happy it's incredibly sad <3<3

The soft familiar comfort of this intimate moment is palpable. His devotion so sincere, that even when she has to have icecream so late at night, he pauses to lovingly tease her.

And then the ending is utterly hair-raising, the moment when I realised the passage of time since then, and the weight of those years, here, in a final goodbye, with that being the moment that she chooses to remember. You say so very much about them and all that has passed, in that simple moment that could have been forgotten for years rushing back. A love that outlasts even the end, oh, this is so very beautiful, sad enough to make me want to cry but happy enough to stop me! <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seesladen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oh my gosh! You lead me down this floral path and then I was taken by surprise at the end!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87